Customer Reviews


33 Reviews
5 star:
 (23)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undecorate, The Way We Live Now
Undecorate. Provocative title. Does it mean to go minimal and spartan and dispose of all the the trappings of interior design and decorating?

On the contrary, it means infusing your home with personality, color dense and/or neutral, and mixing it up with high and low things of every age, vintage, antique, and contemporary.

The book is filled with...
Published on March 20, 2011 by Valortie Hart The Visual Vamp

versus
50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Hard-Earned Money, DO NOT Buy This Book
I purchased this book because it was excerpted in September's Better Homes and Gardens. The picture that they used made me eager to see more and get new ideas and tips on casual chic decor. I should've reconsidered after seeing the sorrowful cover image but I clicked Buy anyway. With the exception of two homes, most of the rooms featured are dingy and completely...
Published on October 8, 2011 by Suz


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

50 of 55 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Save Your Hard-Earned Money, DO NOT Buy This Book, October 8, 2011
By 
Suz (Monrovia, Liberia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
I purchased this book because it was excerpted in September's Better Homes and Gardens. The picture that they used made me eager to see more and get new ideas and tips on casual chic decor. I should've reconsidered after seeing the sorrowful cover image but I clicked Buy anyway. With the exception of two homes, most of the rooms featured are dingy and completely haphazard. Many of them look like they could use a thorough de-clutter, new furniture, a good cleaning and a fresh coat of paint. I had an odd feeling while paging through the book and it wasn't until I came to a page that featured a man sitting in a stark room on a shapeless couch with his elderly parents and books randomly strewn around them that I realized it was discomfort. I don't know where the authors found their subjects but they should have helped them rather than photograph them for a misleadingly titled book. This book is NOT inspirational and does NOT provide any guidance or fresh ideas. It is simply a collection of photographs of two nice homes with a lot of dreary looking spaces added. With all the great design blogs available for free, save your money, buy another book or preview before buying. Caveat emptor.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 44 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undecorate, The Way We Live Now, March 20, 2011
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
Undecorate. Provocative title. Does it mean to go minimal and spartan and dispose of all the the trappings of interior design and decorating?

On the contrary, it means infusing your home with personality, color dense and/or neutral, and mixing it up with high and low things of every age, vintage, antique, and contemporary.

The book is filled with real people who just happen to have a super real grasp for decorating. Even though the book plays down the professional decorator or designer, all of the homes have owners who are in a creative profession, sometimes as design professionals, decorators, stylists, artists of every type, and writers. But rather than eschew typical rules and regulations of creating home decor, these folks embrace the unique and beautiful.

The title includes: "The No Rules Approach To Interior Design", that kind of implies that doing what each home owner did was just throw it together without thought to what good design means. This is so not true! No rules does not mean no talent, or no educated eye editing and arranging these spaces. Each home is meticulous in it's details, even though the process unfolded in a natural, no rules, organic manner. It would be great to have anyone of these creative home owners come over and help do up your home.

Common threads unite all of these spaces. You will see collections, color, antlers, art work, books, typography as art, pattern, hide rugs, mid century modern, modern and vintage textiles, French antiques, and naturally and artfully edited spaces that look lived in and inviting. And there's a sense of fun and whimsy and wit in these rooms too.

All of this makes the book user friendly. The reader feels that this kind of undecorating is within their reach.

Add to that Christiane Lemieaux's (with Rumaan Alam) heartfelt, honest, and expert writing and you have a book to look at and to read. The photographs by Melanie Acevedo capture a true clear light that makes each page luscious.

With chapter titles like: "The Imperfectionists", "The Career Opportunists", "Decorators Without Borders", (and more), it makes you wonder how your own decor might be defined and described.

If you loved the defunct and much loved Domino, and are a fan of Lonny, love to read decor and design blogs, you will love this book. Undecorate elevates and takes their editorial viewpoint a few steps further.

If you'd like a breath of fresh air, and a finger on the pulse of how people decorate now, and will continue to do so for many years to come, get this book. Gone are the days of theme decorating like "Tuscan", "French Country", and even "Eclectic". Here is the new mix based on real life and the enjoyment that comes from living it in your home, and sharing it with all who live there and enter your door.

The book is not ageist either. Christiane includes photos of the home owners, and both younger and older alike have that certain style sizzle and pizazz.

Christiane and company traveled the country seeking out these homes, many of them found via decor and design blogs, truly the paradigm for anyone interested in decorating and design. She got to know the people whose homes she writes about, and the book is so genuine, more so than most decor books churned out.

In short, now that I have gone on so long: Buy this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not very inspiring, April 3, 2012
By 
Barb Montana (Baldwin, GA USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
What a disappointment........Yes, the photos are beautiful but the rooms featured are generally not inspiring. A lot of them look like sloppy housekeeping. When I read a book, I mark the pages that interest me with a post-it note so I can easily find what I liked. In this book, I marked one page. Some of the folks with "collections' to display remind me of the hoarders featured on television shows. Do not waste your money!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undecorate is Decorating at its best!, May 3, 2011
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
I sat and read this entire book in one sitting. Yes, actually read it. Which is unusual for me and a decorating book. Most times....I just browse the photos and there isn't any good descriptive copy included. Such is not the case with this book. This book shows many homes decorated by the owners. And the accompanying stories tell how these owners came to the decisions they made in their decor. Yes, this book is not about hiring a decorator but instead living with the things you love. Letting your space evolve over time. Making a statement with a collection. Yes, all rules broken in this book of decor. It encourages all to think out of the box. To create spaces as individual as the occupants themselves. Gorgeous photography. This book will be one I will go back to over and over again to see certain images and remind myself of how great it looks to mix things up and follow your own drummer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Love the concept, not the the reality, January 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
I found little inspiration in this book. Living with what you love sounds good. But nothing goes together in these rooms and it all looks like 1st apartment after college. So disappointing I left if behind while visiting friends, intentionally.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Decorators Should Read This Book, November 2, 2011
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
Personally I think the number one audience for this book should be decorators who tend to arrange living spaces which should be viewed from afar, like a painting, not lived in as a home. These are the homes of families from many cross sections of American Life. Their spaces are well used and lived in. If you were a guest you would immediately be comfortable and relaxed. You also see children and dogs freely using these houses.

This book too suffers from one overused concept in interior design though. This is the almost exclusive use of beige and white except in accessory pieces. In these cases though I have the impressions that the families just went with the easiest, most comfy way to set up and then decorated mainly with their personal interests, pieces and art works. There is not a thing wrong with this. I have done it myself. The only problem is that for someone who already pretty much also lives like this, there were no new ideas for me to use in my own space. I was hoping to pick up some new ideas.

So my recommendation is that this book is best for the opposite kind of person, the person who has a lovely home in which no one can get comfy or relax. There are plenty of them out there and they are the ones who need this book.

Visit my blog with link given on my profile page here or use this phonetically given URL (livingasseniors dot blogspot dot com). Friday's entry will always be weekend entertainment recs from my 5 star Amazon reviews in film, tv, books and music. These are very heavy on buried treasures and hidden gems. My blogspot is published on Monday, Wednesday & Friday.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well Done!, September 21, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
I absolutely love this book, it has so many cool ideas that will not break the bank! It's real people and their homes, very will put together. Would recommend anyone to purchase looking for different styles! Well Done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Inspiring, May 19, 2011
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
I'm always on the look out for inspiring interior design books and when I came across "Undecorate" I was in awe. What a fabulous collection of interiors! Not only were the photographs wonderful, this was an interesting read with such clever explanations on these brilliant interiors. I want to be a part of the "undecorate" world!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars just rght, May 12, 2011
By 
Jesse Lu Bain (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
Gorgeous photographs of beautiful, unpretentious, creative homes and lovely stories about the people that live in them. A great book for anyone who adores creating (and looking at) charming homes with a heaps of style and personality and very few designer labels or hospital corners. I can't wait to purchase this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally a book for real people, June 22, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design (Hardcover)
this book makes you feel good about your less than perfect home. It is about real homes where real people live and enjoy what makes them happy.No rules just a commonsense approach life is messy and not often picture perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design
Undecorate: The No-Rules Approach to Interior Design by Christiane Lemieux (Hardcover - March 8, 2011)
$40.00 $29.17
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.