Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Shop Women's Clothing Learn more Discover it $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 5, 2013
As an MD/JD student who was already interested in health policy and advocacy for reform, this book was a terrifically concise and comprehensive look at US Health Policy. It reminded me of much of what I already had learned from following the news and other sources, and introduced me to a plethora of knowledge based in historical and current policy. The organization of the book is superb, making what is a daunting and challenging subject easier to understand by approaching discrete topics while interlacing themes of financing, delivery, and political interests throughout the book. The patient and provider vignettes situated before each section don't seem contrived and provide a good perspective of how policy can affect everyday actors in the health system. The book presents multiple perspectives on health policy, and tells the hard truths when evaluating each, not shying away from criticizing the effects of profit-driven entities in the health care system while still remaining objective compared to many other voices for health reform. The chapter outlining the ways Canada, the UK, Germany, and Japan provide universal insurance coverage was also eye-opening, and should be required reading for anyone holding an opinion about how we should reform the US system. If you are someone who works in health care, has frequent encounters with the medical system, or has the capacity to influence how the system is run, read this book!
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 1, 2013
A comprehensive yet readable review of the U.S. healthcare system, and of the various policies that have been implemented and proposed to solve its problems. This is a textbook, and reads like one, though it is definitely more readable that most. Given the complexity of the subject, however, a clearly organized, carefully documented approach is probably a good thing. The authors cover all the bases, they are very clear, and they do not show any overt bias. (All readers might not agree with this: an extensive totting up of the results of our market oriented system does suggest that there is perhaps a better way). Very, very useful to this general reader who simply wanted to improve her understanding of the system.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 21, 2014
BRAVO. I have been teaching courses in health care administration for over twenty years and have to say that this is the best text I have found that clearly explains America's complex health care system. Because media coverage of health care policy is superficial, most Americans don't understand how our health care system works, such as why health care is so costly to deliver, why all Americans don't have access to care, or why America falls behind other countries on a number of clinical indicators. Therefore, in addition to its target audience of students majoring in health related fields, this is an excellent book for anyone wanting to understand our health care system.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2012
Vert informative and up to date. Used it for a Policy & Politics of Healthcare class. Easy to understand. Covered all aspects of healthcare system from top to bottom, and explained the policies behind them. I decided to buy, instead of renting because it seemed like a good book to have around for future classes in both the public health and health policy areas in which I am focusing on.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 18, 2013
Very simple, straight forward, and clear ideas and absolutely packed with information. The best comprehensive book about health policy I have ever read. I highly recommend it as a text and reference.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 9, 2013
The book tries to explain, though not necessarily support, a theory of "supplier-induced-demand" or that supply generates demand in the healthcare industry. ( It's at the end of Chapter 9.) I guess it says that once a promising diagnostic or prosthetic is available, many suffering people will want to benefit from it right away. Therefore, it follows that deliberately limiting the supply of breakthrough medical devices lengthens the patient waiting lines for it, discourages its use, and keeps costs down. It makes me wonder if the ACA tax on the MRI scanner is intended not only to raise revenue but to deliberately make the miracle device scarce and limit its use; that is, save money by lowering standards. Intentional or not, this is what is happening in Canada. It may sound cruel but many argue that this brute force approach does not significantly affect patient outcomes. Many of us are going to be shocked by techniques used by socialized medicine.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 25, 2014
I don't usually write reviews, but I had to for this book. This book gives you a great, basic, "bare-bones" understanding of how healthcare works in the USA. It also discusses the systems of other countries and how they work. If you are on the fence about buying it- don't be- it will not disappoint you.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 3, 2013
The authors speak from a broad range of experience. Excellent text. Surprisingly this is a very readable book. From someone who was not looking forward to this class, I have to say this book has made it one of my favorites.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 8, 2015
Absolutely brilliant!
Mandatory reading for all physician. It covers all aspects of public healthcare, insurance, Triple Aim, etc. It is even more relevant now after the ACA.
Ali Bassiri, MD
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 9, 2013
I really like this book as it has case studies within the chapters to give examples. Easy to follow and not so dry like some other political reads!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse