Customer Reviews


29 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRev's Classic Dreamcast Shooter Makes PS3 Debut
As a fan of all things shooters and Dreamcast, I was pretty excited to get my hands on Under Defeat HD. I originally had this ordered from a competitor's website, then I pre-ordered on Amazon for the heck of it, which I'm glad I did since it's now an Amazon.com exclusive, so if you want it, don't hesitate, buy it ASAP.

First and foremost, it must be said how...
Published 20 months ago by UziHorowitz

versus
0 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Neeehh.. It's okay shooter
Graphics and sound is good. I gave it a 3 because of the screen.. for me it felt that it was just cramped. but you can count it as a challenge though ;) small area to dodge bullets/rockets
Published 14 months ago by Earl Cordovez


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GRev's Classic Dreamcast Shooter Makes PS3 Debut, December 1, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
As a fan of all things shooters and Dreamcast, I was pretty excited to get my hands on Under Defeat HD. I originally had this ordered from a competitor's website, then I pre-ordered on Amazon for the heck of it, which I'm glad I did since it's now an Amazon.com exclusive, so if you want it, don't hesitate, buy it ASAP.

First and foremost, it must be said how beautiful this game looks with its glossy HD makeover. Everything is crisp and has much more detail than the Dreamcast version. For the most part, it all runs buttery smooth, too. I've seen some complaints about "slowdown" on the Playstation Blog and some other places, however these people must not know that slowdown is a feature in shooters like this and not a technical issue. This is a vertical shooter and the gameplay feels as good as ever. Yes, compared to other shooters this has a different feel, however it doesn't take long to acclimate to.

Also, I feel it needs to be said that $29.99 for a retail shooter is an absolute steal. I've heard complaints that these need to be $10-$15 Xbox Live Arcade/Playstation Store downloads, but I just disagree. As a fan of old school games, specifically shooters, I like getting something physical, not having a game sitting on a hard drive with no guarantees. I like the peace of mind that I can play this 15 years down the road, which is important for classic games like this that have timeless qualities. For $29.99 you're getting the game, physical soundtrack w/ digital art book, all DLC and patches from the other region versions, and a brand new in-game chopper. In addition, unlike most games these days, you're getting a color manual included. The import price for this game on NCSX is $83.90, so its $29.99 price is nearly 1/3 of that of the import version. In other words, this price is awesome.

Under Defeat HD is a game that deserves your support. It's inexpensive, packed with goodness, and it's just a quality shooter, as well as being the first retail shooter to hit North American PS3's. Buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars G.rev's best game comes to the PS3., November 29, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Back in 2006, developer G.rev released Under Defeat on the Dreamcast in Japan. Obviously this was well past the point where Dreamcast games were getting regular releases in North America, so the game stayed off shore at the time. I managed import the game and spent a lot of time with it. And now with this release, it's finally available for everyone.

The PS3 version is, as the name implies, a high-definition remake. The arcade mode is very similar to the Dreamcast version. There are a few minor changes here and there, so a purist may want to stick to the Dreamcast version, however it's close enough for most players. Also included is the New Order version that includes a modified play field suitable for widescreen displays. You can also choose to play with dual analog controls, optimized for modern controllers, or stick with the original arcade rotation scheme. So we get the best of both worlds: A reasonable approximation of the original game and controls, and a revamped version to take full advantage of modern setups.

Under Defeat is a shmup. You fly a helicopter, shoot stuff, grab powerups, and avoid bullets. The field of play is an overhead slightly angled view, similar to Raystorm.

The 'twist' to Under Defeat is that your helicoptor can rotate slightly to shoot at different angles. There are also two planes of play, with air targets and ground targets. Your helicoptor normally fires forward, however when a ground target comes into range your angle of fire changes to lock-on to them instead. Powerups consist of small pods that fire along side you, with missles, chainguns, etc. These are activated by pausing your fire to charge them up; thus you often have better firepower by not shooting all the time. Planning which powerups to use and when to activate them adds an additional layer of strategy, and is often more critical than it appears at first glance. This also lets you target multiple enemies at the same time, or concentrate fire on more sturdy enemies.

The level design is where Under Defeat truly shines. From assaulting enemy bases, to battling fleets of ships, to assisting allied tanks on the battlefield, everything is placed well and makes sense. Often when allies are on the screen, you can choose to attack enemies firing at you, or assist those allies against enemies that are targeting them so they can continue fighting. It's really slick design that helps the game feel more like a battlefield.

Boss fights are huge and intimidating, with multiple parts to destroy. This gives a lot of flexibility in how you want to approach them: You can concentrate fire and go straight for the kill, or pick them apart piece by piece.

Under Defeat is a difficult game. Don't let modern "bullet-hell" shmups fool you, more bullets does not always mean harder. I've gotten single credit clears on several modern and old arcade shmups, however this one gives me trouble from time to time. Still, the learning curve is very much worth it as each level just gets better than the last.

It's not every day a shmup gets a disc-based release on PS3, and this is one of the better ones on any console. With added features to take advantage of HD displays and modern controllers, and an original version for the arcade experinece, you really can't go wrong. And at the retail price, it's a steal compared to what the Dreamcast version goes for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars S....Seriously?, March 11, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Under Defeat is an interesting story. It started out as one the final releases for the Dreamcast in the midlate 2000s, in which the system was already dead everywhere else outside Japan. The fact that not only did G Rev rereleased it modern consoles, with Rising Star Games releasing it in the U.S., this really makes it a gem for the current generation. One can only hope if RS Games will release more in the U.S., after all, they did help release King of Fighters 13 in Europe!

Here's to every shmup gamer across the globe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Classic shoot'em up in HD!!!!!!!, December 8, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Under Defeat is a great shoot that original came out on the Dreamcast a couple of years ago. Now, this great shooter has new modes, an exclusive chopper, and HD graphics. I played this game on the Dreamcast, it suffered from on screen lag time. Now on the PS3 the HD graphics are beautiful (you must have a HDTV to truly appreciate it). The gameplay is very solid and hard at times (I have not tried the easy mode but will not cause I am true gamer). Once you have completed a level you can go back in practice mode to master that level. I have been playing for about 2 weeks now and I am very satisfied with this game. If you are a fan of the classic overhead shooter Under Defeat is a game you must have in your library. For $32.00 you can't go wrong with that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very fun. G.Rev delivers, May 18, 2013
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
If you are a fan of the Toaplan military shooters of the late 80's/early 90's, get this game. It hits the right notes. Excellent soundtrack(s), new features not in the original DC version such as dual stick mode and redone HD graphics, and and accessible challenge set this shmup apart. Don't expect Cave bullet curtains. Don't expect Ikaruga's level of design. Under defeat is just pure old school arcade fun,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sweet!, March 20, 2014
By 
C. Wheat (Edinburg, TX) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
As a fan of the original Dreamcast game, this is a fantastic port.

Usually I find these HD, deluxe, reimagined games of old to be a wast. Rehased ideas, with little flare of what made the originals the retro gaming darlings we know of today.

This is proof that sometimes a gaming company can get it right.

For those of us who can't affored the highly over priced cost of a Dreamcast copy of this game, I HIGHLY suggest picking up this one.

The sooner the better, becasue this is a Amazon exclusive, you won't be seing it at a Gamestop, and the price will only jump once this is no longer in print.

Dont' let this become another Xenosaga for the Wii, buy now, be happy, and roll your eyes when other's complain a year later that the game cost to much on the secondary market. Because you were smart enough to buy it when it was going for retail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Good Port of the Dreamcast Version, February 11, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Only a die hard fan would notice the very minor differences between the original DC version and this PS3 port.
This version can be had at a fraction of the price, and has a few new features such as two additional helicopters and widescreen mode with it's own soundtrack.
Everything you love about the DC version is intact, including the option to rotate your monitor.
For those who haven't played Under Defeat; it's a fantastic vertically scrolling shooter, set in a military world with an awesome soundtrack and addictive play mechanic.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I liked this game but not the control scheme, March 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
I like the action in this game. I have the Dreamcast version of this and I think the graphics are better on this version. It is bascially a vertical shooter, meaning that you travel up to the top of the screen shooting enemies. The explosions are nice, good sound and the enemy units are different. What I didn't like is the use of the right toggle to control the shooting. There is an alternative set-up which I use. I think it would be better just using the buttons which the game won't let you do. As I mentioned before, this game first arrived on the Sega Dreamcast and I'm surprised this showed up on the PS3. Overall, a good military vertical shooter....4 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars First ever (that i can think of) physical release Shmups for ps3, February 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
Under Defeat is fast action fun with a dash of difficulty( the DLC helicopters make it a breeze). Widescreen HD mode is definitely where the game graphically shines, but it also includes the original. Mirrored modes add replay value and I am always excited and grateful for co-op, but online play would have been appreciated (Lack of online play is the only reason i didnt give it 5 stars).

$30 is a steal for this great game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shooter's delight, January 31, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 (Video Game)
This game is awesome. There are plenty of reviews out there, so I'm going to speak to only one part in particular:

Is this game worth the price?

The answer, is yes. Also, if you have any interest in two-player co-op experiences (which I do), this game is awesome for it. You really can have fun with a couple of people playing this in New-World-Order Mode, strafing in unison and flanking one another's enemies. Very fun game. Comes with a soundtrack, some additional art, a variety of choppers to choose from (one exclusive to this release), but really, the core game alone is worth 30 bucks. Please support and enjoy, if shoot-em-ups are of interest to you.

Thanks!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3
Under Defeat: Deluxe Edition - Playstation 3 by Rising Star Games (PlayStation 3)
$23.78
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.