Customer Reviews


23 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look Out
This new band just smokes. It has been some time since I was this impressed with a first album. Huge riffs, blazing solos, a singer that can scream, growl and sing convincingly (it's not often that you hear someone that can do all 3 well) and just an overall vibe that I can't get enough of. There's definitely some Meshuggah in here but it doesn't have the twisty,...
Published on September 1, 2006 by Mark Laforest

versus
1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A flawed, but overall decent debut
Threat Signal got their start the way most groups do: slowly, and by passing around a demo to anyone that would listen -- especially the website garagebands.com. And then *BAM!*, Nuclear Blast suddenly took notice and signed them to a record contract in order to strike while the metalcore iron was still hot. Some nobody rushing out a trendy new album --- it's a story we...
Published on April 13, 2009 by A. Stutheit


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look Out, September 1, 2006
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
This new band just smokes. It has been some time since I was this impressed with a first album. Huge riffs, blazing solos, a singer that can scream, growl and sing convincingly (it's not often that you hear someone that can do all 3 well) and just an overall vibe that I can't get enough of. There's definitely some Meshuggah in here but it doesn't have the twisty, math-metal feel of a Meshuggah album; it just makes for really interesting rhythm parts. Soilwork, Pantera, Fear Factory, etc. can all be found if you're digging for influences. They also have instances where one guitar and the bass will hammer out a stop-time riff with the drummer while the other guitar plays a more typical, pedal point-type riff over the top...if that makes any sense to anyone. Kind of a Lamb of God thing.

But enough with the comparisons. The main thing for me is that I never get bored with any of the songs. This band keeps it moving and doesn't waste your time. Way fun to turn this one up. 4-1/2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another awesome band with an awesome debut album, October 2, 2006
By 
Michael (FL United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
I was surprised when I found that these guys were actually from Canada. They rank pretty high up with melodic metal bands like Soilwork and In Flames, who are from Sweden, and bands like Mnemic, who are from Denmark. Doesn't really matter where they're from, this cd smokes. Christian Olde Wolbers (Fear Factory) brought the best out of them when he produced this album. Fans of Soilwork, Fear Factory, Mnemic, In Flames, and Strapping Young Lad need not waste any time in checking them out.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Band, September 6, 2006
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
Let me just say this album rules. I listened to snippets of it at my local record store and waited till i got paid to pick it up. When i did i was blown away. Two things really stand out for me on this record. The production and the lead singer. The production is top notch for a debut ablum. Also the singer is just amazing. He has your typical scream that reminds you of Meshuggah, your high pitched scream that reminds you of Killswitch Engage, and a nice clean voice that reminds me or the Linkin Park scream/sing as well as a normal good singing voice.

The music just adds to the greatness of the album. You can definatly hear the Meshuggah influence but not as technical as them. Think more like A Life Once Lost. Most songs are mid tempo but the faster ones are just awesome. The solos are great when they appear and there are some nice melodic parts that just add awesome new elements to some of the songs. Basically every song stands out for certain reasons and its definatly an album you need to listen to in its entirity cause there are too many good songs to skip over.

Pick this up if you like Meshuggah, Fear Factory or any thrash!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great New Band, 5 Stars All The Way!!, August 29, 2006
By 
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
This is Threat Signal's 2006 debut album "Under Reprisal". This is one of the best new debut albums I've listened to for quite a while, and it's already one of the best albums of 2006 thus far. I bought this album over the weekend, and I was immediately blown away. In a time when heavy music is being dominated by metalcore, it's just so good and refreshing to hear a new band that possess such skill and talent like Threat Signal do. From powerful screams, great melodic/clean singing, to driving syncopated guitar riffs, harmonious leads, ripping solos, to bodyslamming drums, to dynamic musical passages, catchy memorable hooks, "Under Reprisal" definately has everything. Various influences ranging from Soilwork, Meshuggah, Pantera, Fear Factory, Mnemic, Strapping Young Lad, and among others are all present throughout this album as well. Jon Howard is an amazing vocalist who has various styles of vocals, something that As I Lay Dying's vocalist doesn't have. Brutal midrange screams/yells that yet remain clear and understandable, melodic/clean singing that packs alot of punch and emotion, and vicious high throat piercing screams that will make your blood run cold. They also somewhat echo Pantera singer Phil Anselmo at times too. Kyle McKnight is an awesome lead guitarist. His leads and solos on here are absolutely skillful, passionate, and jaw dropping. Rich Howard is an awesome rhythm guitarist as well. He throws down lots of great heavy riffs that are fast, melodic, and technical. On here you also got good bass lines from Marco Bressette that follow Kyle and Rich's twin guitar assault with ease, and you have that awesome slamming double bass drumming from George Parfitt. The opening track "Rational Eyes" is pure bliss. It has punishing guitar riffs, slamming double bass drumming, and an awesome soaring chorus. This is one of my favorite songs on the album, and also the first Threat Signal song I've ever heard. "As I Destruct" another one of my favorite songs, has an awesome jaw dropping solo which is followed by a melodic passage, and a nice piano near the end. My personal favorite on here is track three "One Last Breath". It starts off with a fast riff and the sound of a gunshot going off then soon followed by more fast fiery riffs, fast hammering drums, and a sick throat piercing scream from Jon that will have your blood running cold. There's another great solo too. Other favorite songs on here including "Counterbalance", "Now", "Inane", and "Haunting" keep the album at a ferocious pace with more brutal vocals, driving riffs, ripping solos, and pounding drums. The closing track "When All is Said and Done" starts off with hammering drums, fast driving riffs, brutal shouting vocals which are all followed by a careening solo from Kyle. Then around the 1:47 mark, the song switches to a melodic yet heavy mid tempo tone with some clean singing and some more shouting vocals. Then at the 4 minute mark, the song comes right back with more hammering drums and careening riffs, and a nice melodic solo from Kyle near the end is also present. A great album closer.

The entire song list and the ratings:

1. Rational Eyes - 5/5

2. As I Destruct - 5/5

3. One Last Breath - 5/5 (My favorite song)

4. Seeing Red - 5/5

5. A New Beginning - 5/5

6. Counterbalance - 5/5

7. Inane - 5/5

8. Now - 5/5

9. Faceless - 5/5

10. Haunting - 5/5

11. When All is Said and Done - 5/5

Overall Score: 100/100

Grade: A hard earned A+

Bottom line, if you're a fan of Soilwork, Pantera, Fear Factory, Meshuggah, Mnemic, Strapping Young Lad, etc, you'll

definately like Threat Signal. Do yourself a favor, buy this album now. Well Done Nuclear Blast, you have another great new band on your roster.

LONG LIVE THREAT SIGNAL!!

STAY METAL!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great First Effort, November 3, 2006
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
Sometimes you just have to pick up an album or a book and take a second look at it, this is such an album, the cover art grabbed my eyes and I had to see if the lyrics and music would be such a feast to the senses. This debut album exceeds all expectations.

Joh Howard produces an amazing range of vocals for a Metal album, the most incredible is his counter points on As I Destruct , here he sings counterpoint to each line, and you would swear you were listening to two vocalists.

The powerful guitar work of Kyle McKnight and Rich Howard draw you in and keep you entrapped as Jon Howards vocals coil around you like a Boa constricting you tighter and tighter. The music is intense, powerful and a stunning example of extreme metal.

It's hard to believe but they even have an anti-violence song called One Last Breath, where they are critical of violence in society and how it will affect us all.

All the song's are written by Kyle McKnigt, Jon Howard and occasionally with Rich Howard. The lyrics are to some extent what you would anticipate for a metal album.

The sound is reminiscent of Disturbed or even early Venom, yet even though it sounds familiar it does have it's own unique undertones and over all it does set itself aside as a new sound in a genre that is typically overly anticipatable. The acoustical ending to Counterbalance reminds one of Creed or Nickleback on their softer pieces.

All in all I would have to say that this album is something new and intriguing in a genre that has become stale. This album will not disappoint any metal head in your circle of friends. So give it a try.

(First Published in Imprint 200-11-03 as "Sonic Snippets - Music Reviews".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great First Effort, November 3, 2006
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
Sometimes you just have to pick up an album or a book and take a second look at it, this is such an album, the cover art grabbed my eyes and I had to see if the lyrics and music would be such a feast to the senses. This debut album exceeds all expectations.

Joh Howard produces an amazing range of vocals for a Metal album, the most incredible is his counter points on As I Destruct , here he sings counterpoint to each line, and you would swear you were listening to two vocalists.

The powerful guitar work of Kyle McKnight and Rich Howard draw you in and keep you entrapped as Jon Howards vocals coil around you like a Boa constricting you tighter and tighter. The music is intense, powerful and a stunning example of extreme metal.

It's hard to believe but they even have an anti-violence song called One Last Breath, where they are critical of violence in society and how it will affect us all.

All the song's are written by Kyle McKnigt, Jon Howard and occasionally with Rich Howard. The lyrics are to some extent what you would anticipate for a metal album.

The sound is reminiscent of Disturbed or even early Venom, yet even though it sounds familiar it does have it's own unique undertones and over all it does set itself aside as a new sound in a genre that is typically overly anticipatable. The acoustical ending to Counterbalance reminds one of Creed or Nickleback on their softer pieces.

All in all I would have to say that this album is something new and intriguing in a genre that has become stale. This album will not disappoint any metal head in your circle of friends. So give it a try.

(First Published in Imprint 200-11-03 as "Sonic Snippets - Music Reviews".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of 2006, December 20, 2006
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
This album has been blowing me away since I picked it up shortly after it came out. This album is KILLER!!! This album is my pick for album of the year, followed by All That Remains 'Fall of Ideals' and Killswitch Engage 'As Daylight Ends'. I love the combination of technical, brutal and beauty. I didn't expect anything like this from Canada. Well done boys, looking forward to the next one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Metal Album of the Year!!!, August 28, 2006
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
Under Reprisal is the best album I have purchased in the last 8- 12 months, period. I will start by reviewing each band member's performance and then do a song by song breakdown.

Jon Howard (Vox) Howard is a truely remarkable vocalist. I listen to a lot a death metal whose vocalist's couldn't touch this guy. Granted, he does not growl, but I feel that he is 10 times more intense then say Glen Benton from Diecide. Howard has a triple attack. His first, and most abundant is the midrange scream/yell. This borders on growling but most of the words remain clear and understandable. His second is the high throat-tearing scream. This he throws in at random times around the album. This is worth the price of the CD alone. Lastly, is his melodic/clean singing. The easiest way to describe this is to compare it to the singer for Mnemic on The Audio Injected Soul. It packs plenty of punch and emotion. Overall performance: 9/10

Kyle McKnight (Lead Guitar) McKnight is at the leading end of a new young breed of extremelly talented guitarists. But, unlike most of these, he knows how to play a lead and where and when a song needs one. Too many bands feel the need to put a guitar solo in every song, even if it does not need it. McKnight DOES NOT solo on every song, in fact, it is about half of them. When he does, though, the results are jaw-dropping! Sure, there are people who are faster than him (Dragonforce), but McKnight's leads pack so much emotion, passion, and skill that it should be held as an example to other bands that play leads in their songs. The first lead he plays (on the second track) is one of the most beautiful and awsome things I have ever heard from a guitar. Overall: 10/10

Rich Howard (Guitar)

Howard is a great guitarist. Sadly, he takes a background role to McKnight. On the good side, the riffs are fast, heavy, and technical. The more melodic passages are great too. Overall: 8/10

Marco Bressette (Bass)

Not much to say, other than you can hear the bass and it keeps up well with the great guitar Overall: 7/10

George Parfitt (Drums) Great stop and start beats. Fast and brutal! Overall: 8/10

Rational Eyes (8/10) Great opener! HUGE chorus!!!

As I Destruct (9/10) Good song, GREAT solo!

One Last Breath (8/10) Cool intro and overall good song

Seeing Red (8/10) Fast and heavy, great song

A New Beginning (8/10) More melodic, flows well

Counterbalance (10/10) Perfect song, solo, vocals, drums etc!

Inane (7/10) Decent song

Now (8/10)

Faceless (8/10)

Haunting (8/10) Cool chorus

When All Is Said And Done (8/10) Great sweep picking McKnight!

BUY THIS ALBUM if you like: Mnemic, Soilwork, In Flames, etc. It owns all!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great First Album, March 27, 2007
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
Sometimes you just have to pick up an album or a book and take a second look at it, this is such an album, the cover art grabbed my eyes and I had to see if the lyrics and music would be such a feast to the senses. This debut album exceeds all expectations.

Joh Howard produces an amazing range of vocals for a Metal album, the most incredible is his counter points on As I Destruct , here he sings counterpoint to each line, and you would swear you were listening to two vocalists.

The powerful guitar work of Kyle McKnight and Rich Howard draw you in and keep you entrapped as Jon Howards vocals coil around you like a Boa constricting you tighter and tighter. The music is intense, powerful and a stunning example of extreme metal.

It's hard to believe but they even have an anti-violence song called One Last Breath, where they are critical of violence in society and how it will affect us all.

All the song's are written by Kyle McKnigt, Jon Howard and occasionally with Rich Howard. The lyrics are to some extent what you would anticipate for a metal album.

The sound is reminiscent of Disturbed or even early Venom, yet even though it sounds familiar it does have it's own unique undertones and over all it does set itself aside as a new sound in a genre that is typically overly anticipatable. The acoustical ending to Counterbalance reminds one of Creed or Nickleback on their softer pieces.

All in all I would have to say that this album is something new and intriguing in a genre that has become stale. This album will not disappoint any metal head in your circle of friends. So give it a try.

(First Published in Imprint 200-11-03 as "Sonic Snippets - Music Reviews".)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Album!, October 11, 2007
By 
Stefano Stratakis (Davidsonville, Maryland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Under Reprisal (Audio CD)
This album is quite distinct from most heavy bands out there--they have a lot of skill and can create a unique sound. My only problem with some of the songs is that the band will break down into these really cool instrumental parts, but I feel as if they go nowhere. Other than that, there is some amazing guitar work, awesome beats, and the singer does some impressive vocals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Under Reprisal
Under Reprisal by Threat Signal (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.