Customer Reviews


191 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (31)
3 star:
 (28)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (52)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


232 of 250 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Soon
Customer Video Review     Length:: 1:07 Mins

To tell the truth, the spider wasn't a very good choice for the lead role in this movie clip. He refused to walk on anything else but a perfectly smooth floor, so you can imagine the problems filming in an apocalyptic world. He wanted nothing but batteries at the buffet, demanding 2 AA AND 2 AAA batteries for each meal - and he insisted on...
Published on September 7, 2008 by Amanda Richards

versus
59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2nd time is not a charm- Look for something else.
My Son received this as a gift and it was true love until we actually removed it from the packaging. It was broken out of the box. After exchanging it for another. It worked for approximately 15 minutes. So fragile doesn't even cover it. Its beyond cheap if a careful 6 year old with adult supervision can break it simply by pressing the remote buttons. It'll be going back...
Published on July 19, 2008 by K. Mallon


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

232 of 250 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Apocalypse Soon, September 7, 2008
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
Length:: 1:07 Mins


To tell the truth, the spider wasn't a very good choice for the lead role in this movie clip. He refused to walk on anything else but a perfectly smooth floor, so you can imagine the problems filming in an apocalyptic world. He wanted nothing but batteries at the buffet, demanding 2 AA AND 2 AAA batteries for each meal - and he insisted on eating every 30 minutes. He also wanted his own Creature Handler.

It was a Director's nightmare!

Fortunately, the Creature Handler exercised tact and patience, and we were able to shoot this movie with minimal delays, even with a spider-diva. Finding the remote to push his buttons was a snap. The remote is clearly marked, and is oval-shaped (like a spider egg, they tell us), and has only two buttons - Go and Rotate. Of course this means he can't go backwards, and to get him to back up, he has to spin all the way around. We were even considering filming him walking and then running the clip backwards.

With regard to stealthy attacks, forget it! This guy is as subtle as a bulldozer, and you'll hear him coming a mile off. However, he is realistically hairy and moves like a real (really BIG) tarantula and he's got these glowing red eyes to creep you out. I guess we hired him for his looks and not his personality.

Anyway, in summary, this spider looks great (if you're into hairy, ugly things), walks great (but with too much noise) and is somewhat limited in terms of mobility. On a smooth floor he can walk and spin with the best of them, but that's about it. Entertaining for a while, and a pain in the tail if you want him to star in your horror movie.

Amanda Richards, September 7, 2008
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars 2nd time is not a charm- Look for something else., July 19, 2008
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
My Son received this as a gift and it was true love until we actually removed it from the packaging. It was broken out of the box. After exchanging it for another. It worked for approximately 15 minutes. So fragile doesn't even cover it. Its beyond cheap if a careful 6 year old with adult supervision can break it simply by pressing the remote buttons. It'll be going back for a refund.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 48 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst toy ever, December 17, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
I never imagined I'd leave a review that said, "If I could give this zero stars, I would." But, my God! This has to be the greatest dissappointment I've ever removed from a package. I should say seven packages. Believe it or not, my Grandparents bought these for all the Grandkids. Of the eight that we purchased, only one worked. Kind of. Actually, it worked poorly. Against my advice, they exchanged rather than returned them all. Lo and behold, of the next batch of garbage none of them worked. These are the biggest peices of junk I've ever seen marketed as toys. Even worse than Happy Meal Toys. Only buy them if you like to make your children cry or if you like to return things and leave mean reviews!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Uncle Milton Remote Control Tarantula, February 12, 2009
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
It was already broken when it arrived. The battery coil was disconnected so you were unable to use it because the battery was unable to connect to produce power. Thankfully, we have handy people here. It was a christmas present. Two legs fell off recently. Don't waste your money. I will be using it as a halloween decoration.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 38 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun but fragile, February 17, 2008
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
Alright, as a prankster, I love the idea of a remote control spider. I purchased this model for myself about a week back and, as with most mechanical purchases, discovered it has both its pros and cons.

Cons: First off, I wish it were a bit smaller as to be of a more realistic size. Second, it makes a loud mechanical sound, so in order to gag someone, the atmosphere must be set just right. Third, the eyes flash red... and really brightly. What I did to remedy this, was to use a permanent marker to darken the plastic eyes. Fourth, it only functions properly on smooth surfaces. And lastly, it is fragile. Beware of scaring spider-squashers and bold pets! Also, if given to a young child, it may be broken within a week.

Pros: Fun, fun, fun. While visiting my mom's, I managed to gag her and a brother (others to come). Although it's oversized and noisy, the visual association one makes upon first seeing it is very effective (don't plan on sneaking up on someone from across the room with it though, for the noise will give it away). Great prank, reasonable price. When I gagged my mom, I caught the scare on tape (her scream atleast; the camera needed to be a bit higher in order to capture her face). You can find that video clip on Youtube if you conduct a search using the keywords "scream remote control tarantula prank." Also, others have placed videos there of this spider in action.

Happy pranking!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Didn't work! Dissappointed, December 9, 2010
= Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
I bought this RC Tarantula for my daughter's 11th birthday. The Tarantula is very cool looking, but we were so disappointed that the remote control would not light up or work, even with new batteries. We didn't even order a replacement, because we thought it would be just as cheap and would probably not work. It's too bad, because this could be a fun toy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing, January 26, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
This should have been a great Christmas surprise but was nothing but a dud. It has great potential but I suspect poor manufacturing was the cause of no battery connection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Just will not go!, January 5, 2011
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
I bought this for a grandchild for Christmas. She was super excited to get it! However, it just will not walk! We have slick hardwood floors and this thing just sits and grinds, moving its legs but refuses to walk. It is even worse on carpetting.

The toy looks awesome. It could have alot of potential to be a big hit if the manufacturer would redesign its little wheels on the bottom of the spider to get better traction.

Its a little loud too. The griding motor sound ruins any "sneak attacks" or tricks you want to play on people... but the dog doesnt seem to mind! It drove our dogs nuts.... they wanted to attack it and DID!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Fun on hard, flat surfaces., November 8, 2008
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:2.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
This guy is a real blast when he unexpectedly crawls out from under a chair, but watch out lest he get stomped by someone in fear, ha ha. So he only works on hard surfaces that are relatively flat. He appears most realistic if you paint over his light up eyes with thick black paint and control him using repeated short pushes on the buttons on the remote control.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars terrible toy tarantula, December 27, 2010
= Durability:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:1.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:1.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula (Toy)
If you return the firs one because it did not work and replaced it with a second one that worked abou three min.would you think this was a good purchase. I don't think so
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Uncle Milton Radio Control Tarantula
$24.99 $21.61
In stock on January 2, 2015
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.