Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (132)
4 star:
 (34)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (19)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film. Stanley Tucci plays a great loser!
I happened across this film on a cable network that will remain anonymous. I saw that Kathleen Turner and Dennis Quaid were in it, and it was a comedy, so I watched it. All I can say is....I laughed my butt off! I was shocked because I had never heard of this film. It must have been made and send directly to video, although that's no indication of it's quality.
"My...
Published on August 10, 2003 by chemikalguy

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Comedy is about Comedy"
This is a decent movie, made so much better by the tremendous cast and a director who obviously allowed them to be funny. Quaid is at his best (having fun) in this movie, and Turner provides a solid, steadying (perhaps maternal?) force.
(For a token review cliche, let me say) The real gold in this treasure, though, is found in so many surprise performances. Stanley...
Published on February 21, 2003 by capthollywood


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

39 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this film. Stanley Tucci plays a great loser!, August 10, 2003
This review is from: Undercover Blues (DVD)
I happened across this film on a cable network that will remain anonymous. I saw that Kathleen Turner and Dennis Quaid were in it, and it was a comedy, so I watched it. All I can say is....I laughed my butt off! I was shocked because I had never heard of this film. It must have been made and send directly to video, although that's no indication of it's quality.
"My name...is Muerte!" The supposedly streetwise thug played by Tucci says when he mugs his victims. Morty, as Quaid calls him, meets his match when he meets ex-CIA, ex-FBI agent Jeff (played by Quaid).
On vacation after the birth of their first child, Quaid and Turner go to New Orleans to enjoy some good food and music, but end up getting pulled back into service of the government when a terrorist organization is trying to buy up a lot of an experimental high explosive.
The action is good, and the comedy even better. There is no adult humor in this film, so it's suitable for even younger children, although the fight scenes might be a bit much for very young kids.
If you like any of the actors in this film, or just like comedy, you should pick this up, it's one of the best comedies out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Action comedy at its best., February 23, 2000
By 
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
What is the matter with the critics? They all say that Undercover Blues is trash, while in reality it is one of the best comedies ever! Despite all the bad reviews in the newspapaers I decided to give this movie a change and I ended up buying it. Turner and Quaid, obviously enjoying themselfs in their somewhat unusual roles display an unexpected talent for comedie and the movie has a better plot than one would expect. Now some fools may think that all comedy must be in Jim Carey style, but personally I much prefer the calmer, better organised style that Herbert Ross achieved here. Good camera work and a nice soundtrack help and a special award should have been reserved for Stanley Tucci as an imbecile assassin. A great movie for all the family.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, good fun, January 11, 2001
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Is this great art? Will this film be remembered in 100 years as one of the best works of cinematography of the 20th Century? Will Kathleen Turner and Dennis Quaid identify this as the high points of their careers? No, on all counts. On the other hand, is this good, solid fun? Is it suitable for all audiences? Does it have a high degree of rewatchability? Can you throw it in the VCR at any time and get some smiles, some laughs, and a giggle or two? Absolutely. This is a steal on VHS. So when's the DVD coming out?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of my All-Time Favorite Movies, July 21, 2000
By 
Jen Smith (Houston, TX USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"My name is Muerte!" "Nice to meet you Morty, my name is Jeff."
Somthing tells me that the Amazon Editorial Reviewer didn't pay much attention to this gem of a movie. For one thing, the baby is an 11 month old girl, not a year old boy. In fact, one of the running gags is the parents' inability to agree on a name for their precious daughter (Jane Louise or Louise Jane). The action is anything but formulaic. How often do we see a man holding a baby successfully defend himself against two knife-wielding muggers?
The cast is wonderful. Dennis and Kathleen are perfectly matched as quick-witted, devoted spouses. Their on-screen chemistry is delightful. Stanley Tucci's inspired performace is hilarious and scene-stealing. Tom Arnold turns in a funny and understated supporting part, and Larry Miller has quite a bit of fun as the bumbling Sgt. Halsey. Herbert Ross deserves a special Oscar for helming this movie!
There are few movies that I can watch over and over again and still adore. The Princess Pride, Pride & Prejudice, Speechless, and Undercover Blues top a very short list.
I've recommended Undercover Blues to all sorts of different people and every single person has adored it. Ignore the critics and see it for yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Mrs. Blue, do you have a comment?" "Not at this time...", July 23, 2002
By 
Jean (Lawrenceville, GA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
I think the unfortunate thing about Marshall Fine's review of this movie is that he didn't watch it closely enough to know that
the Blues' baby is a daughter, not a son. Perhaps he expected
High Cinema and instead got simply a good, funny movie. Dennis Quaid and Kathleen Turner have a wonderful chemistry as Jeff and Jane Blue, Fiona Shaw is perfect as the evil Novacek, Obba Babbatunde and Larry Miller are delightful as the hapless detectives, Park Overall and Tom Arnold are great as the "normal" couple, and Stanly Tucci absolutely steals every scene as Muerte ("as in Death") the would-be mugger. Park your brain at the door, grab the popcorn, kick back, and enjoy this little gem of a movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great entertainment -- top notch humor and action, February 13, 2001
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Watch "Undercover Blues" and meet an amiable husband and wife spy team (played by Turner and Quaid) who are on leave in New Orleans soon after the birth of their first child. Turner is a crack shot and master of disguise, and Quaid is, well, he's just a bit cracked. Along the way Quaid meets up with a local wanna-be bad guy (played by Tucci - the hidden jewel of the movie!) who calls himself "Muerte," and their paths continue to cross throughout the movie. The scenes with Muerte provide laugh-out loud comic relief. You'll love their first meeting -- including the knife fight.
Well, it's not long before Quaid and Turner are called back into service to take care of a potential international incident involving former eastern block intelligence agents and smuggled military secrets, among other things. This part of the story is pretty ho-hum, but Muerte keeps things hopping. You'll also enjoy the good old time that they have with the New Orleans Police! Great fun.
This movie is definitely worth 5-stars for fun, but other aspects of the storyline drop the overall score to around 4 stars.
My favorite line is when a police lt. says to Quaid, "You think you're smarter than us don't you!?"
Quaid responds, "Oh, not much."
Have a great day....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Comedy is about Comedy", February 21, 2003
By 
"capthollywood" (Santa Monica, CA United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undercover Blues (DVD)
This is a decent movie, made so much better by the tremendous cast and a director who obviously allowed them to be funny. Quaid is at his best (having fun) in this movie, and Turner provides a solid, steadying (perhaps maternal?) force.
(For a token review cliche, let me say) The real gold in this treasure, though, is found in so many surprise performances. Stanley Tucci (genuis) displays his versatility as a physical comedian, and his partner in crime is played by the very funny Dave Chappelle. It is hysterical to watch Tucci unravel throughout the movie in his growing frustration with the Blues.
Larry Miller is in his usual funny "character role" accept this one has a some sort of lisping, old aristocratic southern drawl. Tom Arnold is his usual numbskull self playing the more hyper half of a couple who is staying in the same hotel as the Blues.
This movie will be fun for anybody at any age, and it is one that - for the price - nobody would be ashamed to have in their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undercover Sleeper, December 20, 2002
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Marshall Fine's blatant bashing of this movie is snobbery at its best. This movie you will notice from all the REAL people show it to be a entertaining romp with Dennis Quaid, Kathleen Turner, and Stanley Tucci at their best. If Quaid beating the tar out of Tucci with a baby stroller doesn't make you laugh, then the reparte between Quaid and Turner or the inept often funny remarks by Obba Babbatunde and Larry Miller should.

My wife and I love this movie and wish they had done a sequel to it. If you like movies like "True Lies", "The In-Laws", or any other comedy spy movie that includes funny family relations you will enjoy this movie. It is definitely a few notches above "Spy Kids" for adults but even kids should enjoy it.

The DVD quality is excellent. Picture and sound are sharp. Anyone that likes comedies should add this to their collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Comedy & Action Can't Get Any Better, June 26, 2001
By 
"katarn007" (Minneapolis, MN United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
...
Most movies these days find themselves stuck in a single genre. Action films are one explosion and gun fight after another. Comedies are becoming dry with many punch lines, but a lack of setup. I'm sorry but it seems like Hollywood is running out of ideas...
"Undercover Blues" is a espionage comedy like no other. It blends action and adventure with the class and wit of a truly great comedy. Kathleen Turner and Dennis Quaid (Jane and Jeff Blue) are a hilariously unstoppable duo trying to stop an eccentric international criminal mastermind and recover the world's most dangerous plastic explosives, C-22. While at the same time, trying to raise their year old daughter.
Along with the couple's wit and charm, Stanley Tucci plays a "feared" street thug who is constantly stopped by the Blues with little effort and plenty of laughs.
"Undercover Blues" may not be the greatest film of all time, but it is a fantastically fun movie, and defiantly a great film to own and treasure for years to come.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Critics Wrong, Viewers Right, December 2, 1999
This review is from: Undercover Blues [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Once again as with so many others the critics have tried to downplay a wonderfull film that the entire family can enjoy again and again. Dennis Quaid and Kathleen Turner have a natural chemistry together and the cast of characters left me wishing that they would make a sequal. In my opinion this is a value added addition to anyones collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Undercover Blues
Undercover Blues by Herbert Ross (DVD - 2003)
Used & New from: $77.59
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.