Customer Reviews


34 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (12)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please enter a title for your review
The movie lost me at the start with one of the guys enthusiastically proclaiming a totally plain looking girl dressed like a homeless person as "gorgeous", and then followed it up with "the prettiest girl I've ever seen", as if "prettiness" is really something cocky late teen/early 20s guys gush over. Around the 15 minute point it finds it's groove though.
In terms...
Published on May 10, 2006 by pancake_repairman

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe vs Undiscovered: The Title is Appropriate
Some little films are classified as 'sleepers': either they begin as unnoticed little gems that slowly emerge OR they put you to sleep. UNDISCOVERED is the latter. Made by music video director Meiert Avis directing his first feature film and written by newcomer John Galt the backgrounds show. The result is an extended music video with dialogue and unfortunately the...
Published on December 29, 2005 by Grady Harp


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Please enter a title for your review, May 10, 2006
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
The movie lost me at the start with one of the guys enthusiastically proclaiming a totally plain looking girl dressed like a homeless person as "gorgeous", and then followed it up with "the prettiest girl I've ever seen", as if "prettiness" is really something cocky late teen/early 20s guys gush over. Around the 15 minute point it finds it's groove though.
In terms of visual atmosphere alone this film is an anomoly in the teen romance genre, and it also has a way of capturing casual moments by having participants in a group conversation expressing themselves with body language and facial expressions when others are speaking which creates a great sense of authenticity that I don't think I've seen since Crazy/Beautiful, which is still for my money the most poignantly realistic teen movie ever made. There's a minimal use of one-shots during conversations, and when they are used the transitions from one person to another aren't timed directly with when they start and stop speaking, so there's no reaction shots, it's all fluid. It creates a sense of everyone being in the moment instead of solemnly waiting their turn to speak and emote.
Visually the washed-out color, shaky cameras, and oddly framed shots are the opposite of what you'd expect from an MTV-style film featuring Ashlee Simpson. Actually focussing on the camerawork it seems maybe contrived, but for most of the movie it inconspicuously plays a vital part in adding mood and creating a portrait of the city at night which is as enchanting as anything in Lost In Translation.
Steven Strait's brooding singer-songwriter character is a bit of a caricature and Clea's description of him ("Luke has integrity. He wants to make it, but on his own terms."), addressed half to her friend and half to the camera, may be the least subtle exposition line in the history of cinema.
Brier's reluctance to become involved with Luke due to her attachment to an old rockstar semi-boyfriend who doesn't seem to have any redeeming qualities is difficult to sympathise with.
I can't say the plot isn't predictable, but no more so than is the case with the vast majority of films. The fact that they end up together in the end really is just like who cares. They don't give any real reason for it. They could have just as easily gone the bittersweet ending and had them decide to stay apart. As far as emotional investment in the character's arcs goes, you'd have to be pre-invested before the movie started to get anything out of it. The manufactured rise and fall of Luke's music career and all the details that go into it make up a pretty unique secondary plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wannabe vs Undiscovered: The Title is Appropriate, December 29, 2005
By 
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
Some little films are classified as 'sleepers': either they begin as unnoticed little gems that slowly emerge OR they put you to sleep. UNDISCOVERED is the latter. Made by music video director Meiert Avis directing his first feature film and written by newcomer John Galt the backgrounds show. The result is an extended music video with dialogue and unfortunately the story has been told so many times we all know it by memory, making comparisons not only inevitable but also negative.

But everyone has to start somewhere, as the theme of the story points out. The plot is thin - boy meets girl in New York, both craving the entertainment industry, both move to Los Angeles, both get caught up in the negative as well as the positive aspects of the climbing to the top life in LA, both are influenced by friends and family, choices are made, stuff happens. This trickle of dialogue is parceled out between songs by a group of wannabe actors, some better than others. Of the group Kip Pardue shows his more extensive experience and lightens the screen. But the rest is, at best, a series of tryouts told at a pace that assures somnolence. But everyone has to start somewhere.... Grady Harp, December 05
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars ROCK STAR 2....?, March 11, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
Absolutely boring, and with an enerving camera style, this is one of the worst movies i've ever seen. The plot and characters are absolutely stupid and predictable, and even worst, they don't evolved a little bit in all the entire movie.

The best part is the skateboard dog and the goods looks of Steven Strait, but if you really wanna enjoy him, i better recommend you THE COVENANT. Is the typical horror flick, but at least, is not so presumptuos that this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not very impressed, August 30, 2005
By 
skrishna (http://www.skrishnasbooks.com) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
I wasn't expected much when I went to see this movie, and so I wasn't too disappointed. The acting is all right, but there really isn't any story and it's generally neither enjoyable nor believable. The entire movie seems to be about how good looking Steven Strait is and what a great musician he is, and while he is relatively good looking and can sing, there isn't enough there to make an entire movie out of.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Undiscovered is a Bit Unimpressive., August 2, 2006
By 
Lovely to See You (Out There Somewhere) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
Pell James and Steven Strait: Two pretty people with no chemistry.

Ashlee Simpson: Actually surprisingly likeable considering it's her.

Kip Pardue: The most interesting and likeable thing about this entire flick.

Soundtrack: Not too bad, but it isn't my cup of tea despite some strong INXS resemblance.

The Plot: Slow, predictable, and at times really silly. Pell James is pretty, but she looks like any other girl her age, and Steven Strait is trying too hard to be a universally liked Johnny Depp.

My rating: Imagine the sound of the buzzer after three wrong guesses on Family Feud. Sorry, you guys, but this movie just wasn't worth the five bucks I spent when I bought it off the previously viewed rack.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very interesting film, I enjoyed the film and the music, January 4, 2006
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
Undiscovered is an inspiring story about making it and following ones dreams. Pell James stars in the film as a Brier, a model (who recently lost her mother) who decides to move to LA to pursue her acting dreams. Upon arriving in LA she is instantly confronted with a bitchy actress and learns that acting can be as cut throat as modeling. She becomes fast friends with another aspiring actress/singer named Clea, portrayed by real life singer Ashlee Simpson. Steven Straight stars in the film as a Luke, a struggling young musician who leaves New York for the promise of Los Angeles. Prior to leaving New York, he catches a glimpse of Brier on the subway, by chance they meet up in Los Angeles. Brier is still hooked on her loser rocker boyfriend but she has a thing for Luke and devises a masterplan to build him a big buzz. Carrie Fisher appears in Undiscovered as Brier's motherly agent who is in on the trick. Undiscovered is a really interesting film about making it and unrequited love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Undiscovered" is a super romance which touches the heart ., May 9, 2007
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
You will watch this movie over and over again. 'just the right choice of actors for each part, and I'll search for these actors in other movies, both now, and in the future. An appealing and convincing movie. I was so convinced of the truth of this story, that I inquired about a "Mr. Treadway" and the businesses depicted, from an LA friend in the audio field.

This dvd has been touted to friends who have young family members, as high standards were followed in the making of the film.

'would like to see an "Undiscovered II" with all six of the leading actors back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Is Life Really Easier When You're Pretty?!, July 17, 2014
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
A likeable enough movie......certainly not the best that I've ever seen but just enough fluff to keep you interested for the 1 1/2 to 2 hours needed to watch it. The best things about it are the skate-boarding bulldog and Kip Pardue (though not necessarily in that order.) Things come entirely too easy for pretty people like Steven Strait and Pell James in both New York and Los Angeles but I suppose that things would be easier for anyone in the entertainment business with Carrie Fisher and Peter Weller in your corner.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars BOOORRRRRIIIIIINNNNNGGGG!!!!!!!!!, January 15, 2006
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
This movie is way too predictable..... boy meets girl, boy and girl go on separate roads, boy girl find once more...and so on... one can pretty much guess the ending. Like said before teh story line is way to predictable and thus BORING. Acting was mearly OK, even ashley's acting was lacking. Over all I would say dont wast your time and money on this one. But then again this is only my opinion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars DVD movie, March 6, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Undiscovered (DVD)
It's a really cute family friendly movie great music and so funny. I really enjoyed this movie. I will watch it over n over again.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Undiscovered
Undiscovered by Meiert Avis (DVD - 2005)
$14.98 $6.30
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.