Customer Reviews


121 Reviews
5 star:
 (59)
4 star:
 (46)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (6)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 60 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An Accidental surprise
I just happend to download this demo one day because i was bored just to try it out. I xecpected to find a average game at best but came out amazed. This is truly impressive. This game has no campaign. The whole game is based on missions. Each mission has a different objective that you must go through that is anywhere from 5 to 30 minutes long. Missions are your basic...
Published on March 6, 2012 by daggertoes83

versus
7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unit 13
Unit 13 is a tactical 3rd-person shooter by the Socom developers, Zipper Interactive. Unit 13 is one of the first games out of the gate that takes advantage of the Vita's duel analog stick. Their isn't really a epic story to partake in Unit 13. The game focuses on fast paced missions that are perfect for a quick break or a ride on the bus.

The gameplay in Unit...
Published on June 29, 2012 by Kyle


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More games like this please!, September 18, 2012
By 
Rich (South Africa) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Who would've thought that a portable could share the same gameplay as their bigger console brothers.
Unit 13 allows players so many ways of completing the missions without restricting the gameplay. I found this to be a problem with many other FPS's but not this one. This game offers various gameplay's to suit your mood. Think Metal Gear meets Counter Strike.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars unit 13 review, September 4, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
i think that it is a game that has very good graphics is quite long eventhough at the begimmimg of the game you will see it only has 30 missions those missions are pretty hard and tricky i wouldnt consider it better tahn resistance or burning skies but it is very fast breATHTAKING
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Socom-esque shooter on the Go., July 31, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This basically was a stripped down, re-skinned portable version of Socom... which isn't a bad thing! I had fun going through the missions which are presented through small "dosages" on the mission select screen. You play different characters depending on what missions you select, but you can play your favorite character the whole way through if you'd like if that's more your style. To be more efficient and get better ratings though... you're going to have to use the character that is best for that particular mission. I picked this up to hold me over for the later more polished shooters coming out, but was impressed with what it DID bring to the table. I gotta say, I am alright with this being in my Vita collection, and yes I still do pop it in for a mission or two every once in a while. Recommended for Socom fans and Tactical 3rd-Person shooter fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Definitely Better Than Expected, July 9, 2012
By 
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
So Unit 13 got a lot of bad publicity. I bought this game worried I wouldn't enjoy it due to the poor reviews I have seen from professional review sites. The aggregate scores they give don't do this game justice as I believe they approached this game with a mentality they should not have approached it with. Let me explain...

Unit 13 is a game primarily designed for on the go play. You are given a set of over 30 missions to unlock. You don't have to play them in order as there really isn't a story line connecting these missions. Some reviewers had a huge issue with this game set up and I also was concerned. I thought I'd be getting a mobile experience, something similar to games on the Iphone or Android. This is really not the case. Some of the missions are quite challenging and you need a bit of tact to get through them. Some missions are really long; some are terribly short (we are talking 2 minutes). Even though you don't get storyline, it works for this game because the game is fun. It controls well and the graphics look really nice too. Zipper did a great job with the details and level builds.

On the more critical side, yes, the enemies are always in the same location for the mission when replayed. Yes, you can run through many of the levels and "complete" the game. I have also encountered an issue where the trophies weren't coming in and some clipping issues with walls and aiming. Your grenades and mines aren't really needed either, they feel added in.

The clipping issues weren't a huge issue, the trophies were annoying but it helped me realized what Zipper wanted people to do; they wanted people to replay the levels better. Running and gunning won't work. You earn more points if you headshot people in rapid succession without alerting guards, deactivating the traps and cameras work to get points as well. Online play is not a huge part of the game but it is there and works pretty well. You work on one mission with a partner and have to select another and find someone else to play with.

So, if you enjoy shooters because you simply enjoy shooting things and enjoy decent level layouts with some challenging missions, this game is for you. I can't recommend paying full price as this isn't a fully involved storyline game but anything less than 30 should be a fair deal for this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worth It., June 26, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
This is a very very challenging game. But, it is also very fun. I love to turn on my Vita and play a level or two. Even though it is hard, it is worth the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly Fun !!!!, April 18, 2012
By 
JohnnybeGood (New Jersey, USA) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
So far I played half of the missions on this game, it is surprising good and fun. Before the game was released I wasn't so sure about this game. There are different types of missions, straight up shooting, timed game, stealth game, limited health, etc. The enemy logic is a bit flawed, but it doesn't ruin the game. Every game has enemy AI issues.

I can't stop playing it!!! If you have PS Vita and like shooting games, definitely get this game !!!!

UPDATE on May/2/2012 - I finished the regular missions and now playing High Value Targets, this is great! Very addictive. Thank you Zipper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good game for psvita, March 28, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
Out of all of the psvita games I own I would say this is the funest. The games campaign is very, very long so won't beat it in a day or two, and the graphics are really, really, really good. The gameplay it's self is very fun with almost no problems. If you are trying do decide between this and uncharted golden abyss, you should definitely get Unit 13.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best launch game for the vita, March 25, 2012
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I was looking for a game to buy to my brand new vita. I was not planning to pay 50 bucks for uncharted (I think it is outrageous to charge that for a handheld game). I downloaded the demo of unit 13 from PSN, and really LOVED it. Great graphics, great gameplay, with online multiplayer. The game utilizes well the vita's front and rear touchscreen.

In my opinion, it is the best game available so far.!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A solid 3rd person shooter, March 16, 2012
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
If your hopping for a "Big System" experience on a handheld for 3rd person shooters, this game should be on the top of your list. The Vita's first attempt in this genre has left me with a huge positive view of the systems capabilities.

-Controls: The dual analog sticks and trigger buttons feel comfortable and the use of the touch screen features are direct and unobtrusive. (5 out of 5)

-Game-play: The game has no story mode, once completing the training mode, you are greeted with a huge list of missions ranging from action heavy, stealth, to timed objectives. The A.I in the game does a solid job of reacting and taking cover, yet at other times a little too sensitive and stealth missions become a "Hoard" mode quick. This game has a Cooperation feature using wifi so the player can team up with a friend to accomplish missions, yet the game doesn't have a versus mode which would feel natural in this kind of game.(4 out of 5)

-Graphics: The graphics walks the line between "Better than Iphone/Ipad, Worse than a 1st generation PS3." The character designs are bland, the level designs are reasonable but lack creativity, over all, it has the graphical flare of what you would expect with a last generation handheld, compared to other games like "Uncharted: Golden Abyss" where lighting, shading, and texture reveal to us the power of the Vita. (3 out of 5).

All-in-All:
This is a good game. Its worth your time giving this a try, download the demo, play the training and 1st mission and you can get the general feel of this game. I like the options of choosing different kinds of agents per-mission and so it adds additional hours in your mobile gaming experiences. You can spend hours on this game, which makes the price of admission worth it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great game, March 13, 2012
By 
brian walters (CARNEGIE, PA, US) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita (Video Game)
I got this game a week ago so far its been alot of fun. Im on the run alot and dont always get 2-3 hours to play a game. The nice thing about this is you can do a mission in a half hour and get off. The graphics a pretty good im still kind amazed how good vita games look. the only negitive is i did have the vita lock up last night playing this game hopefully it will be fixed in a patch
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 413 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita
Unit 13 - PlayStation Vita by Sony Computer Entertainment (PlayStation Vita)
$29.99 $15.67
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.