Customer Reviews


24 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (8)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent primer on the conflict
This book is an excellent primer to understanding the Israel-Palestine conflict through an international law perspective. The book is in a Questions & Answers format which allows readers to quickly find out answers to questions about the conflict without having the navigate through a lot of material. The only drawback to this primer is in its previous edition it had a...
Published on May 15, 2007 by Edgar Hopida

versus
11 of 18 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A good primer, but clearly one-sided
I'm in a constant search for an unbiased book about the Israeli/Palestinian conflict. This book is not it. While I admit that I tend to favor the Palestinian side more so than the Israelis, this book is annoyingly biased towards the former. If you are looking for a good introduction to the conflict, this is a possible starting place, but take it with a grain of salt and...
Published on December 29, 2011 by The_Young_Contrarian


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 43 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An excellent primer on the conflict, May 15, 2007
By 
Edgar Hopida (San Diego, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
This book is an excellent primer to understanding the Israel-Palestine conflict through an international law perspective. The book is in a Questions & Answers format which allows readers to quickly find out answers to questions about the conflict without having the navigate through a lot of material. The only drawback to this primer is in its previous edition it had a recommended reading list and websites. I hope in the next edition they will include that again into the book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


47 of 58 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A lopsided argument for a lopsided conflict., June 26, 2007
By 
M. Hand (Baltimore, MD) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
This primer filled gaps in my historical knowledge of the region, particulary the various Summits and Accords. Having lived with both a Palestinian and a Jordanian in college, I am familiar with the "other side of the story," which is difficult to come by even in the college classroom. We in the USA are so insulated to the reality of the conflict that it blows my mind. The PR/Psyops disinformation campaign waged against the American people by the media, acadamia, and the government concerning this coflict is nothing short of extraordinary. The only way to become truely informed about this issue, is to either visit the Occupied Territories, or read a book like this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


28 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perfect Primer and not biased at all, at most biased towards human rights org's, May 23, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
This book answers all the questions from a humanitarian and historical perspective. Easy Q & A format. She criticizes both sides where criticism is due. Since most power, control and action is in the hands of the Israelis and they are always going againt Int'l law and norms it may seem biased against Israel. It's not. It's just stating the facts. We have to learn to accept and deal with this. I went to an orthodox Jewish school, had a bar mitzvah and am very proud of my Jewish heritage. But the modern state of Israel doesnt represent my heritage at all. It's a political state.
Must Read!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 35 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great insight., April 11, 2007
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
An insightful book giving a history of this terrible conflict. A must for those wishing to learn more about the causes of of todays proplems in the region. The facts in this book will not make many Zionists happy as it explains how Israel needs to keep the conflict in operation to reach it's ultimate target, THE COMPLETE TAKEOVER OF THE PALESTINIAN TERRITORIES.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, July 5, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I found it to be extremely informative. The question and answer format also makes it easy to return to a particular section/topic with ease.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Honest look at Palestinian-Israeli conflict., December 28, 2007
By 
J. Dugan (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
This book is a concise, honest explanation of the Palestinian-Israeli conflict from the beginning to the present. This conflict is complex and misunderstood. This book cuts through the rhetoric and presents the issues in an unbiased manner. Read this book and then decide if the US policy regarding this issue is one that you can support.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Book, April 16, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
Required reading for my college history class. It was very interesting to read. I really loved the question and answer form because the questions are real and they are asked all the time. Great book really good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A vital perspective, December 8, 2007
By 
Baern (Austin, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
Ok, this book may not be the most "neutral" source of information regarding the Israeli-Palestinian conflict, but it is nonetheless a source of vital information that is far too often neglected by Americans. Most voices in the U.S. are either unmercifully pro-Israel, or muddled in a weak sense of neutrality that is afraid of making any strong statements.

I found the format of this book extremely helpful. It's very easy to navigate, and its language is clear and simple.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The truth, plain and simple., February 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
This was an excellent read. It answers questions very matter-of-factly and to the point.

What some of the folks giving it low stars are complaining about is that it tells the ugly truth about Israel. You can't believe that a country that has violated, and continues to violate, UN mandates and international law, is above reproach or criticism. They are abusing people, and those people have rights.

This book is not that expensive. I invite anyone who wants a balanced, honest, description of the problem to read this and judge for themselves. Although this is only one book, and a primer, there are many more books out there to help clear this messy situation up among readers. Don't be misled by those following age old mythology, or superstitions. Think rationally and accept the fact that there are no innocents here, but one is more gulity than the other. Read this book and see who that is for yourself, and why they are what they are.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Clarifies a difficult topic, July 30, 2007
By 
This review is from: Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer (Paperback)
This short and easy to read book clears away much of the intentional confusion and misunderstanding created by AIPAC and Hamas propaganda.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer
Understanding the Palestinian-Israeli Conflict: A Primer by Phyllis Bennis (Paperback - March 1, 2012)
$12.00 $9.73
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.