Customer Reviews


64 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 1st hand experience
Very uplifting book highlighting the redemptive nature of Gods plan for the life of a young boy raised in the Hitler Youth Movement. It also offers an historical perspective on the days of Hitler-era Germany and the often overlooked fact that not all who were part of the elite German SS were there by their own accord. The book is historically accurate but also...
Published on August 10, 2006 by MT Professor

versus
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is, perhaps, a double edged sword.
I read the description as well as many of the reviews before I got this one so I was aware that the book would have a decided Christian bent to it. I don't normally read books in the Christian genre but I decided to give this one a try because of the WWII aspect.

The book is initially written from the perspective of young Traugott Vogel, son of a high ranking...
Published 11 months ago by POIA


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing 1st hand experience, August 10, 2006
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Hardcover)
Very uplifting book highlighting the redemptive nature of Gods plan for the life of a young boy raised in the Hitler Youth Movement. It also offers an historical perspective on the days of Hitler-era Germany and the often overlooked fact that not all who were part of the elite German SS were there by their own accord. The book is historically accurate but also entertaining - easy to read but hard to put down.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars It is, perhaps, a double edged sword., September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
I read the description as well as many of the reviews before I got this one so I was aware that the book would have a decided Christian bent to it. I don't normally read books in the Christian genre but I decided to give this one a try because of the WWII aspect.

The book is initially written from the perspective of young Traugott Vogel, son of a high ranking Nazi SS officer. It is interesting to read his recollections of being in the Hitler youth movement, his indoctrination into the Nazi mindset and his absolute belief that Hitler and Germany were doing the right thing. His hatred of the British and Americans is venomous, especially when he gets a first hand look at "Allied justice" in the form of bombing raids against Germany. It is apparent that the Nazi propaganda machine was working well up until just before the war ended. Hitler's Germany was killing people by the millions and being lauded as heroes by the German people for doing so, yet the Allies became the "bombing murderers" in Traugott's mind as the tides of war shifted. Luckily, after the occupation by American forces, the German people were treated with more respect than was perhaps deserved once the atrocities of the Nazi regime were uncovered. Although there was still hatred and animosity on both sides, the spirit of America reached out and touched this confused young man and led him from the dark to the light. Outstanding so far, right? Right.

The story goes on to expound on Traugott's conversion to Christianity, and from that point on I could take it or leave it. I imagine that as a testament to his belief that his conversion was miraculous, the book does what it was written to do. I read it cover to cover and I must say, I was far more interested in the insights into the German mindset of the time than I was in reading what amounted to career decisions as the book progressed.

For those of you looking for a fairly unique portrayal of the German mindset during WWII, this book will give you that and more. Those looking for an uplifting account of God working in strange and mysterious ways will enjoy this one as well. If, however, you are adamantly opposed to reading what amounts to a testimonial about one man's conversion to Christianity...perhaps this one isn't for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Eye opener, December 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
This is a book that covers history and the way God works in a persons life. Mr Vogel was very detailed in what life was like living in Germany during World WarII. I enjoyed reading about his life as a Hilter Youth and letting the reader know what it was like to be high rank in Hitler's army. But the best part was when Mr. Vogel realized his need for Jesus. What a testimony he had in that he had to overcome a lot of troubles and then know that Jesus was the only answer. I would recommend this book to anyone who enjoys history and seeing God work.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Trau Gott, August 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
Discovering the religious theme in this book was unexpected. Inspired and honest, this account adds a refreshing perspective to a dark chapter in history and how this man's faith led to his healing and subsequent path in life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful book, September 6, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Hardcover)
I am privilidged to actually know the author. War is a terrible thing, and Traugott brings the personal touches of how he overcomes bitter feelings to accept Christ and begin a life of service to the King!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars From the Son of Hitler's SS, April 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
I rate few books 5 stars, but when I picked this up as a historical biography, I was greatly surprised by the life of Traugott Vogel. From the glory of being the son of one of Hitler's elite to the shame of being the same, Mr.Vogel had lived through the best life had to the worst. With great admiration of his father, he came to some striking revelations in the leadership of Germany and in his own personal beliefs. We see his transition from a proud Hitler youth to a disillusioned deserter. Reunited with his family, he looks to a better future only to have it all taken away in a day. I liked this book so much that I researched the author to see if he was still available to speak. I was very disappointed to find that Mr. Vogel had passed away just months ago in 2014. A book to be read!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the SS Shadow, May 24, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
This is a true story by the son of a German SS officer during the Nazi attempt to dominate the world. It's very candid and amazing how he was rejected by his own people and turned to the hated Americans to find work in Germany shortly after the war. His life took a totally unexpected turn and he found true purpose. It is insightful into those times from a perspective one may not have ever considered from a 14 year old boy who lost everything but found more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars German viewpoiint, March 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
Germany viewpoint of the WW II. The hardships everyone faces & the prejudice that is just below the surface. The changes that only God can bring about.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under the SS Shadow. A Must read, April 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Hardcover)
I got this book as a free download for my kindle fire. I started it and couldn't put it down. Being of German decent it was hard to read in some places WWII from a German prospective, but learned that those people suffered as did all of Europe during that time. I have been to Germany twice and both times have been in braced by the German people. I would encourage all to read this book. The author is now 82 years all. Please read the book. You won't be disappointed.
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/0805472169/ref=cm_cr_rev_prod_img
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, July 4, 2014
By 
Eleanor B McCown (IRONTON, OHIO, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Under the SS Shadow (Kindle Edition)
Very Interesting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Under the SS Shadow
Under the SS Shadow by Shirley Stephens
$5.95
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.