Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

Showing 1-10 of 48 reviews (4 star)show all reviews
30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
on December 3, 2009
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
for anyone getting this be warned there is no divider for the three cd's. they are pretty much stacked ontop of the other one. the first underworld is the unrated extended edition which in my opinion is better then the version that is rated R. so other then the no divider thing its a good buy, though you would think they could afford to put a divider in the case to actualy protect the cd's.
22 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
38 of 52 people found the following review helpful
on April 3, 2009
Format: DVD
My wife and I are both HUGE fans of the "Underworld" movies and were ecstatic to hear that "Rise of the Lycans" finally had a DVD release date. We were even happier to hear that the trilogy was being released in it's own offical Box Set.

HOWEVER....

When reading over the specifications for the box set, I noticed that the version of "Underworld" included is the R-rated version and not the UNRATED version, which is the version that I already have.

If you plan on buying this trilogy (being the purist that I am), I would recommend that, in the event you already have the UNRATED version of "Underworld", you just swap the movies over, one for the other, and get rid of the R-rated version in the triolgy box set.

In the event the version of "Underworld" contained in the box set is BOTH the UNRATED AND the R-rated (both versions in the package), you'll be fine.

Just wanted to make everyone aware of this before you purchase.

(I gave the box set 4 stars because all 3 movies are fantastic. I would have given this 5 stars if I knew for sure that the UNRATED version of "Underworld" was included in it.)
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
19 of 26 people found the following review helpful
on November 3, 2011
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
I'm really excited about this set because it contains the extended "Underworld", the anime episodes, and the packaging just looks awesome! I have the three films already, but only on dvd and my copy of "Underworld" is just the theatrical version. I'm really looking forward to upgrading this to Blu ray!

Each film is loaded with special features: "Underworld" Extended cut - Commentary with Director Len Wiseman, Kate Beckinsale and Scott Speedman, Outtakes, Featurettes: Fang vs.Fiction, The Making of "Underworld", The Visual Effects of "Underworld", Creature Effects, Stunts, Designing "Underworld", The Look of "Underworld", Sights and Sounds, Music Video by Finch - "Worms of the Earth", Storyboard Comparison.
"Underworld Evolution" - Filmmakers' Commentary with Len Wiseman, Patrick Tatopoulos, Brad Martin and Nicolas De Toth, Featurettes: Bloodlines: From Script to Screen, The Hybrid Theory, Making Monsters Roar, The War Rages On, Building a Saga, Music and Mayhem, Music Video "Her Portrait In Black" by Atreyu.
"Underworld Rise of the Lycans" - Filmmaker Commentary with Len Wiseman, Patrick Tatopoulos, James McQuaide, Gary Lucchesi and Richard Wright, Behind the Castle Walls: Picture-in-Picture, Lycanthropes Around the World Interactive Map, Featurettes: "Underworld Rise of the Lycans" - From Script to Screen, The Origin of the Feud, Re-Creating the Dark Ages: The Look of "Underworld Rise of the Lycans", Music Video: "Deathclub (Wes Borland/Renholder Remix)" By William Control Feat. Matt Skiba.
The fourth disc contains the complete three-part animated series "Underworld Endless War", which contains the franchise' main characters in stories that flesh out the centuries old struggle between vampire and werewolf.

This set also comes with Ultra-Violet digital copies for each film, but seeing as how most people have had a rather disagreeable time with this brand I wouldn't count it as a plus. I personally don't care about digital copies one way or another, so to me this set is great!

The collection will also contain two movie tickets to see the fourth installment, "Underworld Awakening", in theaters this January. I'm greatly anticipating this movie as well! I think this is a collection worth getting if you're a fan of the series, and if you haven't seen the films before but like dark fantasy, this set won't let you down!

UPDATE - Apparently Amazon does not include the movie tickets with this product and so that is somewhat disappointing. I take one star off my review but still feel this is a great collection.
88 commentsWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
on December 31, 2013
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
After watching the third movie, I wondered why they didn't stop after two. Otherwise the movies are well done and the storyline is interesting. Since a lot of the actors looked a lot alike, I had trouble differentiating between the werewolves and the vampires which caused some confusion during the battle scenes, unless the werewolves had turned into their wolf forms.

The last two movies have graphic nude sex scenes so you might not want young viewers around for scenes that were so uncovered and graphic that I think the second movie must have barely earned the "R" rating instead of an "X".

Instead of going forward, the last movie took us back to a time before the first movie period... and it really was a let down because I was looking forward to what came next rather than what had occurred to lead up to the first two movies.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on May 18, 2009
Format: Blu-ray
If you're a horror fan and not heard of the UNDERWORLD series you're missing out. While some sites online have criticized the series, it has truly offered a new spin on the legends of vampires and werewolves and one that I have enjoyed more than the recent TWILIGHT. Not that that film doesn't have its place, but this one offers more action and less seduction.

Now fans can rejoice with the release of the entire trilogy on blu-ray discs. Not only do you get the entire story from start to current finish (a film franchise has more lives than a reborn monster), but you can watch them in glorious sharp color and image. The first two films told the story of the battle between the two monster clans in present day settings and were filled with some impressive images to watch. The latest takes us back to where it all began.

UNDERWORLD opens with a lone heroine poised on a ledge watching for something, for someone. When she sees those she seeks, she leaps off to what one would surmise is her death only to spring gracefully back up to a standing position and walk away. The viewer is now aware that this is no normal person.

No, this is Selene (Kate Beckinsale) and she is a vampire enforcer of types, searching for a special person. But at the same time a group of werewolves (we learn shortly after) are stalking this same person, Michael Corvin (Scott Speedman). A battle in a subway station leaves losses on both sides and the discovery of a nest of werewolves found.

As the film progresses, we discover alliances made, political motivations between both vampires and werewolves and just why it is that Michael Corvin is so special. How he plays into events set forth in the past makes for not only an action filled film but one with plenty of plot as well, nicely wrapped around a romance so that all viewers leave pleased.

UNDERWORLDl EVOLUTION continues the story of Michael and Selene as they go into hiding having betrayed both worlds once Selene discovered her own leader had struck a deal with the lycan (werewolf) leader. In an attempt to revive the last living elder vampire, wheels are set in motion that will change the history of both creatures.

Rather than try and move forward with a story that had seemed to find it's end already, UNDERWORLDl RISE OF THE LYCANS heads to the past, explaining what set in motion the events of the previous two films. The most recent of the three, it brings back a few old cast members and (since she wasn't born yet) leaves Beckinsale out of the picture this time.

Viktor (Bill Nighy) is the head of the vampire clan, an elite ruling class that defends the local humans from being overrun by both man and beast. In return they merit tribute from the humans as well as obedience. This is a ruling class that controls with an iron fist. They have also enslaved the werewolves of yore, unable to revert back to human form and used to protect their lair/castle during day light hours.

Into this system is born Lucien (Michael Sheen) or a werewolf mother. Viktor takes pity on the newborn and raises him as close to his own as one can a slave. Lucien in return assists in the defense of the vampires, killing his own kind in the process.

But Lucien also harbors a secret not even Viktor is aware of. Lucien has been having an affair with Viktor's willful daughter Sonja (Rhona Mitra). The two meet in secret and Lucien reveals his plans to escape and leave the castle, wanting Sonja to leave with him.

When the wild werewolves of the forest attack a caravan of humans on their way to the castle, Lucien reveals his ability to escape his shackles when he comes to the aid of Sonja who rode forth to battle the werewolves. Turning into a ferocious animal, Lucien seems to control these wild wolves. And even though he saved Sonja's life, he is punished by Viktor for disobeying him as well as removing his chains.

Filled with rage, Lucien escapes along with the rest of the captive werewolves yet to turn and a handful of slaves recently captured. Sonja doesn't make it out and Lucien vows to save her. Charged with treason, Sonja is set to die and a trap is established to capture Lucien. Will he succumb or will he find a way to reunite with Sonja and free all the slaves?

The film has some epic battles, though small in numbers involved, but enough so that they are brutal, bloody and vicious, everything one would expect in a vampire/werewolf fight. The end fight between a marauding army of werewolves and the vampires in their castle is an amazing piece of CGI magic that will please most and disappoint the fanatical anti-CGI crowd. To me, it was a thrill to watch.

The acting in this film is high quality and reaches the bench mark of what good acting means. You forget and set aside the fact you are watching actors perform and fall into the world they are portraying. You feel as if they actually ARE those characters. Among them Nighy has established the role of Viktor throughout the series as his own and shows a range here of violence and disappointment one rarely sees. Sheen does a great job as Lucien especially since his character here is younger than in both previous films. Mitra? She does the unenviable job of taking over where Kate Beckinsale was as a central character and yet holds her own.

The nice thing about this film is that ties into the previous films and establishes what went down prior to the events in them. And it ends with just a touch of the first film to link them all. Fans won't be disappointed. Those who have never seen the films are offered a good place to start from. And if you love them all you now have the option of all three together in blu-ray. What more could a horror fan ask for?
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on January 30, 2010
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
i would have given it 5 stars were it not for the packaging. the DVD's are stacked on top of each other instead of each one being in its separate tray.

So, let's say you want to watch "rise of the lycans" the last movie in the trilogy.
to get to it, you have to remove the 1st two DVDs "underworld" and "evolution" put them on whatever surface is handy and then pop out "rise of the lycans."
then, you need to put "underworld" and "evolution" back in the case and hope you don't scratch them in the process.
granted a minor annoyance, but not exactly use friendly either.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on August 29, 2011
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
My review is simply based on the quality of the blu-ray conversion and the content, not about the movie itself.

Anyway, I find that the blu-ray version is decent enough... but not anything surprisingly good from what I've seen in other movies. There are some scenes where the 'grainy' spots have not been converted very well, so that was a bummer. This is highly evident in the first movie. As you progress through the 3rd movie, the blu-ray quality begins to stand out. But, since the tone of all 3 movies is relatively dark (they are vampires after all), you may not notice the imperfections very much. The features themselves are decent as well (deleted scenes, outtakes, commentary, etc); though, I can't recall what type of features were originally available in the DVD counterparts. This is still a good set to purchase if you're a fan.

Overall I would say this is a good collection to buy if you haven't yet added the Underworld series. I have enjoyed this kind of interpretation about vampires and werewolves over most of the other related movies that I've seen. Keep in mind that this is a simple action movie based on vampires and werewolves, and the war between them... so the plot isn't something to make you ponder the mysteries of life. Other than that, I just enjoy Kate Beckinsale in tight leather. =P
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on March 20, 2011
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
Got the whole box set for under $30 and the 1st is the extended version. Great quality BD transfer will rock your entertainment center with powerful sound and clear video. There was a slight drop in quality in the 3rd movie for some reason at times but overall pretty happy with the purchase.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on June 1, 2014
Format: DVDVerified Purchase
These are great movies to watch as I like the adventures of The Vampire and Her Noble friend who
happens to be a cross between a vampire and a werewolf. The two fall in love and go through a lot
of adventures together!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
on November 27, 2013
Format: Blu-rayVerified Purchase
The dvds were of good and authentic quality. One gripe was that one of the dvd's casing was chipped at the corner, and being a perfectionist who loves to keep her things in pristine conditions, I was a lil upset with that blemish in the casing.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
     
 
Customers who viewed this also viewed
Underworld: Awakening [Blu-ray]
Underworld: Awakening [Blu-ray] by Kate Beckinsale (Blu-ray - 2012)
$7.99


Underworld (Unrated) [Blu-ray]
Underworld (Unrated) [Blu-ray] by Kate Beckinsale (Blu-ray - 2007)
$7.88
 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Your Recently Viewed Items and Featured Recommendations 
 

After viewing product detail pages, look here to find an easy way to navigate back to pages you are interested in.