Customer Reviews


658 Reviews
5 star:
 (342)
4 star:
 (126)
3 star:
 (83)
2 star:
 (50)
1 star:
 (57)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


130 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D Review of Underworld Awakening... Filmed with 3D Cameras
To the point: This action/horror hybrid was filmed using Red Epic 3D cameras on the set for most of the film, and the result? Good 3D in Underworld Awakening. When the movie starts, it's in 2D highlighting the previous films, but then it switches to 3D and wow. For 3D, I consider it great when the foreground, mid ground and background pop very clearly from one another in...
Published on February 4, 2012 by QuickSilverSeven

versus
25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Addition to the Franchise
There is really only one film franchise out there that continually has me salivating for more, and that's the gritty, paranormal reality of "Underworld." While shorter than the other installments in the series, "Awakening" is one of the finest installments yet.

Where once vampires and lycans lived in secret, the war between them has escalated and the truth is...
Published on March 22, 2012 by Charity Bishop


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

130 of 150 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 3D Review of Underworld Awakening... Filmed with 3D Cameras, February 4, 2012
To the point: This action/horror hybrid was filmed using Red Epic 3D cameras on the set for most of the film, and the result? Good 3D in Underworld Awakening. When the movie starts, it's in 2D highlighting the previous films, but then it switches to 3D and wow. For 3D, I consider it great when the foreground, mid ground and background pop very clearly from one another in depth so there's no mistake it's 3D. This is clearly the case with Underworld Awakening during many scenes, but sometimes, the 3D pales and looks a bit flat during non action moments. The 3D is comparable to Resident Evil Afterlife 3D, which used the Fusion Cameras as Avatar 1 did.

Underworld Awakening 3D: Top notch 3D that has excellent depth and pop, as well as some 'pop out' moments with Selene's famous throwing stars and the Lycans attacking the screen. Very slick and stylish action throughout and Kate Beckinsale is fun to watch. The main storyline takes place 12 years after the 2nd film, Underworld Evolution.

Movie: 8/10 Story was basic, but reveals unanswered questions.
Action: 9/10 Plenty of stunts, blazing guns, martial arts and monsters. Nicely done.
3D: 8/10 This was filmed in 3D using 3D cameras and looks GREAT at times.
Recommended: YES, if you like this genre of movies. Don't pass this one up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


125 of 146 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Non-Stop Action Flick, January 29, 2012
By 
Kathy W (Baltimore, MD, USA) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I LOVED the 4th installment of the Underworld Series. It was non-stop action and kept me completely engaged the whole time.

There was a "cleansing" where the government killed all the Vampires and Lycans. Of course, they never did get them all. Now it appears that the Lycans have been holding up somewhere and reproducing (yuk--there's a mental picture that will burn your eyes right out of their sockets). This time, a 12-year old girl shows up on the scene, and Selene just cannot let her get thrown to the wolves, so to speak. Everybody wants the little girl, but don't let anybody fool you. This is no "let's play doll house" kid!

Kate Beckinsale does a wonderful job and is in her prime fighting the remaining Lycans. There is lots of action, chasing, blood and guts, heads lopping off, etc. Selene is tough and MEAN! This was thoroughly enjoyable. Although I usually do not watch bloody stuff like this, I am hooked on Underworld and will definitely buy the DVD when it becomes available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


124 of 148 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Underworld franchise is redeemed after temporary loss of Beckensale. A+ for action and mindless entertainment value., January 21, 2012
Thank God! Beckinsale returns. I had no difficulty watching Rhona Mitra, but Rise of the Lycans just hurt me. I hate seeing non-returning actors replaced. Yes, I know her character (Selene) wasn't even in the prequel, but I still thought the amputation of Beckensale would leave the franchise forever bitter and crippled from making new sequels. And while filled with action, I struggled with the drop in CGI quality, especially for backgrounds. But have no fear. The budget is back, and it brought Beckensale with it. The franchise is redeemed and primed for more sequels.

After a quick recap of the first two movies' events, we are introduced to a near-future in which the vampires and lycans (werewolves) have been discovered by humans. It is acknowledged in the movie that `now these nonhumans are more than myth' and, not surprisingly given human nature, the humans militarized a "cleansing" to eradicate the vampires and lycans. In this middle of all this Selene (Beckinsale) is captured and cryogenically frozen. This is where the background ends and this story begins.

Selene is freed from her cryo-chamber after being helped by some unseen (presumably) nonhuman and escapes an extremely well-guarded research facility. Conveniently, the her scientist-captors left all of her tight, shiny leather outfit in some chemical cabinets, so she was quick to find her normal form. During her escape she encounters some thought-to-be-eradicated lycans and a little vamp-lycan hybrid adolescent--she's pretty tough and gets some cool action scenes. This little girl seems to be the center of story because the lycans REALLY want her.

The plot is quite weak; borderline pointless. But that didn't bother me a bit. Like the first two installments of the franchise, this flick cluster-bombs viewers with exciting action sequences, flesh-shredding assaults, people being slam-launched across the room into walls, a healthy dose of blood splattering, and some occasional creative acrobatics. Oh, and watch out for the really, really, big bad wolf. The lycans genetically engineered this mega-lycan that is around 12-15 feet tall and probably weighs a couple tons. The fight scenes between MegaLycan and Selene are very exciting, brutal, bashy, gritty... The other action scenes are fun, too. Including a lycan-on-foot car chase, some mass melees, and some spiffy close-quarters combat. If you came with no care for plot and every care for mindless action, then this flick is most certainly for you.

In the end I was thrilled with the production value, action-filming and set design--all of which were less impressive in Rise of the Lycans. The effects budget seemed to be lower than it was for Underworld: Evolution (the best effects of the franchise in my opinion), but to no fault. This is one of those "movies for guys who like movies" action flicks and one really wouldn't suffer for not seeing the prequels. But you should definitely watch them anyway!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 32 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A Terrific Addition to the Franchise, March 22, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
There is really only one film franchise out there that continually has me salivating for more, and that's the gritty, paranormal reality of "Underworld." While shorter than the other installments in the series, "Awakening" is one of the finest installments yet.

Where once vampires and lycans lived in secret, the war between them has escalated and the truth is out. In a desperate attempt to maintain the upper hand, humans have enforced martial law and are hunting down both species, identifying it as a "virus" without a cure. Their assault on the two races that have lived among them unnoticed for centuries forces individuals on both sides into hiding, but before Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and her hybrid lover Michael (Scott Speedman) can escape, they are hunted down. Twelve years later, awakening from stasis in a laboratory, Selene is determined to find out what has happened to Michael -- and to discover the source of her hallucinations, which permit her to see through another creature's eyes. Her desperate escape introduces her to David (Theo James), a member of one of the few remaining Covens, and then to the little girl that both humans and lycans seem to want -- Eve (India Eisley).

After she is badly wounded during a lycan attack, David takes them both to the Coven -- much to the disapproval of his father (Charles Dance), little realizing the consequences this will have for them all. If you have any familiarity with the franchise, you will know what this series is all about: the battle between vampires and lycans (werewolves) as it evolves in a futuristic society. The most successful installments have revolved around Selene and although I was not keen on the idea of this film back when it was announced (to be honest, I was disappointed they didn't make another prequel showing the rise of Lucian), the end result is marvelous. Changing the backdrop and introducing Eve could have backfired but it doesn't; we accept that the world has altered and are still rooting for our leather-clad immortal heroine to save the day in whatever way she can. And in this one she does, with her usual flair and undoubted style. Everything we loved about the earlier films is present here, from the jaw-dropping action sequences to the twirl of her coat as she kicks some lycan butt.

Even though it is violent, there's a lot to like about this film series and this film in particular. It explores an alternate reality in which the heroine is unconventional, a vampire seeking to protect her own from a lycan clan that would gladly kill Eve to harvest her abilities. I'm also fond of its consistent use of talented British actors in the roles of vampire elders -- in the original and the prequel we had Bill Nighy, in the sequel we had Derek Jacobi, and now we have Charles Dance. Throw in an incredible remix of an Amy Lee Evanescence track over the ending credits and you have a movie series that may not strive to be intelligent, but it is always entertaining. But putting all that aside, its immense success comes down to one rather trivial truth: it's just plain cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Worst of the series, May 8, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Huge fan of the Underworld with the 1st (dominant vampires) and 3rd (dominant lycans) being my favorites. The 2nd was a disappointment to me as it killed off Corvinas and his two sons (one bitten by bat and the other by wolf). This 4th installment is dead last imo. The futuristic story line that has Selene and her child venturing into a world where Vampire and Lycan are hunted by humans is boring. The made up - unknown city where a giant lab and their workers control the population through vaccinations is very similar to Resident Evil. Although, isn't it the same story line in a lot of D list movies. This installment is nothing more than images thrown together with fight scenes, very little dialogue, Lycan heads exploding with gunfire, and a lot of fog/mist. There apparently isn't much daylight in this pharmaceutically controlled futuristic city. For some reason, they are unwilling to let go of the character, Michael. Note: he was horrible in the second installment and having his offspring run around doesn't do anything for this storyline. With the elders gone, the Vampires underground, and Lycans looking like oversized rats this movie failed. A story as old as time: Vampire against Lycan and humans seeking protection from the Vampires. It shouldn't have changed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All around entertaining, action packed film. A for the sequel, May 8, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Underworld awakening doesn't have many flaws. It gives a short paraphrasing of early prequels to continue the underworld saga. The film includes humans now involved in the battle with some twists and turns of similar kryogenically frozen plots and more family members included. The movie basically mainly involves the camera following around kate beckinsale while others help her try to reunite with her love then her daughter. I did enjoy it, however I thought the film could have been longer and more detailed. It seemed they did not spend that much time on this movie but kind of made this as "fast food" film. With that being said I'm a satisfied customer with this rental. I look forward to the next one. thanks. Godbless

~shauns movie review
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars So bad I couldn't even finish it!!, December 2, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Im a huge fan of the series and was sick the other day and watch all 3 of the first movies and then ordered this one.

This is just plain terrible. Everything looks super fake, its like they cut the budget to a quarter of what they had on other movies, threw in really awkward camera shots (for the 3D effect in the theaters) and made the lycan look terrible. Michael is in it for about 2 minutes (that I saw since I stopped early) and was another actor. Overall everyone's acting is bad bad. Another thing that bothered me is in the first or second movie she mentions that she has not had the misfortune to have to kill a human (leading me to believe she did not ever want to), but in this one its a human bloodbath the first few minutes. I get that they captured her and they are the enemy but if they had at least made her seem like she didn't WANT to do it, it would have tied it together better.

At some point I'm sure Ill finish the movie just to finish, but if you like the first 3 do not ruin it for yourself and just pretend this one never happened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars awesome movie, July 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is a great movie to watch where werewolf and vampire are fighting but also human are fighting to with they weapon that can stop vampire and werewolf and also with they armer uniform
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching, July 1, 2012
By 
Ryan Morehart (Beavercreek, OH) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
For fans of the series, this movie is worth watching. It ends with somewhat of a cliffhanger, but I look forward to the next one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Exceelent action, June 23, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The movie is an excellent addition to the series. Beckinsale is still outstanding as the heroine. My son and I like to watch movies like this in series and will watch them back-to-back-to-back because we like to see the continuity and how parts from the past are brought back as one story. This latest chapter fits well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 266 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Underworld: Awakening (Blu-ray 3D + UltraViolet Digital Copy) [Blu-ray 3D]
$45.99 $22.25
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.