Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (8)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect insight
I had a friend who was suffering panic attacks (and still is). I sought out this book as the doctor told him to phone a counsellor. However the counsellor lost touch with my friend so I turned to this book. It gave a clear description on panic attack states and situations, which we in turn were able to treat purely on the information within this book alone.
It's like...
Published on January 28, 2012 by K. Hedges

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic information
While book this contains a lot of good information for the newly diagnosed, l didn't really learn anything new here. Most of what the author suggests sounds like good solid advice, although I cannot comment on the herbal supplements she recommends, as I have little experience in that area. The author at times talked about "curing" panic attacks. I'm not sure that there...
Published 7 months ago by L G


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A perfect insight, January 28, 2012
I had a friend who was suffering panic attacks (and still is). I sought out this book as the doctor told him to phone a counsellor. However the counsellor lost touch with my friend so I turned to this book. It gave a clear description on panic attack states and situations, which we in turn were able to treat purely on the information within this book alone.
It's like a trip to the counsellor and psychiatrist all in one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A nightmare relieved in this well written guide, January 28, 2012
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
I have had a number of friends who claim to be down and depressed and want some advice. They never seem to know who to turn to. I read this book and found some classic examples of situations where my friend was at.
During the coming weeks I got him to read this book and he tells me, in no uncertain terms, that the panic attacks he suffered have reduced by around 90 percent. It's a good read as it does give tips on overcoming the attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Much Needed Self-Help Book, March 15, 2012
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
"Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks" is a much needed self-help book and definitely worth the read. Anxiety and panic attacks are the kinds of challenges which we understand little about. Doctors as well as laypeople are too quick to dismiss real issues or overly label people without properly understanding what causes these conditions or how to best cope with them. What I enjoyed about this book was that it put the emphasis on the patient and the patient's doctors above the doctor and their methodologies. Doctors can sometimes be helpful but often times frustrating for the person struggling with these disorders, who needs access to the right information. This is something I greatly appreciated about this book. The authors are more interested in arming their readers with knowledge rather than pushing them in one direction, as too often happens in the medical world. This book is a great start for those who are seeking answers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Self Help Book!, March 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
Having suffered from panic attacks for some years doctors couldnt provide much help and I felt written off. This book has really helped me to get to grips with the condition and use techniques to counter act the problem. Although not a cure there are some very well written, clear concise aids to help with this horrible condition.

Id highly recommend this book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Felt more calm and self-assured after reading, March 13, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
If you suffer from panic attacks or anxiety this is the book for you. Well laid out, easy to read and well written. The techniques and help in this book will help all ages who suffer from these conditions particularly panic attacks. Panic attacks are not easily overcome, but this book will help you, it talks sense and helps you to understand what a panic attack actually is, what your body is doing and why. It is very enlightening and helps put you in charge and on the road to recovery. It is a journey, but the author makes it an understandable journey and a likable journey with results at the end. I highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Helpful, December 2, 2013
By 
Cap'n Kimbo (Memphis, TX United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
Thank you for sharing! As a mom of an adult son with this, it was helpful to understand the thoughts going on behind the scenes. Thank you for educating me and giving me the empathy to those around me suffering.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Complete information in just one book..., September 19, 2013
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
What makes this different from other self-help books I've read so far is that it was like having an entire library of information about anxiety, panic attacks and phobias compressed in just a single book. The truth about these issues was clearly discussed and itemized in each chapter and for a person suffering from this disorder; this book is truly a gold mine. Although this is not written by a medical practitioner it held contents that discusses anxiety based on personal experiences which is far more effective for me.

Most of us don't know how to determine anxiety as it happens. They assume that they just worry too much and they don't need any help to overcome it. This book explains in detail what to expect, how to handle it and overcome it at your best. This is not only for those people experiencing it but for their family as well and how much they can help with the process.

I would highly recommend this to everyone, even if you don't suffer from anxiety or panic attacks because you'll never know when you would actually need it and be a great help to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clear and well written book on Anxiety and Panic Attacks., September 12, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
It makes a big difference when an author actually goes through the same anxiety and panic attacks that troubles so many people around the world. The author is able to emphatize with readers suffering from the panic attacks and tackles the issues of overcoming it in a way that speaks to the heart. Different types anxiety disorders are discussed - what causes them, self-tests that you can do yourselves and ways of overcoming them - medication, therapy, nutrition, and much more. A must read for anyone suffering from anxiety and panic attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderfully Practical Guide That ALL Should Own!, August 31, 2013
By 
James (KINGMAN, AZ, United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
There are a handful of books that every household should have and this is one of them. Why? Because more than being an extensive, yet easily accessible, guide to anxiety and panic attacks, it's a wonderful guide to emotional self care... something that a vast majority of people are lacking in.

The authors, Raymond LeBlanc and Julie Stevenson, have created a very easy to understand, yet incredibly comprehensive book that concerns itself with a very common occurrence in today's harried Western lifestyle. The authors set about informing the reader by personal example... as one of them dealt with fairly severe anxiety and panic attacks. In this a lot was learned and it's obvious that the subject is one of which both authors are very knowledgeable.

A reasonable amount of this book is dedicated to emotional self care and emotional health in a manner which will help anyone who deals with stress in their life... kinda sounds like most of us. This is why I believe that this is one of those eBooks that EVERYONE should have and refer to on a regular basis. I know that I will!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Basic information, August 29, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding and Overcoming Anxiety and Panic Attacks. A Guide for You and Your Caregiver. (Kindle Edition)
While book this contains a lot of good information for the newly diagnosed, l didn't really learn anything new here. Most of what the author suggests sounds like good solid advice, although I cannot comment on the herbal supplements she recommends, as I have little experience in that area. The author at times talked about "curing" panic attacks. I'm not sure that there is an actual cure offered here, but certainly a lot of good tips on managing anxiety and panic attacks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa42e9e1c)

This product

Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.