Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Uncle Al Capone - The Untold Story from Inside His Family
BOTMKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it $5 Albums The best from Bose just got wireless Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks STEM Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro Safety Month

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.60+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 1, 2010
People write books for different reasons. Some write to entertain, some to memorialize and event or era, some to convince and some to self-promote. Ms. Capone writes because she has a burning need to share the flavor of her life with her uncle (who we know has the notorious Al Capone) and his family. At first it appears to be a hodgepodge of interpretations of historical events, personal experiences of the family, a cookbook. and a personal biography. It gradually molds into a cohesive theme and provides the reader with a totally different picture of the Capone family than what we might have imagined based on the Sopranos and the Corleones.
There are personal revelations that were undoubtedly very difficult and sometimes painful to express and Ms. Capone should be commended on the honesty and openness with which she tells her story.
Anyone interested in the era, Chicago history, the Wisconsin Northwoods, and gaining incite into a unique and truly American family should welcome this very different read (and also be rewarded with some scrumptious recipies). As her kids told her, her story is a "cool" one.
22 comments|21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 10, 2010
I had been looking forward to Deirdre Marie Capone's book for a long time and was elated when if finally came out. The book is written from her point of view, beginning from a little girl to adulthood. We learn about the Capone family history back in Angri, Italy to Brooklyn, Chicago and Florida. Her personal experiences of her interactions with her great uncle are told from the little girl's perspective. She shares multiple conversations she had with her grandfather, Ralph "Bottles" Capone, who provided her with some inside information into the workings of the Outfit. Some of the history is a bit different than what we have been taught, but this is the first insider's book out there, so even if some disagree with what she says, what she writes is at least worth taking a look at.

She includes a lot of never-before-seen photos and Capone family recipes. When I have a chance I may try a few of them out.

Finally, for those who are seeking another formal history of Al Capone or the Chicago Outfit, this isn't it. It's a personal story of someone who grew up Capone. She didn't benefit from the family wealth, but on more than one occasion suffered because of the family name. But those seeking history shouldn't be disappointed with the additional historical details she provides, mostly courtesy of her grandfather. All together Deirdre's book kept me interested and I found it enjoyable. It's got my recommendation.
66 comments|14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 13, 2010
Like many others, I'd been waiting for Deirdre Marie Capone's book to be published and it was well worth the wait.

If you want a book that focuses solely on the public side of the Capones, look elsewhere. This unique book tells the story of multi-dimensional Capone family members as seen through the eyes of a child, and then a young woman. Nothing about the criminal side of the family is whitewashed. What is added are the images of an Italian immigrant family, happy in their home and devoted to each other. That's not to say there was no discord or that life was easy if your last name was Capone. In fact, it was a horrific burden to Deirdre's father, in particular.

The tone of the book is warmly inviting, as if the author is having a one-on-one talk about things that have happened in her sometimes surreal life. The small details such as Al Capone teaching Deirdre how to play the mandolin, her aunt's way of speaking through her teeth, the big names that talked about casual things...it all adds up to a very personal, honest, and fascinating portrait of a family who infamously became part of American history.

Highly recommended!
44 comments|16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2010
I have read many different things on the Chicago mob, and in particular, Al Capone. I must say, this is a nice breath of fresh air to see him, and his entire family, through a young girl's, and eventually a young woman's eyes. Who hasn't had a favorite aunt or uncle? You love seeing them on birthdays and holidays, and they seem to make everything fun. Well, it just happened that Dierdre's uncle was Uncle Al! I loved being introduced to the "home-life" side of him. She makes it very easy to see how different her family was inside the home on Prairie Avenue from the public view we're used to. The neat thing is, that different side of her family is just like the rest of us; not so different at all!

And while she doesn't make any apologies for Al and the "Outfit" and their activities; it does make you realize what it must have been like growing up and suffering only because you carried the name Capone. It was particularly sad the way her father's life ended so tragically young after just wanting to earn a legitimate living.

If you have heard all the stories, read all the books and seen all the movies, I think you, too, will enjoy seeing the other side of Al Capone and his family.
22 comments|15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 22, 2010
The "Capone" name is legendary throughout the entire world. Power, money, murder, there are countless books telling the life history of "Al Capone" and the "Outfit". Deirdre Capone has managed to tell the inside story of the Capone family. The story of life at 7244 Prairie Avenue. From the eyes of a little girl, she takes us inside the home of the larger than life Al Capone. As "Uncle Al's" great niece, Deirdre tells of a life of love and laughter, sadness and tragedy. She lost her father at a young age to suicide due to the burden of carrying the Capone name. And she herself suffered from that same burden. I applaud her for having the courage to write this story and share it with the world. "Uncle Al Capone" is a refreshing change of pace and is a must for any Capone fans library. When you read it, you realize that her family, excluding the outside business, isn't too terribly different than yours or mine. They loved each other unconditionally, they protected each other, and endured. If you dwell on how the Capones succeeded, your missing the point of this book. It's about family, it's about the love they shared for each other. This book is a journey, take it!!!
0Comment|19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 19, 2016
This is one amazing bio, almost completely opposite of the Al Capone we have all read about. Miss Capone's tender age at many of the events makes her memory remarkable. Yet she spent years hiding the Capone name because of the discrimination aimed at her, as if SHE was the underworld boss. Very enlightening!
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 30, 2010
I found Uncle Al Copone to be one of the most interesting books of the year. It was very well written and I loved the personal feelings of the author. As I was growing up, Al Capone was one of the most feared names in America. It was interesting to find out that like most of us, he had many good points as well as bad. I would recommend it to everyone.
0Comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2010
My husband bought this book for me, ExecSecretary2003@yahoo.com and I could not put it down. Deirdre gives you a very personal insight into the MAN and she should know! It is of such a personal nature that you can really relate to Mr. Capone. So many books/articles have been written about the man and, really, how would those people really KNOW if they were not there? I highly recommend this book to anyone that wants to know the real facts about what actually went on during those years, of a personal nature. This is the BEST book that I have ever read about Al Capone and I commend Deirdre for putting those accounts into print. I rate this book a TEN! Trust me, you will not be able to put it down. My only wish is that she will write another book about Mr. Capone. I am sure that a lot of what has been written about him is fictionalized and dramatized, but these are the facts. Thank you so much, Deirdre, for putting pen to paper.
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2010
Deirdre has captured a huge number of events, and exposed facets of life as a Capone which could never have been imagined by the general public...or even by those close to her in her childhood and adult life. Now she has opened her heart and poured out memories of conversations, experiences and incidents collected over decades of being bottled up and suppressed for fear of exposing herself and family to the harsh criticism and ostracism of a society primed by the media to hate and fear the Capone name. Deirdre has burnished the Capone family image in a way that allows the reader to recall how "black sheep" are not completely "black," and she reminds us how other members of the family can be affected by the actions and reputation of an individual. Her love permeates the pages, and the recipes are pure Cucina Italiana del Sud. Brava cara Deirdre!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2014
Pathetic and fabricated depiction of Deirdre's "wannabe " association with Al Capone. Some people will do anything for "15 minutes of fame". If my grandfather were alive, he would disown you for your lies, especially about my grandmother. Shame on you, Deirdre. Shame!
11 comment|10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.