Customer Reviews


49 Reviews
5 star:
 (39)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you read this, you'll never view the world the same way
The major theme of this book is Variation. Wheeler does an excellent job at explaining this important idea. Although these ideas have been around for over 70 years I have found no other book that even comes close to presenting this topic in such an accessible manner. Wheeler provides managers a rational way to look at daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly figures and...
Published on October 14, 1999

versus
9 of 20 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Listen to MatSi review
This book is very superficial and of little value. This book was passed out to the development team at my company as something everyone should read. I read it and was shocked at how little content was in it. As put forth in MatSi's review, the message is basically plot everything. This book is basically advertisement for SPC. SPC is a good thing, but this book does little...
Published on May 29, 2009 by RadEngr


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

57 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Once you read this, you'll never view the world the same way, October 14, 1999
By A Customer
The major theme of this book is Variation. Wheeler does an excellent job at explaining this important idea. Although these ideas have been around for over 70 years I have found no other book that even comes close to presenting this topic in such an accessible manner. Wheeler provides managers a rational way to look at daily, weekly, monthly, and yearly figures and tell whether the actions they take have resulted in improvement. This is the greatest value of this book - with an understanding of variation it is possible to define what improvement looks like when presented with numbers. This is sure to become a classic. Every person, Managers in particular, looking to improve any operation will be served well by reading this book. How many times has someone declared that an improvement has taken place only to find out later it was all smoke and mirrors? This book will provide the concepts and tools to be able to see through the smoke and mirrors. No more opinions, no more tap dancing, "show me the data" and we'll see if there is improvement.
Read it - you will see figures in a new light.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enlightening, January 15, 2003
By 
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
I am a non-technical, non-mathematician, steeped in Deming-oriented Continuous Improvement, which I teach at university-level. This is simply the best (and easiest to read) book on the subject of 'control-chart' based SPC. It's in a class all by itself. It's an enlightening book about Life. It will change the way you look at and understand phenomenon. I wish Wheeler would write a series of such books, treating the rest of mathematics in as enlightening and cogent a fashion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Deming for Dummies, August 21, 2002
By 
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
Wheeler serves up the best concise easily understood description I have ever seen for both statistical process control and the Deming management philosophy. No executive or manager responsible for imporving an organization can afford ignorance of the information in this compact volume. A leader blessed with competent statisticians may find that Wheeler's book suffices without other material covering the matter in greater depth. Leaders lacking support from statistically sophisticated staff may feel a need to stiffen their understanding with Deming's _Out of the Crisis_ and _The New Economics for Industry, Government, Education_. Even without a thorough understanding of continuous improvement philosophy, Wheeler's book, properly applied to your business, should easily offer an RoI well over 1,000,000%.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceptional Book on Process Improvement - Even for Dummies, December 29, 2004
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
Bought this book to get a glance to topic "process improvement" and to gain understanding in process improvement practices. Reading the book really impressed me, especially the way how the author manages to explain everything from the beginning. Considering myself as inexperienced in mathematics and in process improvement, this book really bursted my understanding of managing process variation!

Understanding Variation is a well-written book and easy to understand. I recommend it to everyone interested in process improvement!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great book for understanding SPC and process control, May 31, 1998
My manager at work recommended this book to me as I was about to begin an SPC project. This book was a lifesaver. Wheeler has made SPC easy to understand. As a beginner, I found the work invaluable and I still use it for reference material today
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best beginning SPC book on the market, July 1, 1997
By A Customer
Dr. Wheeler has given a major contribution to the field of statistical process control in this work. With depth and breadth of material, Wheeler has created a simple yet powerful guide to a topic that at times can be quite intimidating to the statistically untrained. With his simple and illustrative presentation style, this book is easily accessible to all levels of practitioners - professional statisticians will enjoy and benefit from the book as well as novices in the field. While only taking two or three hours to read, it is a treasure-trove of information and we have successfully used it as a textbook in a basic seminar in statistical process control. I think this is an important and landmark piece of work, quite worthy to be mentioned in the same breath with works from legendary figures in the field such as Deming and Shewhart
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great guide for understanding.. a bit slim in application, November 30, 2005
By 
Christopher J. Deasy (Depends on the time of year) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
Don't get me wrong, this is a great book and an easy read, but it leaves alot of unexplored avenues. If you are buying this on-line realize that this is a quick read (120 pages, large type and graphics included). For one thing Wheeler does not clarify the use of capability in regards to Ppk and Cpk (in case someone out there is interested). Nonetheless, Wheeler does a great job of condensing a lot of conceptual material into a neat little book that anyone dealing in IPM, SPC,six sigma, TQM or other quality systems or analysis can appreciate (this is an especially good book for those who may need to train others in understanding variation). Wheller's examples are both entertaining and acurately tease apart some important concepts. We are indebted to his clear, concise verbage- I just wish he would expand on a few key concepts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Book on Understanding Variation For The Innumerate, December 22, 2004
By 
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
This book will introduce you to the prevailing practices of understanding data in business and how it is limited and weak . The process behaviour chart ( a.k.a control chart ) provides a better and more meaningful understanding of your data. This book will tell why and how . Buy this book its a very good introduction on how to make sense of your data. Dr. Wheeler did a very good job !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best concept book for non-technical people, March 6, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
I would agree that the details in the book are very, very basic. But that is what makes this so great in my opinion. Most organizations are focused on very small changes in numbers - something moved by a tenth of a percent, the punishments or celebrations must begin immediately - that are, in fact, not driven by anything anyone "did". I have worked with people who were very focused on the "moment". This book is excellent at communicating why that may not be the best way to manage a business. This is written for a business person, not someone who loves statistics, and for that audience the message comes across very, very well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Every business needs to deal with variation better, November 17, 2005
By 
Amazon Customer "s_l_c" (Riverton, UT United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos (Hardcover)
This book really opened my eyes to the concept of "noise" in data. The fact of the matter is that we accept metrics like "year over year" analysis because those are easy to produce. However, this book makes a successful case that we need to be smarter about acting on data analysis. Not everything is actionable. Sometimes it is just noise.

This book succeeds in demonstrating that by looking at and accepting the prmise of variation in data, you can spend your time acting on key events.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos
Understanding Variation: The Key to Managing Chaos by Donald J. Wheeler (Hardcover - September 4, 2000)
$44.00 $35.71
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.