Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Crown the Empire Fire TV Stick Happy Belly Coffee Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
11
Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$17.13+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

VINE VOICEon May 11, 2010
Just another good one eh, from The Bathroom Reader's Institute of Ashland, Oregon. All the fun stories and historical information about Canada are here concerning the Mounties, hockey, beer, winter sports, and the Canadian celebrities like Jim Carrey, Avril Lavigne, Celine, Michael Cera, Shania Twain, Mike Myers, Pamela Anderson, Kiefer Sutherland, Alanis Morissette and others. The readers will also find great recipes called Flipper Pie, Jellied Moose Nose, Blood Pudding, Smothered Muskrat, Savory Seal Hearts, BBQ Bear, Roasted Polar Bear and a personal favorite, Seal Brain Fritters. The 456 page book, as always, turns out to be a page-turner and enjoyed by everyone in the family. My children have already used several items in the book about 'things of interest' in their high school classes. Take a trip to Canada from the comfort of your armchair/recliner and avoid the cold icebox winters and the springtime swarming mosquitoes. But then again, jump on a plane or you will miss firsthand the friendly, hospitable folks of Canada. A fun book - buy it!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 24, 2015
I bought this book as a gift for a friend that has many of The Uncle John Bathroom Readers (she reads them cover to cover). I know she loved this one as she was constantly informing of the many interesting and amusing facts and stories she read. It made a great gift and I will be reading some of it as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 9, 2014
I am a huge fan of Uncle John's and being Canadian and I couldn't wait to read what fun little facts they found on Canada. I'm not quite halfway through the book and have really enjoyed every little tid bit I have read!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon September 25, 2010
Uncle John has finally got around to doing a complete "Bathroom Reader on Canada;and it's an excellent portrayal of Canada and Canadians.There isn't anything significent that has been overlooked;except maybe there are a few things that are really insignificent that should have been left out.However;it is a nice respectable thickness and just had to be so,Eh!
With so much to compete with in America,it's hard to make one sit up and notice anything about Canada.No matter what one chooses,there is always something bigger,worse,better,etc,south of the border(down U.S.way,as opposed to down Mexico way").
The reason why Canadians are so much like Americans (By the way we are all living in North America but there is always the difference in what we call ourselves,Americans and Canadians;and that even applies to the original people who are called Native Americans in the U.S.and Indian Peoples in Canada.)The vast majority of people living in Canada,live within 100 miles of the border (we wlways refer to the U.S.when we talk of border,since Canada has no other land borders with other countries,and that is fine with us;because there is no way we could ever agree with having a border with anyone else.)Uncle John,on page 210 covers this well with this;
"What if the 49th parallel were Canada's border all the way across North America? The country would lose its two biggest cities(Montreal and Toronto),its capital (Ottawa),and the capital cities of all the provinces except Alberta,Manitoba.and Saskatchewan.Plus,72 percent of all current Canadians would suddenly be waving the red white ,and blue flags and asking ignorant questions about Canada."
There is lots of stuff here for everyone to read,and much of it unknown to Americans as well as Candians.These two names also point out a difference between the two countries,All Canadians are compfortable with being called Canucks;but one just doesn't refer to all Americans as Yankees,especially in the South.
I would like to point out two things Uncle John covered in the book.
On page 32,"Life On The Roman Line"is about "The Black Donnellys" and about Canada's most barbarous feud that went on for over 40 years,involved a whole town and still has memories that keep it from being talked about by inhabitants and descendents today.There is an excellent Website giving much more of the story,details and photographs.
Then on page 227,"The Halifax Explosion" which took place in 1917.It was the biggest man made explosion befor the Atomic Bomb was dropped on Hiroshima.Over 1600 people were killed,more than 1'600 homes were gone,and 12,000 were damaged and at least 6,000 people were left homeless;all in a bright flash and a mushroom cloud;the next day the city was hit with a huge blizzard.America,particularly people of Boston,provided massive relief and to this day,Halifax sends an annual Christmas tree to the City of Boston in gratitude".
Congratulations to Uncle John and Staff for another excellent "Bathroom Reader".

I
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 25, 2014
this a lot of info about our neighbors to the north, it was very interesting to read about the Canadians
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 31, 2015
Loved this book. I am Canadian and a trivia buff. This is truly a good read.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
A Lot of neat stuff about Canada, our neighbor to the north!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 2, 2016
My husband loves these books. Arrived fast and new.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2014
Love the bathroom Reader books
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 29, 2015
great book , fast, very good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.