Customer Reviews


18 Reviews
5 star:
 (17)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Education is for Life".., November 20, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
No one,after reading this book, could possibly look at Autism the same!
Over 250pages of answers to so many things parents,professionals,and others connected to Autism have sought for so long to understand. Through understanding Autism we all can learn how to best support and advocate for those we love who live on the Autism Spectrum.

Education is imperative and has been denied to the Autism community for far to long. Soma Mukhopadyay's "Rapid Prompting Method"is a key that has "unlocked" the potential for hundreds of individuals.

Visit [...] (Helping Autism Through learning & Outreach)to learn more about Soma's RPM.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last!!, November 18, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
Where do you begin to review a book that opens the world to a child? What can you say to improve on light reflecting on dark? Soma is an inspiration and it's only through her belief in all of us that this manual has come to pass. "YOU can do it!"...I hear her in my little ears, and now my most visual learning style is satisfied by seeing her words in print. I cannot thank her enough for writing this nor can I encourage the whole of the world enough to envelope their ears and eyes around it. Five stars!
Trina Sherman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly Revolutionary!, November 8, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
A fabulous book that explains in detail how to teach children/students with autism. Soma's Rapid Prompting Method has changed my son's life! I am thrilled that this book can be put into the hands of so many parents and teachers around the world.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Have!!!, December 5, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
Soma has worked and helped so many of our children that have autism. This manual explains RPM. It not only explains how to do RPM but also what RPM is and why it works. Soma and RPM have helped my son in so many ways. It has given us HOPE!! I am so excited that a manual is now availiable. It is filled with insights and examples. It is a must have for parents or anyone working with children on the autism spectrum.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Can't put down, November 26, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
What a fabulous book! Never has Autism been explained so well and understandable! Soma's method is educational for anyone who has a child with autism or works with people with disabilities. If you want to know a true warrior mother she is it. If you work with a person with severe autism this method will completely change how you view and work with them. Thank you Soma!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic Resource, November 17, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
RPM is an innovative teaching method that allows individuals with severe autism to access an academic education. This user-friendly manual details the systematic progression of RPM and provides practical, concrete steps on how to individualize teaching. It includes sample lesson plans, including one on self-help skills, steps towards handwriting and photos of low tech devices used in RPM sessions. As a parent of a child with severe autism, I highly appreciate the author's view that people with autism have minds to be cultivated: RPM has provided the means to do so.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The key to learning and communication, November 16, 2008
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
Soma's much anticipated manual does not let the reader down in it's content. It is inclusive of the "why" (scientific background) and the "how" (implementation) of RPM. Educators and parents alike will benefit from the manual, and see the difference RPM makes in the lives of autistic persons. I especially liked all the case examples included, which highlight Soma's dedication and vast experience working with hundreds of austistic individuals.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful book!!, January 20, 2009
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
I have bought 10 copies of this masterful book - for me, my family, some friends and professionals. It truly is "understanding autism." Soma "carefully observed other children -- what they did versus what (her son) Tito did so differently". And, in her tireless efforts to educate him, her RPM developed, for Tito and for others. My 18 year old son with autism saw Soma in her clinic last month. He was able to express his original thoughts in complete sentences for the first time. One of the first things he said (pointing to a stencil letterboard to spell words using RPM) was directed to Soma "Why are you different?" Later he clarified, "It is easy" (to communicate using RPM).
In Soma's acknowledgments, she writes to all of us "dear readers, I must caution you .. certain chapters may get boring. I wish they were as exciting as a thriller, but the problem with these 'how to' books are that they are very tedious." Well - it was a thriller and exciting to me! The clearly explained details were simply engaging. The progression of the book was well laid out and clear. And Soma's respect for those with autism and her commitment to her very unselfish work, had me tearful with her occasional compassionate statements like "His (Tito's) wants are within my means to fulfill" and "A mind is a terrible thing to waste."
I am forever grateful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last! The book about RPM that we've been waiting for..., November 9, 2008
By 
Mary Brown (San Marino, CA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
This book offers both a theoretical and practical overview of Soma's Rapid Prompting Method. RPM provides a way to educate and communicate with students that have been left behind because of their autistic challenges. The book is full of 'a-ha!' moments, where parents and educators will experience significant insights about their students with autism. It is a must for parents and teachers, to help us all understand why our kids with autism are the way they are, and how we can best teach them and reach them.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars HOW TO EDUCATE AND COMMUNICATE WITH AN AUTISTIC, January 11, 2009
By 
This review is from: Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method (Paperback)
RPM IS A WAY TO REACH INTO THE INNER WORLD OF THE AUTISTIC. USING THIS METHOD ALLOWS THE AUTISTIC TO COMMUNICATE WANTS, NEEDS, FEELINGS. RPM BRINGS TEACHING AND LEARNING TO AN AGE APPROPRIATE LEVEL. IF YOU ARE LOOKING FOR A METHOD TO TEACH AND/OR COMMUNICATE WITH AN AUTISTIC, THIS IS IT. RPM WORKS BECAUSE IT ADDRESSES SENSORY INTEGRATION ISSUES. I JUST WISH THAT WE HAD FOUND THIS SOONER. THIS METHOD IS LIFE CHANGING. WRITTEN BY THE PARENT OF AN AUTISTIC CHILD
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method
Understanding Autism through Rapid Prompting Method by Soma Mukhopadhyay (Paperback - October 20, 2008)
$39.95 $37.95
Usually ships in 1 to 3 weeks
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.