Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource on the competing worldviews of our era
A valuable resource that will greatly aid any layman hoping to understand the competing worldviews of our day.

The benefits of this book are many. First, it is comprehensive but not overwhelming. Covering Islam, Christianity, postmodernism, New Age, and Marxism, Noebel looks into ten different worldview categories for each of these six worldviews. The addition...
Published on July 21, 2007 by presuppositionalist

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Book. Terrible Formatting in Kindle Edition.
This is well-done book, but the Kindle edition is the single most poorly formatted digital book I've seen. There are no page numbers (only location numbers, which do not correspond to the actual page numbers), no bold paragraph headings, no spaces between headings and paragraphs, and no spaces between the paragraphs themselves.
Published 7 months ago by C. Barnes


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

63 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent resource on the competing worldviews of our era, July 21, 2007
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
A valuable resource that will greatly aid any layman hoping to understand the competing worldviews of our day.

The benefits of this book are many. First, it is comprehensive but not overwhelming. Covering Islam, Christianity, postmodernism, New Age, and Marxism, Noebel looks into ten different worldview categories for each of these six worldviews. The addition of Islam and Postmodernism in this version makes it leaps and bounds beyond the first edition. Furthermore, each chapter provides what you need to know in the very words of the proponents of that worldview.

Many in the emergent church or "liberal" crowd will balk at the idea of "the" Christian worldview, but Noebel makes a good case from scripture in sticky areas like economics and sociology. He also refrains from bashing the other worldviews---he remains unemotional, although he admits from the start that he is hoping that the truth of the Christian worldview is illuminated throughout the book.

The section on postmodernism is particularly valuable. This is a difficult area of thinking to understand but one that is extremely pervasive and MUST be understood by Christians today. He explains at length how postmodernism has affected our legal system as well as social justice. He also covers "postmodern Christianity" as popularized by the emergent church (e.g., Brian McLaren).

My complaints? Noebel is an evidentialist, sadly. His section on Christian epistemology is abysmal. At one point he says that revelation is the foundation of our worldview, but then says that revelation is verified by science and archaeology! (p. 87) Well, which is it? Other strange statements include, "The basic tenets of Christian philosophy are rational because they are held by average rational men and women." (p. 88) No, Christianity is rational because it was revealed to us by a rational God (John 17:17, 1 John 5:9). Consequently, Noebel's evidentialism plays out especially loud in the section on biology, which is nothing more than a teleological argument---a very overrated argument that's still managed to become a staple in the arsenal of many apologists.

The above paragraph sounds harsh. Realize, however, that one can still draw a tremendous amount from this resource while recognizing its shortcomings. Though Noebel's evidentialism seeps into the rest of the book, it still deserves 4 stars and a place on the shelf of any Christian who would like a concise, cut-to-the-chase guide on the worldviews of our age. Thank you, Dr. Noebel, for helping us "understand the times."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars If you want to understand the world, read this book., August 14, 2010
By 
Mark (Dallas, Texas) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
This is the most comprehensive, thorough, overview of the six major world views that I have ever read. As you read this book, the political and cultural happenings in our world will begin to make sense. That is, you will understand why people believe, say, and act the way they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must Read For Every Parent, May 31, 2007
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
This is a must read for every parent in America. David Noebel offers an intelligent and yet deferential elucidation of six of the most prevalent worldviews competing for the souls of future generations. Most have opinions as to the rudiments of these weltanschauungs, however; Noeble presents quotes from the founders and champions of all six - leaving no doubt as their positions and intentions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must for understanding todays' world views, March 10, 2009
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
Very informative about the origins of anti-Christian ideas by which we are constantly bombarded in our day to day lives. A good, informative, and easy read for anyone wishing to understand todays' world views. A good tool for having an answer for those that oppose themselves (2 Timothy 2:24-26). Easy to understand for most any reader, but still packed with many sources of information.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well worth the time / read 10 pages a day, June 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The order that Dr. Noebel put the different venues together, which make up a Worldview is outstanding! Dr. Noebel's notes, which he faithfully taught for decades and the grid system makes this one of the top ten books you should have in your personal library. It will help you in your worldview system in which you have been taught to think and live in. Dr. Noebel does teach from a Christian Worldview and he is honest in quoting from the sources which the are the foundation of the other five worldviews, which impact North America and European nations in particular. Just read 10 pages a day, 5 days a week and you will be surprise how quickly you will get through. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, May 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Well researched. This is a must read for every Christian going off to a secular college. It also explains much of the irrationality we are witnessing our culture today.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Essential Reading for the Christian Highschooler, June 10, 2012
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
We used this book as a reference source during our homeschooling years. Noebel lays out the main worldviews in Western thought today (Secular Humanism, Marxism/Leninism, Biblical Christianity) according to categories such as Religion, Ethics, Psychology, Economics, to name a few. This assists an individual who is able to read at a Grade 8 level to understand the sources of ideas and how they shape a person or a culture's thinking. For the Christian, this is a wonderful tool for discerning purity in doctrine, and use as a basis for Christian apologist in the wider culture.

I have the 1991 Hardcover, and am just about to download the Kindle version.

An ESSENTIAL book to have in your Christian library, for study, and to come back to as a plumbline of discernment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Read, July 27, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
David A. Noebel does a terrific service by informing the reader on six worldviews in "Understanding the Times." He compares the six in ten areas (theology, philosophy, ethics, biology, psychology, sociology, law, politics, economics, and history) in clear, easy-to-understand terms. I am not a well educated individual, yet find his writing understandable and enlightening. All Christians should face the facts found in this book. Our world is full of influential, non-Christian ideas and those in the Christian faith need to be protected from deception and given the tools to be effective witnesses for Christ. Noebel's "Understanding the Times" is a great help.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Good Book. Terrible Formatting in Kindle Edition., August 30, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is well-done book, but the Kindle edition is the single most poorly formatted digital book I've seen. There are no page numbers (only location numbers, which do not correspond to the actual page numbers), no bold paragraph headings, no spaces between headings and paragraphs, and no spaces between the paragraphs themselves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb Book, April 20, 2012
This review is from: Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews (Hardcover)
This book is on my short list of the best books I have ever read in my life, and I have read a lot of books.. Noebel's knowledge of Marxism is encyclopedic, and his critique of Communism is devastating and breathtaking in scope. Everyone must understand the greatest enemy mankind has ever known: Marxism. It is the religion of those who do not believe in Christ and is still taught in most prestigious universities throughout the world. Noebel proves that the idea that contiguous groups are at war, and that this war leads to the perfection of a dictatorship of the proletariat, is absolutely and utterly absurd. The absolute power of the dictatorship of the proletariat always leads to Stalin, Mao, Castro, and Gulags, and making Marxism a religion does not negate this fact. Absolute power always corrupts absolutely, as Noebel so admirably demonstrates. Marxism is the most ignorant and superficial philosophy ever devised by the hand of man, and Noebel demonstrates this fact with admirable lucidity. A must read for anyone interested in understanding true political science, which one will never get from the media or university.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa0c9e6a8)

This product

Understanding the Times: The Collision of Today's Competing Worldviews
$24.95 $19.72
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.