Customer Reviews


65 Reviews
5 star:
 (38)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


335 of 337 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Primer for Learning to Recognize Facial Expressions
Ekman is a leading authority on the study of the facial expressions and their relation to emotion, and this book is a methodical and thorough introduction to the field, with special focus on recognizing what he calls the six basic universally expressed emotions: happiness, fear, anger, surprise, disgust/contempt, and sadness.

Ekman provides clear, well-detailed...
Published on July 13, 2006 by D

versus
26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unmasking the Face
I gave the book three stars because I felt the writing could have been better. Other than that, I thought the book was filled with interesting and useful information. It is an unusual subject looked at from a different perspective. I liked it. The subject is all about how to read facial expressions and our unconscious responses to body (facial) language. It is filled...
Published on August 26, 2008 by CT


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

335 of 337 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Must-Have Primer for Learning to Recognize Facial Expressions, July 13, 2006
Ekman is a leading authority on the study of the facial expressions and their relation to emotion, and this book is a methodical and thorough introduction to the field, with special focus on recognizing what he calls the six basic universally expressed emotions: happiness, fear, anger, surprise, disgust/contempt, and sadness.

Ekman provides clear, well-detailed instructions for recognizing each of these emotions, and the book includes plenty of photos to illustrate the different facial contortions of each emotion. The only complaint I have is that I had to do a lot of page flipping back and forth to read Ekman's remarks and subsequently refer to the relevant picture. Perhaps a future edition could be better formatted to make it easier for the reader to view the expression alongside Ekman's comments.

In addition to writing about specific emotions, Ekman also covers some fascinating related topics such as recognizing facial deceit and discovering the patterns of one's own facial expressions, i.e., what you're telling the world with your own face.

Ekman is an academic and his writing shows it; he's precise, methodical, thorough, and careful in the extent of his claims. Readers who are new to the subject of reading facial expressions but are seriously committed to learning about it will find this an invaluable book.

(Ekman's later work, "Emotions Revealed," is also a great read and contains much of the same information as "Unmasking the Face," although I found the former to be lighter on technical information and practice faces, and more focused on the larger reflections Ekman has made looking back on his work over the last few decades.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


101 of 105 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars About "Unmasking the face", September 9, 2005
This seems to be an excellent resource for someone who would like to study facial expressions or improve one's ability to recognize emotions by looking at faces. The text is not just a popular blurb but a fully scientifically backed and high-level textbook designed for a serious student. There are exercises, suggestions on how to overcome one's difficulties or shortcomings, lots of photographs of faces, detailed comments on how certain facial features reflect certain emotions, and so on. I am looking forward to studying everything this book has to offer. Worth every penny!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great content, few difficulties on kindle, May 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unmasking The Face (Kindle Edition)
Paul Ekman gives a very useful and comprehensive instruction on how to read emotions from facial expressions. I probably would have given five stars for the printed edition. But having downloaded it on my kindle I can't use chapter ten properly, where the reader is invited to cut out the pictures for practise. In my opinion that's a real disadvantage one should know before deciding which edition to buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Do You Have it?, April 22, 2011
By 
Amazon Customer (Worcester, MASSACHUSETTS United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I have been a writer since I was fourteen years old. Being a writer, you watch people, you study them from afar, you take note of those small looks, those simple smiles, those cringed expressions, and those annoyed twitches that define their feelings on any host of a number of topics or events. People become easy to figure out. I've been a salesman, and the rule of thumb there is, you have seven seconds, from the point that you outstretch your hand, to the point that you say, "Hello, how are you today?" to size a person up, to figure out what type of mood they're in, are they serious about buying, or are they there really to just look. As a heavy man with a taste for beautiful women, you have to know when a woman is interested, when she wants that moment of escalation, when it's the right time to touch her hand, and the right time to kiss her, and the right time to suggest a change of venue. And last but not least, at a poker table, asking those four simple words, "Do you have them?" can mean all the difference between walking home with empty pockets and walking home with a few extra thousand dollars.

People wear their emotions on their sleaves, whether they want to admit it or not, we are all emotional creatures, bound to bouts of anger, happiness, sadness, contempt, disgust, fear, and surprise. This book is a great book to start your education with, though I'm personally more in favor of Emotions Revealed by Eckman. This is an informative book, well written, with the strongest grasp you're going to find on the topic of facial expressions that is not in the academic field. I will be the first to say, for those who have a great interest in understanding how to read people, that this book is not the only material you will ever need. No, there are at least three commercial texts on body language that everyone should have, then, I would recommend for those who seek greater knoweldge, getting home study courses from some of the professionals. Kevin Hogan, Patti Wood, Janine Driver, and the such. I have personally only tried Kevin Hogan's course and I have no regrets.

Now, to some fun stuff. I'm 22, so, I'm always looking on how things can be used for either dating, or party entertainment. After studying Paul Eckman's books, I have been able to consistently 8 out of 10 times, guess the card in a person's hand, by reading their facial expressions, in 5 to 7 questions. It's a fun trick that leaves everyone amazed and I'm asked to do it a lot because people believe they can't be read. Here's the fun secret about people, the harder they try not to be read, the easier they can be read. Though the book does not delve into micro-expressions, for which, Emotions Revealed, Second Edition: Recognizing Faces and Feelings to Improve Communication and Emotional Lifedoes a far clearer job with, this book is still a strong foundation into the knowledge of the face and emotions.

I've said before that with a clear understanding of body language and the knowledge of how to use persuasion and speak deliberately, you become able to sell anything, get any job, seduce any woman (if you're a guy), and just have a lot more fun and control in and of your life.

Books on body langauge that I would recommend.

1. What Every BODY is Saying: An Ex-FBI Agent's Guide to Speed-Reading People
2. The Definitive Book of Body Language
3. Winning Body Language: Control the Conversation, Command Attention, and Convey the Right Message without Saying a Word
4.You Say More Than You Think: A 7-Day Plan for Using the New Body Language to Get What You Want
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Ultimate Guide for Reading Others, April 1, 2009
I've been familiar with Ekmans work for several years now; I have found nothing else that even comes close to providing the reader with the knowledge they need to master the science of reading the emotions of others by decoding their facial expressions. Ekman is the king!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 31 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Unmasking the Face, August 26, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I gave the book three stars because I felt the writing could have been better. Other than that, I thought the book was filled with interesting and useful information. It is an unusual subject looked at from a different perspective. I liked it. The subject is all about how to read facial expressions and our unconscious responses to body (facial) language. It is filled with pictures and examples and over all is a good read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, January 15, 2011
By 
Mazursky (Boulder, CO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This book provides the basic tools for beginning to understand the body language of the face.
(Note: do not buy this for a Kindle, because it is graphics intensive and the Kindle has extremely poor image functionality.)
Like any book on body language, the skill is acquired through careful observation of people in the real world. But this book tells you where to look and what to look for. Having read it and just started playing with the flash cards, I find myself suddenly more observant of people's eyebrows, the wrinkles in their forehead, and their naso-labial wrinkles. Especially while watching movies, where there are lots of closeups and no taboo against staring closely at someone's face.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars advanced, May 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
ekman is sharp, this is not a book for a one time read, i have read it three times and still learning from it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Well written, well researched, May 28, 2009
Very good book - Eckman is one of the leading researchers in non-verbal communication (40 years experience) and put together a splendid, easy to read resource for use by the normal layman, or psychology researcher. Photo blueprints of each emotion were carefully put together to supplement the easy to follow text and make deciphering the six emotions as easy as can be. Recommend to anyone and everyone as the research it provides can be used in all categories of life.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!, January 9, 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
As an investigator, adding this education allows me to know what it is that has I have noticed in the past but didn't know what exactly I was seeing. The book is well written, easy to follow, has a great practice section, and leads you easily from one topic to the next. I'm really glad I bought it, small price to pay for an excellent education. Thank You Dr Ekman!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 27 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Unmasking The Face
Unmasking The Face by Wallace V. Friesen
$7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.