Customer Reviews


85 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (20)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Romantic Suspense
Romantic suspense is at its very best with this latest read from Ms. Wainscott. Wrapped up in one terrific package is a rampant serial killer, a controlling husband, a beaten-down wife, and a handsome mysterious loner all connected in this intricate and suspenseful plot.
With the reappearance of "Spooky Silas" Koole, Katie is reminded of the girl she used to be...
Published on December 20, 2001 by Sheri Melnick

versus
2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Half good, half awful...
Actually, most of this book was fairly good. But the cheesy parts were truly awful. The female lead was a real wuss and pretty clueless. I don't want to give the plot away, so I won't go too deep into the killer getting away with everything without his wife having an inkling to his evilness. One thing that the author did that bugged me was the following sentence: "she...
Published on September 7, 2012 by Angela@Florida


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 38 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Captivating Romantic Suspense, December 20, 2001
By 
Sheri Melnick (Enola, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Romantic suspense is at its very best with this latest read from Ms. Wainscott. Wrapped up in one terrific package is a rampant serial killer, a controlling husband, a beaten-down wife, and a handsome mysterious loner all connected in this intricate and suspenseful plot.
With the reappearance of "Spooky Silas" Koole, Katie is reminded of the girl she used to be before she married local vet and her savior, Ben Ferguson. After her mother died, Katie lived with another family and was befriended by Ben who had aided her when Gary, the bully, injured her kitten. Now, after nine years of marriage, Katie is but a shell of her former self, complacent and pleasing, no longer the spirited girl Silas remembered.
Even as Silas warns Katie to trust no one, the serial killer strikes again, leaving no body, and Silas is the main suspect. And fear strikes Katie, as the list of possible suspects cleverly emerges: Is it Gary, the kitten abuser and gruff cop, Harold, the creepy "art" dealer, Silas, who empathetically feels the killer, or Ben, the town hero and control freak husband?
As love emerges between loner Silas and a damaged Katie, it becomes so much more than just romance, mainly a culmination of life-long love deepening into mature adult love. As they begin to trust one another, Katie is forced to question her marriage, her mother's death years before, and her life, as she has known it for the last nine years.
Ms. Wainscott's latest is a masterpiece of mystery, chock full of suspense, and brimming with romantic attraction. Readers unfamiliar with this rising star's work will definitely want to check out this latest suspenseful novel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Secrets and shadows -- Very highly recommended, October 28, 2001
A man filled with secrets and shadows, "Spooky" Silas Koole has watched Katie Malloy from a distance for years. Ever since the day she trusted him enough to ask for help, Silas has kept tabs even as she married another man and established a quiet life in the backwoods with her veterinarian husband Ben. When the townsfolk realize that there's a serial killer in their midst, they immediately assume that Silas must be guilty. After all, an illegal search links him to many of the killings, and produced graphic pictures and text that indicate his guilt. Worse, his supernatural ability to empathetically connect to the illusive killer has him doubting his own innocence.
Ben has loved being Katie's hero from the day when she was nine and brought in a damaged kitten until now. When her mother died in a shocking suicide, he'd found the child a place to live and waited for her to grow into womanhood. He married her at eighteen, loving the innocence of the woman-child. At twenty-seven, she finds herself as dependant upon Ben as she had been as a child. But she feels terribly guilty for not being the woman he needs. Especially when Silas can stir womanly needs Katie has never acknowledge, and seems to know about her than she knows about herself.
Author Tina Wainscott exchanges her usual romance for an over the top suspense novel that will keep the reader avidly turning the pages. Rich characterization and a fluid plot result in a memorable tale of love and murder. Indeed, UNFORGIVABLE delivers a graphic, insightful look at the thin line that separates the good from the evil that lurks within all of us. The truly disturbing context and careful manipulation of people and events gives the reader an unexpected and frightening look from behind the eyes of a killer whose actions are unforgivable. Wainscott's prose reflects an empathy for each of her memorable characters that makes UNFORGIVABLE a must read! Very highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspense, Murder, and Paranoia, January 14, 2002
By 
Unforgivable is a fun read that is hard to put down. I bought it because Tina Wainscott was featured in a Naples magazine and I was headed to Naples for a weekend at my condo on Gulf Shore. She was a new author to me, and I will go back and look for more of her books.
Kattie grows up thinking that her mother killed herself when she was 26. She is now 26 herself and has matured into a timid woman who thinks she is unattractive and unliked by the people in her town. These impressions have been fostered on her by her all too doting husband. A couple of local girls disappear and it is feared that a serial killer is on the loose. None of the people that Kattie's husband will "allow" her to associate with make her feel safe. Along comes the boy from her childhood who is now a man who can still make her feel safe and protected even though the townpeople suspect him of being the killer. Together they solve the mystery. Buy the book !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a breathless suspense!, October 23, 2003
From the first page of this book to the last ~~ it's totally riveting and you cannot put your book down at all!

Katie thought the terror of her life started and ended with the suicide of her mother. She was wrong. After a placid life for 20 years, evil is stalking her again and this time, it has a face she knows very well. Is it Gary, the police officer who tortured her kitty when she was a kid? Is it her husband of 9 years, Ben, the respected vet or is it Silas, who returned after years of living in Atlanta?

Girls begin to disappear in the neighboring towns. And everyone's in an uproar ~~ Katie begins to find her strength again just when she needed it!

This is an incredibly suspenseful novel ~~ I really enjoyed reading it. It's a definite page-turner ~~ and will keep you up at night for awhile! And it will keep you looking over your shoulders as well!

10-17-03
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another Fantastic Read -- Couldn't put it down, June 3, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Romantic Suspense) (Kindle Edition)
I have learned to start Tina Wainscott/Jaime Rush novels on a weekend because otherwise I'll stay up far too late to finish. This book is no exception with a mystery and suspense story full of villains--and true love.

The main character Katie grows up in a fragile situation, depending on strangers for help and ending up with the Veterinarian who first saved the little cat she loved. But an old friend returns to town with warnings for Katie and she has to decide who to trust...a wrong decision could cost her life.

Although I did start this book on a weekend, I planned to read a chapter or two and then put it down for the day. Hours later and here I am writing the review. I heartily recommend picking this book up and planning a straight-through read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This is an amazing book. I could not put it down. It is full of secrets and suspense. With several secrets just waiting to be unravelled.
I was on the edge of my seat. Well Done!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent book, February 14, 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Romantic Suspense) (Kindle Edition)
I found this book after reading What she didn't know. Although that book was just ok it ended good and I decided to try this one after reading the reviews. Absolutely grabbed me from the start and kept me into it till the end. Giving me that first one to read for free was a good marketing strategy because I now want to read all her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Suspenseful, engrossing, and definitely an entertaining read, December 9, 2001
By 
Robin Maderich (Zionsville, PA United States) - See all my reviews
Tina Wainscott is a talented author who not only creates psychologically and emotionally complex characters, but brings them together in a way that fascinates and ensares you. From beginning to end, the book was excellently written, moving you toward a conclusion you couldn't quite see coming until she was ready to allow it. Revelation seemed to hit you in every chapter, only to find in the next that another clue pointed elsewhere. The interaction between Silas and Katie is intriguing, scary, heartwarming, and very sexy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars In the darkness, April 18, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Romantic Suspense) (Kindle Edition)
I downloaded this book back in Oct of 2012, and I just read it. It was intriguing, suspensefull, mysterious, and hate. But more importantly it was about finding ones self. I truly enjoyed the story. The story flowed fluently through emotion, and deceit. Thank you for a well thought out story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What a pleasant surprise., April 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unforgivable (Romantic Suspense) (Kindle Edition)
This was my first encounter with this author. Enjoyed every page and couldn't put it down for long.
Will definitely be looking for more of her books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Unforgivable (Romantic Suspense)
$2.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.