Best Books of the Month Shop Costumes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Summer Twins All-New Fire TV Stick with Voice Remote Grocery Introducing Handmade New Kitchen Scale from AmazonBasics Amazon Gift Card Offer hog hog hog  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 Kindle Voyage  McCartney Shop Now Retro Toys Deal

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

138 of 159 people found the following review helpful
on February 4, 2012
To the point: This action/horror hybrid was filmed using Red Epic 3D cameras on the set for most of the film, and the result? Good 3D in Underworld Awakening. When the movie starts, it's in 2D highlighting the previous films, but then it switches to 3D and wow. For 3D, I consider it great when the foreground, mid ground and background pop very clearly from one another in depth so there's no mistake it's 3D. This is clearly the case with Underworld Awakening during many scenes, but sometimes, the 3D pales and looks a bit flat during non action moments. The 3D is comparable to Resident Evil Afterlife 3D, which used the Fusion Cameras as Avatar 1 did.

Underworld Awakening 3D: Top notch 3D that has excellent depth and pop, as well as some 'pop out' moments with Selene's famous throwing stars and the Lycans attacking the screen. Very slick and stylish action throughout and Kate Beckinsale is fun to watch. The main storyline takes place 12 years after the 2nd film, Underworld Evolution.

Movie: 8/10 Story was basic, but reveals unanswered questions.
Action: 9/10 Plenty of stunts, blazing guns, martial arts and monsters. Nicely done.
3D: 8/10 This was filmed in 3D using 3D cameras and looks GREAT at times.
Recommended: YES, if you like this genre of movies. Don't pass this one up.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
126 of 148 people found the following review helpful
I LOVED the 4th installment of the Underworld Series. It was non-stop action and kept me completely engaged the whole time.

There was a "cleansing" where the government killed all the Vampires and Lycans. Of course, they never did get them all. Now it appears that the Lycans have been holding up somewhere and reproducing (yuk--there's a mental picture that will burn your eyes right out of their sockets). This time, a 12-year old girl shows up on the scene, and Selene just cannot let her get thrown to the wolves, so to speak. Everybody wants the little girl, but don't let anybody fool you. This is no "let's play doll house" kid!

Kate Beckinsale does a wonderful job and is in her prime fighting the remaining Lycans. There is lots of action, chasing, blood and guts, heads lopping off, etc. Selene is tough and MEAN! This was thoroughly enjoyable. Although I usually do not watch bloody stuff like this, I am hooked on Underworld and will definitely buy the DVD when it becomes available.
44 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
128 of 153 people found the following review helpful
on January 21, 2012
Thank God! Beckinsale returns. I had no difficulty watching Rhona Mitra, but Rise of the Lycans just hurt me. I hate seeing non-returning actors replaced. Yes, I know her character (Selene) wasn't even in the prequel, but I still thought the amputation of Beckensale would leave the franchise forever bitter and crippled from making new sequels. And while filled with action, I struggled with the drop in CGI quality, especially for backgrounds. But have no fear. The budget is back, and it brought Beckensale with it. The franchise is redeemed and primed for more sequels.

After a quick recap of the first two movies' events, we are introduced to a near-future in which the vampires and lycans (werewolves) have been discovered by humans. It is acknowledged in the movie that `now these nonhumans are more than myth' and, not surprisingly given human nature, the humans militarized a "cleansing" to eradicate the vampires and lycans. In this middle of all this Selene (Beckinsale) is captured and cryogenically frozen. This is where the background ends and this story begins.

Selene is freed from her cryo-chamber after being helped by some unseen (presumably) nonhuman and escapes an extremely well-guarded research facility. Conveniently, the her scientist-captors left all of her tight, shiny leather outfit in some chemical cabinets, so she was quick to find her normal form. During her escape she encounters some thought-to-be-eradicated lycans and a little vamp-lycan hybrid adolescent--she's pretty tough and gets some cool action scenes. This little girl seems to be the center of story because the lycans REALLY want her.

The plot is quite weak; borderline pointless. But that didn't bother me a bit. Like the first two installments of the franchise, this flick cluster-bombs viewers with exciting action sequences, flesh-shredding assaults, people being slam-launched across the room into walls, a healthy dose of blood splattering, and some occasional creative acrobatics. Oh, and watch out for the really, really, big bad wolf. The lycans genetically engineered this mega-lycan that is around 12-15 feet tall and probably weighs a couple tons. The fight scenes between MegaLycan and Selene are very exciting, brutal, bashy, gritty... The other action scenes are fun, too. Including a lycan-on-foot car chase, some mass melees, and some spiffy close-quarters combat. If you came with no care for plot and every care for mindless action, then this flick is most certainly for you.

In the end I was thrilled with the production value, action-filming and set design--all of which were less impressive in Rise of the Lycans. The effects budget seemed to be lower than it was for Underworld: Evolution (the best effects of the franchise in my opinion), but to no fault. This is one of those "movies for guys who like movies" action flicks and one really wouldn't suffer for not seeing the prequels. But you should definitely watch them anyway!
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2012
Underworld awakening doesn't have many flaws. It gives a short paraphrasing of early prequels to continue the underworld saga. The film includes humans now involved in the battle with some twists and turns of similar kryogenically frozen plots and more family members included. The movie basically mainly involves the camera following around kate beckinsale while others help her try to reunite with her love then her daughter. I did enjoy it, however I thought the film could have been longer and more detailed. It seemed they did not spend that much time on this movie but kind of made this as "fast food" film. With that being said I'm a satisfied customer with this rental. I look forward to the next one. thanks. Godbless

~shauns movie review
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
on July 3, 2012
This is a great movie to watch where werewolf and vampire are fighting but also human are fighting to with they weapon that can stop vampire and werewolf and also with they armer uniform
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
26 of 36 people found the following review helpful
on March 22, 2012
There is really only one film franchise out there that continually has me salivating for more, and that's the gritty, paranormal reality of "Underworld." While shorter than the other installments in the series, "Awakening" is one of the finest installments yet.

Where once vampires and lycans lived in secret, the war between them has escalated and the truth is out. In a desperate attempt to maintain the upper hand, humans have enforced martial law and are hunting down both species, identifying it as a "virus" without a cure. Their assault on the two races that have lived among them unnoticed for centuries forces individuals on both sides into hiding, but before Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and her hybrid lover Michael (Scott Speedman) can escape, they are hunted down. Twelve years later, awakening from stasis in a laboratory, Selene is determined to find out what has happened to Michael -- and to discover the source of her hallucinations, which permit her to see through another creature's eyes. Her desperate escape introduces her to David (Theo James), a member of one of the few remaining Covens, and then to the little girl that both humans and lycans seem to want -- Eve (India Eisley).

After she is badly wounded during a lycan attack, David takes them both to the Coven -- much to the disapproval of his father (Charles Dance), little realizing the consequences this will have for them all. If you have any familiarity with the franchise, you will know what this series is all about: the battle between vampires and lycans (werewolves) as it evolves in a futuristic society. The most successful installments have revolved around Selene and although I was not keen on the idea of this film back when it was announced (to be honest, I was disappointed they didn't make another prequel showing the rise of Lucian), the end result is marvelous. Changing the backdrop and introducing Eve could have backfired but it doesn't; we accept that the world has altered and are still rooting for our leather-clad immortal heroine to save the day in whatever way she can. And in this one she does, with her usual flair and undoubted style. Everything we loved about the earlier films is present here, from the jaw-dropping action sequences to the twirl of her coat as she kicks some lycan butt.

Even though it is violent, there's a lot to like about this film series and this film in particular. It explores an alternate reality in which the heroine is unconventional, a vampire seeking to protect her own from a lycan clan that would gladly kill Eve to harvest her abilities. I'm also fond of its consistent use of talented British actors in the roles of vampire elders -- in the original and the prequel we had Bill Nighy, in the sequel we had Derek Jacobi, and now we have Charles Dance. Throw in an incredible remix of an Amy Lee Evanescence track over the ending credits and you have a movie series that may not strive to be intelligent, but it is always entertaining. But putting all that aside, its immense success comes down to one rather trivial truth: it's just plain cool.
33 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on June 23, 2012
The movie is an excellent addition to the series. Beckinsale is still outstanding as the heroine. My son and I like to watch movies like this in series and will watch them back-to-back-to-back because we like to see the continuity and how parts from the past are brought back as one story. This latest chapter fits well.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
It has been nearly a decade since the release of the "Underworld" film. The original film, directed by Len Wiseman ("Live Free and Die Hard", "Underworld: Evolution") and written by Danny McBride, the first film would receive mixed reviews from critics but would make over $95 million in the box office and would pave the way for two more films, a sequel and a prequel.

And now the fourth film, "Underworld: Awakening" directed by Mans Marlind and Bjorn Stein (the duo who worked on the film "Shelter" and "Storm"), join Len Wiseman (who continues to write the films) and reuniting with actress Kate Beckinsale ("Aviator", "Pearl Harbor").

"Underworld: Awakening" was presented in theaters in 3D and brought in over $160 million in the box office, becoming the first film of 2012 to break $100 million.


"Underworld: Awakening" is presented in 1080p High Definition (2:40:1) aspect ratio and you have the option of watching the film in 3D or 2D.

With that being said, make no doubt about it, "Underworld: Awakening" is one of the better Blu-ray on 3D live action release. Not only do you get the 3D depth but there are a number of moments where shattering of fragments, blood, artillery, debris and weapons are flying all over the place towards you. And the great news is that the 3D is constant, it's not like you will see a 3D effect every 20 minutes. There is a lot of action in this film and there is no doubt that when "Underworld: Awakening" was made, there was an emphasis put on the action and making the 3D benefit from these action sequences.

With that being said, the video quality for this film is fantastic! Sony hasn't really disappointed anyone with their Blu-ray releases of late and "Underworld: Awakening" is a film that retains its cool, dark look with blues, grays and blacks. Black levels are nice and deep, explosions showcasing lighter colors such as oranges and ambers are vibrant. Detail is very well done, especially showcasing the vampire or Lycan transformations. Both 3D and 2D versions look amazing and videophiles should be pleased with both versions.


"Underworld: Awakening" not only showcases magnificent visuals and 3D, the lossless soundtrack is also immersive and fantastic. Presented in English 7.1 DTS-HD MA, French 5.1 DTS-HD MA and English -Audio Description Track, like the 3D that is constant, as with the action. There is plenty of action from cars crashing into each other, Selene unleashing a parade of bullets, elevators crashing, bodies being swatted like flies and hearing the groans, the growls, you name it...the audio is coming from all over the place.

I was so pleased with this soundtrack and just hearing constant audio coming from the surround channels was a major plus for me and also, the music soundtrack also is utilized for the surround channels as well.

You get an immersive lossless soundtrack with "Underworld: Awakening" and dialogue is crystal clear, there is nothing bad to say about the soundtrack for this film. Audiophiles will definitely be pleased!

Subtitles are presented in English, English SDH, French and Spanish.


"Underworld: Awakening" comes with the following special features:

Filmmakers Commentary - Featuring directors Mans Marlind, Bjorn Stein, producers Richard Wright and Gary Lucchesi, Executive producer and visual effects supervisor James McQuaide, this audio commentary is very active and informative.
Selene Rises - (12:14) A featurette about Kate Beckinsale reprising her role as Selene and also going into the costume and character development.
Casting the Future of Underworld - (12:33) A featurette about the two new cast members, Theo James and India Eisley.
Resuming the Action - (8:52) A featurette about the film's action sequences, the stunts and the 3D technology used for the film.
Building a Better Lycan - (10:20) A featurette on how they wanted to upgrade the visuals for the werewolves (Lycans).
Previsualization Sequences - Featuring six pre-visualization sequences, including an alternate opening sequence: Alternate Opening Sequence (5:29), Car Chase in 3D (1:51), Coven Fight in 3D (1:58), Anitgen Attack - Part 1 (2:19), Antigen Attack - Part 2 (3:52), and Antigen Attack - Part 3 (6:05).
Awakening a Franchise, Building a Brutal New World - (18:53) A featurette about the technology, special effects, set design for "Underworld: Awakening" and more.
Blooper Reel - (3:21) Bloopers for "Underworld: Awakening".
"Heavy Prey" Music Video by Lacey Sturm feat. Geno Lenardo - (3:25) Featuring the music video "Heavy Prey".


I have always looked at the "Underworld" films as your vampire vs. werewolf popcorn action film series. With "Underworld: Awakening", the writers were moving away from the "Twilight" mushy romance (or Romeo & Juliet romance, as I called the first two films).

This time around, Juliet (Selene) is separated from her Romeo (Michael) and the world has turned against them. They are the hunted and she lost 12-years of her life, to find out that she has a child who may be the most powerful child with vampire and Lycan blood, and most importantly, having the blood of Alexander Corvinus, hence the immortality.

And what is quite interesting is the introduction of the two new characters, we have "Secret Life of the American Teenager" actress India Eisley playing Eve and a vampire named David (played by Theo James) as the next generation who will play an important role in the future of the films.

I admit that while "Underworld" films are typically popcorn action films, there was depth in the storyline as it focused on the war between vampires and Lycans and treachery that went on behind-the-scenes. There was a sense of brooding darkness that followed the characters but this time around, since most of the vampires and Lycans have been massacred, the film changes from being vampire vs. Lycans film to now the humans vs. the vampires, Lycans and hybrids.

And there was no doubt that these films were now more action heavy, designed for 3D and the storyline, was made to be kept simple for those who have never watched the films in the trilogy. And thus, the storyline is rather subjective. Those who love the original storyline for its violent action but also romance, you can't have a romance in "Underworld: Awakening" when Juliet has been separated from her Romeo. So, without the romantic angle which has been a big part of the film series, you're left with the action and a storyline about being the hunted.

And once again, it's another popcorn action film and with actress Kate Beckinsale wearing a tight leather uniform but this time with upgraded visuals due to technology and a futuristic setting. I felt that the makeup and creature design were fantastic for this film as with the visual effects, especially the 3D and fantastic lossless audio.

The video and the lossless soundtrack were absolutely amazing and these two have been the strong points of the "Underworld" films but this time, they have raised the bar of how things look and sound. The 3D really makes a difference and the constant immersive audio was a major plus. And to top things off, there are a good number of special features to keep "Underworld" fans busy. Make no doubt about it, this is a Blu-ray release that Blu-ray 3D enthusiasts plus video and audiophiles will surely enjoy!

Overall, while "Underworld: Awakening" is not a film that focuses on a deep storyline, fans of the previous films know what to expect and that is a lot of bullets, a lot of deaths, non-stop action and Kate Beckinsale looking awesome a decade later in tight black leather.

A worthy continuation of the "Underworld" film series that leans very heavy on the action, even those who have never watched an "Underworld" film can watch this film and enjoy it (there is an explanation of the first two films at the beginning of the film). And for those expecting a lot of blood and gore, you get some of that as well in "Underworld: Awakening".

If you are looking for an all-out action film with vampires vs. werewolves, "Underworld: Awakening" will definitely appeal to you! And for those who have been wanting better Blu-ray 3D experiences, "Underworld: Awakening" is one of the better 3D live-action Blu-rays that I have seen in a while.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on July 1, 2012
For fans of the series, this movie is worth watching. It ends with somewhat of a cliffhanger, but I look forward to the next one.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
on May 8, 2012
I watched Underworld Awakening with low expectations because I'd heard it had low reviews.
I was expecting fun action but didn't know if there would be any story or characterization to go with it.
I was extremely disappointed with Rise of the Lycans and felt that story idea was a great story that could've have been told allot more powerfully.
So I was concerned about the quality level of Underworld Awakening. I thought it might do a disservice to the original Underworld ethos.
I was pleasantly surprised. Underworld Awakening is an engaging and suspenseful action movie from the beginning.
It is everything an action movie should be and the action and related suspense is well done.
But it is more than just meaningless action. It has a good story to it.
The desires and motivations of the characters are well portrayed. There are a number of surprises and plot twists as well.
What I'm trying to say is that the action is driven by the motivation, desires and emotions of Selene and the other characters.
The movie does move at a frenetic, breakneck pace but there is depth in the story, not just meaningless action.
I've seen plenty of meaningless, banal action movies and I detest them so I'm not one who is quick to praise every action movie just because of the "wow" factor.
I require more than explosions, spectacular fight scenes and action. I require that there be a story and that there be characterization, that the movie has depth. And good directing is really nice and rather essential too.
Don't believe the poor reviews of this movie. Those people simply don't understand it or mistake it for something else.
If you liked the first Underworld movie, you'll like this one.
If you liked the sequel you'll love this one.
I thought the sequel to Underworld was okay and a bit of a letdown in some ways, however still possessing good qualities. But this movie, in my mind, captures the magic of the original movie, albeit in a different way.
I think some people are put off by the pace of the movie, that the whole movie takes place in no more than 2 to 3 days.
That isn't a problem for me.
Bottom line:
The story carries the action and makes this movie meaningful, enjoyable and satisfying.
If there is a sequel to this one (and the ending of Awakening begs for a sequel) I hope it is a well directed, well scripted movie that the creators take seriously and not just driven by hollywood greed.
Excellent movie - Don't believe the poor reviewers - Highly recommended.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.