Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Under the Halo: The Official History of Angels Baseball
Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer CafeSociety CafeSociety CafeSociety  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
10
Format: Hardcover|Change
Price:$34.00+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on June 27, 2012
Don't be put off by the other review of this book. It's a beautifully presented book, filled with pictures of Angels greats from the early days of modest success, to the glory days of 2002 and up to the present day. This book is a pleasure to read and to look through. Long overdue and well worth the price for all true Angel fans!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 8, 2012
Nicely written history of the Anaheim Angels (no, they are not an LA team...they have always lived in the OC). The price here is about twenty dollars cheaper than the stadium price, and it's the exact same book. A worthwhile purchase for a quality coffee table book to share among friends and family.
11 comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 7, 2015
If you need to have only one Angels baseball book on your shelf or coffee table, let it be this one. It's jam packed with cool Angels articles, newspaper snippets, full color and B & W photos of the Angels during their golden age with interesting write-ups of the Angels glorious history and 2002 World Series Championship. Additional features include insert replica 60's tickets and vintage tear-out post cards (8 of them). Beautiful over-sized hard cover book with vibrant dust jacket that would compliment any coffee table. Get this book before any other book written about the Angels.

Only thing I wish it covered more is the origin story of the Los Angeles Angels during the early 1960's, its deference to the original Los Angeles Angels of the Pacific Coast League, establishment and history when they were still the first and only original Los Angeles MLB baseball team. As another reviewer puts it, too much highlights on glory days, not enough history. Still a great catch.
22 comments|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 20, 2013
Nice book with great pictures of all the Angel greats. It really took me back to the good old days even though we didn't win a World Series back then. I would recommend it for any Angel fan that have followed them from the seventies until now.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 3, 2013
Great book, lots of pictures and brief stories, includes inserts like tickets to games, replica posters etc. Both copies were purchased as gifts. They will be enjoyed by the recepients!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 11, 2013
This is a gorgeous coffee table book with lots of fun pictures, articles, and extras. Definitely a must for any Halos fan!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 8, 2013
Great Book!!!!! Thank you very much!!!! I am really enjoying the book a lot!!! A great addition to my collection!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2013
The book was purchased as a birthday gift for my boyfriend & he loves the book! Perfect gift at the right price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 5, 2014
I am really enjoying this book. Well written and full of information. I like the memorabilia enclosed (tickets for @2.50:,batting order for no hitter, etc) Great selection of photograps.
Tom
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 29, 2012
As a hardcore Angels fan with a deep appreciation for baseball history, I was stoked to hear that the Angels were releasing an official book about their history. The book is pretty to look at, no doubt, but I regret to say that I was pretty disappointed with the overall product.

On the whole, there is lack of in-depth content, and the book definitely appeals more to the casual fan than to someone who is looking to really learn about the team's history. In my opinion, the book focuses too much on Angel successes and doesn't bring enough coverage to the rough times that this franchise surely endured. Sure, it's always nice to hear about the several winning seasons the franchise had, but it probably would be a lot better to read about a complete overall history since this is the team's official history book as they would like to call it.

The numerous interviews with Angel greats every third page or so are also pretty uninteresting. Basically, they are short snippets of the interviewed player praising his teammates or the Angels team on which he played. These snippets get dull pretty quickly. Having already read many of the books written on the Angel franchise, I really didn't learn a whole lot from reading this book.

Overall, it wouldn't be a bad gift for a young Angels fan, or nice eye candy for bookshelves of a hardcore Angels follower. But if you are looking to truly learn something about the Angels franchise, I would recommend looking at the Ross Newhan books on the Angels instead.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse