Customer Reviews


57 Reviews
5 star:
 (46)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


168 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!
I just received a copy of Scott Hahn's "Understanding the Scriptures: A Complete Course on Bible Study." This is an incredible book! It's hardcover, 9 x 11 inches, 548 pages, full color (BEAUTIFUL) art masterpieces and photographs, maps, charts, timelines; and an attached ribbon bookmark (a nice touch) FOR ONLY $40.

After Hahn discusses what the Bible is,...
Published on May 18, 2005 by Marie Lincoln

versus
7 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Weighty in both senses of the word
My biggest complaint regarding this book is it's size. That may sound picky but I always question a Bible study book that doesn't leave room for the Bible on your desk. Yes, the volume has a spacious layout, wonderful color illustrations to catch one's eye, topics divided into very logical units that don't tax the attention span - all of which results in a large heavy...
Published on January 26, 2011 by M. J. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

168 of 170 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Incredible!, May 18, 2005
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
I just received a copy of Scott Hahn's "Understanding the Scriptures: A Complete Course on Bible Study." This is an incredible book! It's hardcover, 9 x 11 inches, 548 pages, full color (BEAUTIFUL) art masterpieces and photographs, maps, charts, timelines; and an attached ribbon bookmark (a nice touch) FOR ONLY $40.

After Hahn discusses what the Bible is, divine inspiration, salvation history, covenant, the canon, inerrancy, etc., he launches into a chronological study of the Bible. Study aids include supplementary reading, study questions, vocabulary, and practical exercises; quotations from the Catechism of the Catholic Church pepper the entire book.

The text employs typology and other exegetical tools throughout, and highlights the Bible's overarching theme of Covenant. It's all written in Hahn's inimitable and utterly engaging style. Lots of "Oh, wow, how cool" moments (if "cool" is appropriate in this context).

The book is part of the Didache Series, developed for "high school and adult education, RCIA, catechism classes, and home schooling."

Well. I could go on and on. I'll stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


52 of 53 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Top of Its Class, May 26, 2006
By 
Carson Weber (Sacramento, California) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
As the director of adult faith formation at a Catholic parish, I am using this text in tandem with the Bible as the textbook for a 9-month course on the Bible (30 classes, one class per chapter in this book). Our adults are devouring the material and *absolutely love* the content, layout, font, sacred art, diagrams, and beautiful photographs, which make this book such a fabulous resource for any student of the Bible.

I wholly recommend this text to all high school classrooms as well as to all parishes and organizations that wish to facilitate a complete course on the Sacred Scriptures in order to give the student a Catholic Scriptural worldview and an overview, a framework, by which one may understand Salvation History as mediated by the Bible.

Also, if you simply want to learn the Bible in the privacy of your own home - perhaps with your spouse or a friend - you should acquire a copy for yourself and read through it (perhaps one chapter per week). The chapters are short, easy-to-read, and full of amazing information.

If sitting on your coffee table, the textbook looks enticing, and I guarantee, from personal experience that visitors will open it up and start flipping through the pages to view the eye-catching, colorful pages. Then, you'll hear the question, "Where did you get this?? How can I get my hands on one?"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


38 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wow!!! I can't believe this!!!, December 10, 2006
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
Honestly, this is the single most incredible Scripture textbook for High School aged students that I have ever seen in my life.

I was first made aware of this series about a month ago, when I learned that a local Catholic High School had chosen to use one of the titles. One of my closest friends, the theology teacher at my son's High School, then ordered the entire series.

As a professional theologian -- and as a professional educator -- I can only sit back and be amazed. This is simply the BEST one-volume introduction to Scripture that I have ever seen. It is faithful to the text, without denying the contributions of higher criticism. It is faithful to the Teaching of the Church. It is brilliantly illustrated and laid out. As someone who examines texts for a living -- it simply blew me away. I will be ordering a copy for my parish library as soon as possible. I only wish that a parish edition, suitable for CCD classes (and the limitations under which they labor) could be forthcoming.

Dr. Hahn has outdone himself.

Very, very highly recommended!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


65 of 69 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful; Beautifully Illustrated, June 2, 2005
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
This beautiful book is a must for every Catholic family. I know that it will be an important part of my family's homeschooling.

I won't detail the contents, since other reviewers will likely do so.

With so many Catholics realizing how little they know about their own faith, this book couldn't have come at a better time. The information is quite easy to read and is very accessible. For homeschooling (or adult renewal) the charts and graphs are extremely useful especially for those who have trouble connecting the scriptural dots.

Thank you, Scott Hahn. Keep 'em coming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece!, November 12, 2006
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
I just want to say that I love this book. Me and my husband bought it during the 1st Annual Catholic Scripture Study Conference 2006 in Charlotte, NC last April. We studied Bible with the International Catholic Bible Society (SOBICAIN)in Venezuela and we were looking for a compendium in English that could help us prepare ourselves to teach Bible studies in our parish. This book is so beautifully made that makes the excellent content and the visual design a delight for both intellect and spirit. And I admit it, we are also Dr. Hahn's big fans since we read his conversation story (Rome Sweet Home) and some other of his books (Hail Holy Queen, The lamb's Supper, Lord Have Mercy and his contribution to the books Catholic for a Reason). May God bless him and his family aboundantely because thanks to his books a lot of craddle catholics are coming back to the Church with a renewed faith and he's gaining countless of converts from other Christian denominations. I definetely recommend this book for both people seeking to study Bible for themselves or to teach a complete course in their parishes... and I don't give more stars because Amazon doesn't have more!!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AN AMAZING TEXTBOOK, May 30, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
Dr. Scott Hahn has the reputation of a brilliant scholar and a passionate follower of Christ. This breathtakingly beautiful book is a reflection of great love and devotion to Salvation History.

The beginning of the book - the Foreword - is worth the investment. The illustrations are nothing short of spectacular. Extremely well documented with Scripture and quotations from the Church Fathers and from the Catechism of the Catholic Church, this is a classic masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars $45 price - Scott Hahn is Amazing, September 2, 2007
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
I love this guy. I watch him on EWTN all the time and he is great. He is the smartest guy about the bible and he makes it all so accessible. EWTN sells these books for $45 - I only mention this because of all the more than $45 prices I see here.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely the best scripture study, September 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
If the Bible is sometimes confusing to you, this is the book for you.Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) It can be used in a group or individually. If you want to know how the Old Testament and the New Testament work together and get really into Scripture and history you will really like this book. It is not too hard to understand and makes the Bible come alive. It gives great insight into many historic and cultural things that by just reading the Bible you wouldn't pick up. When you study this you will understand. An aside, there is a free podcast available also that goes with the book that is given by Carson Weber. These two products are absolutely priceless. Don't wait to get either one of them. Youn will understand who and how the church was started and how it continues to this day after 2,000 years. You will never want to leave and will want to share all you have learned with everyone. I can't say enough about this book and the podcast. Together they are very powerful.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Take your time, February 24, 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
Beautiful way to understanding Scriptures. The first time I went through this text, went to fast and missed so many wonderful things. Please take your time. Must have book.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Scott Hahn's Old Testament Bible Study, October 13, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series) (Hardcover)
This is a wonderful and useful resource. Our group had been using the Scott Hahn St. Ignatius study bibles in a study of St. Paul's Letters. Scott Hahn's books pose questions that really help your spiritual exercise in the small group study setting. This resource has similar questions and references to other materials (such as the Catechism of the Catholic Church) that enriches a bible study. It also has many beautiful replications of famous paintings that relate to the material in the study. This book is an excellent resource to accompany a bible study for folks who enjoy Scott Hahn's approach and leadership.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Understanding The Scriptures: A Complete Course On Bible Study (The Didache Series)
Used & New from: $19.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.