Automotive Deals BOTYSFKT Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Look Park Fire TV Stick Health, Household and Grocery Back to School Ruby jewelry Amazon Cash Back Offer harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1 harmonquest_s1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Format: Paperback|Change
Price:$115.64+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 29, 2012
The book is a recommended text for a Coursera on-line class on logic. Some bits are quite good, some are confusing and some are just impenetrable.

My biggest complaint, though, is about the exercises provided. There are no answers in the book so you have no idea whether you have done the exercises correctly and, as a consequence, learn nothing from them. I found the book a waste of a considerable amount of money.
33 comments| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 13, 2014
This text furthers the tradition of philosophy professors to take complex ideas and make them more complex and obfuscated. Reading it is like revisiting my old upper-division classes and the old drowsiness returns.

The lack of answers to the quizzes shows disdain for the reader, assumed to be a captive college student. If you're reading it for knowledge, there are clearer, better books all around us. If it's for the Coursera course, there are clearer, better books all around us. But if must have it, read on.

Don't bother to buy it, you'll never read it more than once if that. Rent it just for the duration of the class if you really want it. Even then you'll be getting ripped off. The prices are typical student-rip-off prices... if it weren't a so-called "text book" it would sell for less than $20. But even if the teacher doesn't require it, he can "suggest" it and people will buy it thinking it'll help them get through the course. It might, but only if he quizzes specifically for it.

Finally, if you really want to buy this book, I'd suggest you look for the "Concise Edition" here on Amazon. It's the latest edition and sells for about $32, less than 1/3 the cost of the non-concise edition (the bloated, expensive edition). It has fewer bells and whistles, but has more than you'll need.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 29, 2010
If you are fond of calculating the value of a book by the number of memes you get per dollar, then this book is a good value. However, I wonder if the text hasn't become a bit bloated after 8 editions. There is material covered lightly here that is the subject of entire separate books, yet no indication is given that a superficial treatment is being provided (for example, material from linguistics and decision theory). The material that is provided is generally described well - the explanations are clear and there are sufficient examples to fix concepts.
0Comment| 21 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 30, 2013
The kindle version of this book is missing symbols for THEREFOR and OR. Minor issue for me, others may have more problems with it. Besides the improper rendering issue, I felt the book was somewhat shallow and topics were not described very well. The book also does not contain any form of answer key. So you get a lot of questions/problems to work, which is nice, but there are zero answers for them. Also they do not tie everything directly back into understanding arguments. By this I mean taking an op-ed or related material and deconstructing it using everything learned. The only time this is somewhat done is within the first three chapters before learning about deductive and inductive logic.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 21, 2012
This textbook and video course (on Coursera.org) have been quite informative and mentally stimulating. I had never considered carefully "dissecting" an argument to assess its validity. Neither had I realized the whole point of the exercise was to make a person's argument look its best, not worst! Thus far, the textbook and course have shown me how to excise unnecessary verbiage, red herrings, tangents and the like, until the conclusion is exposed as valid or invalid.
11 comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 13, 2013
I am currently on week 11 in the online course associated with this book and I plan to buy a non-pirated physical version of this book for reference purposes once the price becomes reasonable. I have learned quite a lot even though this is the 3rd logic/reasoning course that I have taken. This book is a great start for any logically journey :-)
11 comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 29, 2008
I used "Understanding Arguments" for a logic course in my undergrad (08) and it is an excellent book for beginning logic. The kind of foundation this book offers is crucial to enhance one's reading and comprehension ability. The skills focused on here apply to more then just the dissecting of philosophical arguments, they will enhance one's understanding in and out of many other classrooms as well.
0Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 15, 2013
Understanding Arguments was the set textbook for my first-year informal logic class. I found it extremely readable and superbly engaging. There is an abundance of examples for all the concepts explained in the book. The chapters "Moral reasoning", "Legal reasoning" and "Religious reasoning" are absolutely excellent. High recommended book.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 1, 2014
Not only is formal logic a little difficult for anyone who is unfamiliar, I felt as though this book was a bit round-about in it's approach. One glaring problem: if you are trying to/required to learn about Truth tables, this book was awful with their explanations of how those work. The rest of the book was pretty decent, but their approach to teaching Truth Tables is ghastly.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 4, 2013
Excellent textbook that accompanies an outstanding MOOC course in thinking and reasoning that provides a good insight in argumentation. It would have been good to access (on-line?) to the solutions of the book's exercises.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse