Customer Reviews


22 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware ! This is an advanced study...
I have studied the standard quantum mechanics by myself at some undergraduate level or may be somewhat above it. Yet this short book is far beyond it. Thus the readers should be warned beforehand about its level. Actually this is not a text book but rather a research paper where the author tries to present his ideas about the very foundations of the subject. Better to...
Published on April 11, 2012 by Yüksel Domanıç

versus
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed
Although I have 2 academic doctoral degrees (neither of them in physics or math), This book is way over my head. I can't really critique the book, because I don't understand it.

I wish I did, but if you aren't a physicist, this book will be difficult to read and comprehend.
Published 19 months ago by Gerry in the Villages


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 54 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beware ! This is an advanced study..., April 11, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
I have studied the standard quantum mechanics by myself at some undergraduate level or may be somewhat above it. Yet this short book is far beyond it. Thus the readers should be warned beforehand about its level. Actually this is not a text book but rather a research paper where the author tries to present his ideas about the very foundations of the subject. Better to classify it as being about the interpretation of quantum mechanics. His ideas are quite original indeed, and seem to lead to a much better understanding of the subject. If brought in the form of a text book fully digestible after a conventional course it could lead to a far better understanding of the matter. It would be more and more appreciated if he could prepare a basic text book to teach quantum mechanics from the start based on his original and quite deep ideas and derivations. His derivation of Schroedinger equation and arguments about non linear quantum mechanics, meaning of wave function, wave collapse, quantum motion, conservation of energy & momentum etc. are striking and deep going indeed. But unfortunately they are somewhat beyond the conventional undergraduate level to digest fully and be followed exactly in this exceedingly summary form. If one could be patient and is qualified enough to fill all the gaps and glossed over definitions and concepts after repeated readings, then this would be a fantastic leap in her or his understanding and mastering of this basic and most important subject.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Advanced Guide - highly recommended, May 25, 2012
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
This is an excellent book but I would not recommend it for the layperson or beginner. It is what it is says, "An Advanced Guide." It does address fundamental issues, but those with no grasp of physics will most surely be left at a loss. If you do have a strong background in physics, you will find this the most wonderful, useful book. I cannot recommend it highly enough. I am now keen to find more books by this brilliant theoretical physicist.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple AND advanced?, July 30, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
Not as simple as Shan Gao suggests, but an excellent read nevertheless. But, who really, rerally understands this stuff anyway. If you say you do, you don't.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars advanced it is, May 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
Don't think this is a easy read... author takes one on a trip that requires a substantial background in quantum theory.. and suggests interpretations outside many traditional routes. If you are really into this subject, this is a must read, whether you think the counter views are substantiated or not.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Quantum Mechanics, a Synopsis, October 1, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
Very excellent book containing specific detail on Quantum Mechanics, including development of detailed equations which are usually left out on most books at this level on Quantum Mechanics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Advancedguideretired review, September 26, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
The brilliant text delivers exactly what the self explanatory title reveals; this concise volume takes on a difficult task and succeeds admirably! My admiration and respect to professor shan; the reader will invest their time reading his textefficiently and will be well rewarded for their time invested in learning from this "guide" enjoy and be educated!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars FINALLY Complex Equations that WORK on Kindle!, March 9, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
If you only want to spend $3 US on this little gem, be advised that the Kindle edition and PC/cloud versions work admirably well on e-readers! This is a revelation, because many if most do not, as you likely know.

That said, the equations are partial differential equations and even more advanced stochastic double sums, double integrals, etc. so if you aren't at grad level math, you might find this very difficult reading even with the excellent inline and separate handling of equations. Just wanted to let you know that Kindle works great for this particular title.

By the way, some folks have praised or panned the author's courage in stating his spiritual beliefs, and have also asked for some more basic info. Both are available in the title quoted in the preface, also inexpensive on Kindle, here: God Does Play Dice with the Universe. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed, July 29, 2013
By 
Gerry in the Villages (the villages, FL, US) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
Although I have 2 academic doctoral degrees (neither of them in physics or math), This book is way over my head. I can't really critique the book, because I don't understand it.

I wish I did, but if you aren't a physicist, this book will be difficult to read and comprehend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A useful presentation for well qualified readers … not for neophytes!, August 31, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
I am not a post doc quantum physicist, so I am not well qualified to critique this book. I am a "quantum Physics dilettante", if there is such a being!

The book is a tough read for me (I have a Doctorate in Engineering, not Quantum Physics), but I find the book's organization and subject treatment to be orderly and understandable. I am not qualified to express an opinion on the editorial accuracy, but I am enjoying the read … even though I am finding it to be a rather slow slog.

Could this book serve as an introduction to Quantum Physics? Well, maybe, depending on the reader's background. If you have a background more nor less similar to mine, I think you will find this book will raise many questions that can serve as outlines for further self study.

For the right self motivated reader, I think the book will be a "plus", but if the reader's education stopped with High School Physics, well, I think you will find your background too thin to appreciate this work. On the other hand, if you have completed a course in quantum physics at the graduate or post doc level, I think you will find this work useful. The quality of writing and presentation is very good.

The title is somewhat misleading: the book is not an introduction to quantum physics, but rather a sort status report on the front lines of modern quantum physics ,,,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you are into this sort of thing, this book is good fun., July 28, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Quantum Physics: An Advanced Guide for the Perplexed (Kindle Edition)
OK, I read it and I still don't understand Quantum Physics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.