Customer Reviews


311 Reviews
5 star:
 (198)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (20)
2 star:
 (15)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Start of a new series
This book is the start of a new series by John Ringo. The setting is contemporary and deals with the outbreak of a man made virus that starts with flu symptoms followed by rabies-like symptoms -- causing extreme aggression. This fits in with the concept of a "viral zombie" outbreak -- the infected are not "dead", but they are not curable and have lost...
Published 16 months ago by LeoX

versus
42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak ... couldn't find a way to finish it.
I hate leaving books unread. It's like walking out of a movie halfway through, but sometimes you do, because it is just too painful to continue.

Under a Graveyard Sky starts strong, with the main character realizing that a disaster is about to strike mankind, and if he doesn't gather his family and break away from society within the next 24 hours, then he and...
Published 10 months ago by Jason Reedy


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Start of a new series, August 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book is the start of a new series by John Ringo. The setting is contemporary and deals with the outbreak of a man made virus that starts with flu symptoms followed by rabies-like symptoms -- causing extreme aggression. This fits in with the concept of a "viral zombie" outbreak -- the infected are not "dead", but they are not curable and have lost virtually all "human" traits.

The story has several points of view, with the main POV's being from the members of a "survivalist" (or "preparer") family that initially avoids the plague and then works with others during the spread of the plague (and collapse of civilization). There are several exciting action sequences and various moral dilemmas that the survivors have to face (which make for a great read and which I will not spoil here).

The only downsides are that this is the first of what is clearly a series and I was left wanting more. The fate of characters introduced in earlier parts of the story remain unknown (still alive, dead, who knows?). There are hints that a still unknown "enemy" released the plague and is still out there. The book does not so much have an ending as a pause in the action -- I hope the next book comes out in the near future.

So overall, a fun read with more installments to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surviving the Zombie Apocalypse, August 25, 2013
By 
P. Gibbs (Atlanta, GA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
The story opens with a bang when a school teacher, Steven Smith, gets a coded message from his brother in New York to warn him of a general emergency. Their plan called for the alert to trigger immediate action: gather his family, "grab the bug-out bag and activate [his] Zombie Plan." It's all fairly dramatic as he walks out of his high school classroom, pulls his daughters out of their schools on the pretext of an auto accident involving his wife, and leaves town with a car and trailer loaded with food, water, supplies, ammo and plenty of firearms. This is a John Ringo novel after all, so the Smith's have plenty of firepower and Steve is a veteran of the Australian paratroopers. His brother is a former Aussie SAS operator.

Most of the story takes place at sea as the Smith's escape the zombie plague. However the danger only increases when they engage in search & rescue operations and Steve Smith forms an ad hoc sea-going militia. I preferred the action in the first half of the book when they travel from Virginia to New York City to rendezvous with the brother, who is head of security for "Bank of Americas." Apparently the bankers don't want to die in a zombie apocalypse or nuclear attack and have prepared accordingly. If true, and I don't have much difficulty in believing it, that militates in favor of emergency preparedness for all of us.

The preparedness message might be diluted by the fact that it really is a zombie story. The victims, infected with the man-made virus (exact origin unknown), eventually have symptoms of "extreme homicidal psychosis with reduced mental capacity."

About a year ago I heard John Ringo discussing at a con the very real danger of a zombie-making virus being purposely released from an underground lab by the bio-warfare equivalent of "script-kiddies" who inflict computer viruses on the civilized world. We live in a world where technological advancements have raced ahead of the moral development of large portions of the world's population (e.g. nuclear warheads in the hands of mullahs firmly attached to an Eighth Century attitude towards killing infidels).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hate to say it, but might be one of his best, September 10, 2013
By 
Golfnut (Mesa, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Surprised to see Ringo jump into zombie books, but he certainly has written about everything else. The book seems to be well researched, is very well written and certainly has extreme action as always. This has to rank right up there with March Upcountry series. A lot of strong military humor, had me rolling on floor wiping tears out of eyes. I have read all of his books and this one is awesome fun reading.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


42 of 49 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Weak ... couldn't find a way to finish it., February 2, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I hate leaving books unread. It's like walking out of a movie halfway through, but sometimes you do, because it is just too painful to continue.

Under a Graveyard Sky starts strong, with the main character realizing that a disaster is about to strike mankind, and if he doesn't gather his family and break away from society within the next 24 hours, then he and his entire family are dead. But then they don't die. In fact, very little happens that threatens their safety unless they go and purposefully seek risk. (One of the members of the family decides that she wants to go "zombie hunting" and almost gets killed).

While this is going on, society's reaction is mystifying. There is no panic. There is no run on commodities. Only the government and a large bank (wtf?) seem to take the threat as real. Seriously, there is news that a "zombie plague" is overtaking humanity, and people are still going to work and living their life as if society is not collapsing down around them. "Oh hey, there's Bob, being chased by his naked teenager daughter in the middle of the street with blood streaming out of her eye sockets .... Ooooo! Breaking Bad season 5 is out on DVD!"

I just didn't find the story very gripping, and I just couldn't stand the 13-year old daughter character who is somehow tougher than any Marine or special ops soldier she comes across. Seriously, every time the family meet military personnel, they all have to sit back and be awed about how special this 13-year old teenage girl is. Even to the point that trained military are deferring to the 13-year old girl when trying to figure out how best to manage the "zombie situation". Ridiculous.

So, after muddling through about half of the book, I stopped reading it. Couldn't make myself go further, and time to move on to a new book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best ever..., August 28, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Book to read when you're laid up at home with a stomach virus.
A very entertaining read, and if you are a John Ringo fan, like I am, it definitely will not disappoint. (Word of warning: If you're liberal and hate guns, don't even think about reading a Ringo book!)

On second thought, reading a zombie apocalypse novel about people sickening, dying and turning is a bit surreal while being sick yourself, so maybe read this when you're not sick.

Anyway, this is a new favorite, and I can't wait for the next installment!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great read -highly recommend, September 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under a Graveyard Sky (Hardcover)
A really great post-apocalyptic novel. very believable plot and just the right amount of action to keep the story moving. It is one of those books that one you start, it is difficult to put down. I am eagerly looking forward to the sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Read the ARC, August 23, 2013
By 
Old Army Guy (Austintown, OH) - See all my reviews
I read the ARC a few months ago. Very good story, enjoyed the premise. It was my first time reading an ARC so I don't know if the story just cut off in mid tale or if there is more. Highly recommend. I will go back to Baen and see if there is more of the story to download, otherwise a very good read and worth the ten bucks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ringo rings in on Zombie Apocalypse, September 13, 2013
By 
NBrav "Sir Readzalott" (JACKSON, NEW JERSEY, US) - See all my reviews
Happy is the reader who scoffs down another new series by John Ringo. As an aside, I sure do wish he would do more Aldenata(?) series books, but I understand he was a little burnt out on those. Another Ghost? Another Troy? NO, Ringo has a bit of A.D.D. like a kid who can't stay focused, but once he does focus, he does it extremely well. I mean he really does his stuff. His forte is his attention to Military detail and he is incredible when he does this. It shows his talent well in this first book in the new series. I have never been a Zombie fan, but leave it to Ringo to make this interesting, exciting, fun and deep in "conspiracy" and ending, not on a cliffhanger, but leaving his readership wanting for more. One can't help notice the use of 2 sisters again, His? Nieces? who knows, but they are the life of the book. No spoilers... Read this. OH, and for us so called Liberals, only one of his anti-liberal lines, not even a diatribe, I guess he just felt obliged to dis us a little. John, Some of us are on the same side of many issues you are. We love the same America you do. The freedom we All love and cherish just gives us the right to agree to disagree on other issues. How about writing in some tough as nails liberals who know how to survive, fight and win.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Oh, Man! Another Zombie Apocolypse, December 8, 2013
I usually like Mr. Ringo's work and especially his Posleen series and The Council War. This one is OK and fans of post-apocalyptic/zombie fiction will enjoy it. A lot of the book is devoted to zombie killing and fans will like that. But I have to ask; does the world really need another zombie apocalypse series? There seems to be an inexhaustible market for this stuff. In this one the standard hero is of course an ex-super soldier (Aussie SAS), expert deep diver, natural leader etc. and so forth. His parenting skills are also amazing since he manages to involve his two teenage daughters in an elaborate pre-disaster plan complete with drills, code words and firearms training. All this without evoking a storm of giggles or them telling all their friends (Hey Susie, wait till you hear what my old man wants us to do! Lameo!). Along comes the plague and off he goes to sea taking his multi-talented family with him - wife and the beautiful, teenage daughters. He organizes other boaters into a scratch squadron (Wolf Squadron) and proceeds to clear various vessels found drifting around, rescuing a few non-bitten survivors.

The clearing is worthwhile in some cases (e.g. the Coast Guard cutter) but in others they seem to risk precious lives just for the sake of killing zombies. In the case of the huge cruise ship this results in a great action scene as the heroes stand off the de rigueur horde of slavering undead. But since the horde was already locked in it would have made more sense to just leave them there to starve.

Problem: the thirteen year old is heavily featured to the point that she becomes the POV character for the last half of the book. That's fine, but except for overusing using the expression "sooo" (as in "that's sooo gross") the beautiful teenage daughters (dad calls `em "hotties") are in effect adults. Both of them talk like boot camp Marines and the thirteen year old (big for her age) is a way better zombie killer than trained adults. She also carries a combat load that would stagger a SWAT team. This gets less and less credible as the book goes along.

The author also goes to some lengths to explain the nature of the plague. It's a nice piece of research but tends to bring the story shuddering to a halt. Some vigorous hand waving would have probably been better since only a limited number of biomedical researchers are likely to read this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ringo does it again, September 11, 2013
This review is from: Under a Graveyard Sky (Hardcover)
Ringo has done it to me again. Once I opened this book I could not put it down and lost another night's sleep. The characters were engaging and the premise all too believable. The story moved right along with action from beginning to end. He has found a new way to write about the Zombie Apocalypse when I thought it had been overdone. If he can keep up the excellent writing, which past experience has shown he can, then he has another winner. Now I have to wait for the next one in this new series,..gah he is torturing me on purpose, just like with the Keldera series and the others. Ringo rates very highly on my list of favorite writers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 232 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Under a Graveyard Sky
Under a Graveyard Sky by John Ringo (Hardcover - September 3, 2013)
$25.00 $17.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.