Customer Reviews


363 Reviews
5 star:
 (92)
4 star:
 (86)
3 star:
 (70)
2 star:
 (52)
1 star:
 (63)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DOOM is great on Blu-Ray
A lot of people like to criticize the DOOM movie as being a "bad" movie - a classic example of what goes wrong when you try to transport a thread-bare video game plot to the big screen. I'm here to disagree.

It's pretty easy to make the case that DOOM the movie is a terrible translation of DOOM the video game. The core of the "plot" from the game is entirely...
Published on March 8, 2009 by Jim M. Hastings-trew

versus
22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as bad as I feared it would be.
Doom (Andrzej Bartkowiak, 2005)

It took fourteen years, but one of the finest videogames of all time finally made it to the big screen. And there are some of us who've been waiting the whole time. And we get a movie starring The Rock?

The big surprise is, it's not all that bad.

Sure, it's possible to nitpick. What's a Doom movie without...
Published on April 21, 2006 by Robert Beveridge


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

54 of 54 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DOOM is great on Blu-Ray, March 8, 2009
By 
Jim M. Hastings-trew (Saskatoon, SK Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
A lot of people like to criticize the DOOM movie as being a "bad" movie - a classic example of what goes wrong when you try to transport a thread-bare video game plot to the big screen. I'm here to disagree.

It's pretty easy to make the case that DOOM the movie is a terrible translation of DOOM the video game. The core of the "plot" from the game is entirely changed. In the game, irresponsible experiments with matter teleportation in a base on Mars opens a rift between our world, and Hell itself. Hell comes spilling through into our reality, and it's up to the player as a lone gun-wielding protagonist to mow his way through thousands of zombie humans and hell-spawned demons till he defeats the very forces of Hell. Nothing of that made it into the movie. The similarities are: It takes place on Mars, and there are guns. There is even a teleporter in the plot but it's simply there as a device to keep the action going quickly between the Mars installation and the final showdown in the bowels of the UAC facility on Earth. No Hell, no demons. This is all replaced by genetic experimentation aimed at creating a "super human" - something the ancient Martians failed at, with similar results.

This fundamental change to the plot of the story was a disappointment, but you know what? Everything else works. The sets look similar to the "feel" of the locations in Doom 3, the genetically altered humans look like a few of the monsters from Doom 3, and there is a hilariously great "first person shooter" sequence that had me smiling like a silly kid. Yeah, there's some woeful dialog, yeah, there are some lapses in logic (why would a science installation on Mars have a catacombs-style sewer system with the air-space venting directly into the facility itself - that would be one stinky, humid research lab) but overall, the movie is fun, it's competently made, there are some fun characters, there are some terrific set pieces, and in the end, it's entertaining.

The blu-ray release is a bit late to the party - the was one of the first HD-DVD titles released and it's taken a while to come out on the "other" HD format. The picture is stunning - dead perfect black levels, zero noise, crisp detail, no artifacting at all. The audio is great - only rarely do the action scenes break down into "noisy chaos" - overall it's highly detailed and nuanced.

Fans of the game are treated to some "in-jokes": The names of most of the scientists in the UAC lab are based on the names of the primary developers of the video game - John Carmack, Tim Willits, etc. While most of the weaponry in the movie is standard military type gear, the BFG 9000 from the game makes an appearance in the movie (looking sort of like a V-8 engine with a trigger). The teams names (Sarge, Reaper, etc.) come from another ID game - Quake 3. The "first person shooter" sequence in particular is a shout-out to fans of the genre, and is very well done.

Love it, hate it - it's a very well produced HD version of the movie, and despite it's flaws, it's a very entertaining action movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very entertaining.., January 20, 2006
This review is from: Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Sometimes I marvel that so many people and movie critics expect every film to be Oscar material! Lots of action, fast paced, cool special effects--Doom is a solid, entertaining movie. The Rock and Karl Urban carried the story forward (and provided some nice eye candy to boot).

Are you going to find deep philosophical meaning in it? Only if you're drunk. Can you sit back and let go for a couple of hours? Definitely. Bottom line is if you're a fan of action movies, add this movie to the roster.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not nearly as bad as I feared it would be., April 21, 2006
This review is from: Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Doom (Andrzej Bartkowiak, 2005)

It took fourteen years, but one of the finest videogames of all time finally made it to the big screen. And there are some of us who've been waiting the whole time. And we get a movie starring The Rock?

The big surprise is, it's not all that bad.

Sure, it's possible to nitpick. What's a Doom movie without revenants, lost souls, archviles, rocket launchers, and for the love of all that's holy the cyberdemon?But when it comes right down to it, why not The Rock in a movie about a bunch of Marines fighting creatures from the depths of Hell? At least they didn't cast Steven Seagal. And when you've only got a little over an hour and a half, you have to cut a few things. At least we got the BFG. (And I wish the BFG's effect in the game was half as cool as its effect in the movie.)

The plot, what little there is (and pay attention, because it's different than the game, in one major aspect): A colony on Mars, originally started to support an archaeological dig, shut it down after weird, mysterious things began happening. Without anyone knowing, the head of the genetics lab, Dr. Carmack (Robert Russell, of the recent Dune TV miniseries), has reopened the archaeological dig, putting everyone in the colony in grave danger. They don't know that, of course, until it's far too late. They discover remains who have some pretty odd characteristics, which intrigue Carmack. He does some experiments that go, shall we say, awry. Marines, headed up by Sarge (The Rock), head to Mars in order to find out what's going on. Things blow up.

Doom the movie, like Doom the game, is a turn your brain off and watch things getting killed experience. If you were expecting high art, were you playing the same game the rest of us were? This is a movie that's all about violence, special effects, and things blowing up. And that's pretty hard to mess up, as long as you get halfway competent actors and a crack special effects team. Andrzej Bartkowiak (whose name is not Uwe Boll, something for which we can all thank whatever we hold holy) delivers both, and does it in style. The Rock heads up a rather capable acting team-- Reaper (The Chronicles of Riddick's Karl Urban), Duke (Resident Evil: Apocalypse's Raz Adoti), Destroyer (The Four Feathers' Deobia Oparei), The Kid (Al Weaver, recently in Radford's Merchant of Venice adaptation), Goat (Ian Fleming: Bondmaker's Ben Daniels), Mac (Phobia's Yao Chin), and Portman (Munich's Richard Brake). They're assisted on Mars by the quadraplegic Pinky (Layer Cake's Dexter Fletcher), on intel, and the obligatory beautiful scientist Sam (Die Another Day Bond girl Rosamund Pike). All of the above are at least decent actors.

Cliched? Sure, in spades. But again, this isn't a complex flick, just as it wasn't a complex game. And from that angle, this is a wonderfully satisfying film.

Still, I wish they'd found a way to work in the cyberdemon. *** ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars DOOMed to Fail, July 20, 2007
By 
This review is from: Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
The original video game DOOM had a campy, mishmash plot that just kept piling on conventions from different movie and pulp-fiction genres. You got military contractors screwing around with dangerous technologies. A military spaceship crew decimated by evil baddies. A cigar-chomping marine that turns into a one-man carnage machine. You got mosters drawn from a host of mythologies, muddling about in radioactive waste -- and a secret level full of Nazis thrown in for good measure. Was that enough? Course not. After you progressed a bit, they started tossing in huge helpings of occult silliness too. It was one big, funny cartoon full of irreverently portrayed cliches. All this haphazard, tongue-in-cheek borrowing was fine because it played little role in DOOM or DOOM II. The games were about manual dexterity and rapidly escalating firepower.

Problem is, what is a poor screenwriter or director going to do when asked to make an action movie about a video game that was a farcical treatment of action movies? The fans couldn't possibly be satisfied, and non-gamers would be totally at a loss because there was no way to explain everything and still have time to blow stuff up! So they wrote two storylines: The surface, internally consistent one for people who didn't play the game, with the typical melodramatic humorlessness of an effects movie -- and the hidden storyline in which they showed an appreciation for the game by trying to explain as much of the DOOM mythology as they could: zombies, monsters, alien gates, health packs, restarting levels, one-man carnage machines, death matches, you name it.

Was it brilliant? Uh, no ... but not because they failed to be true to DOOM or because their wall textures didn't include the pentagrams. It just wasn't a great movie. The Rock, Karl Urban, and Rosamund Pike all fell below their average performances (which in The Rock's case is not a terribly impressive par score). There were numerous cheap ploys to gross us out or shock us. Sometimes it rushed through ideas, and sometimes it belabored them. All the usual imperfections found in big-budget flick with a guaranteed audience. But it was better than I expected from a movie whose creators knew that, as an artistic venture, their project was doomed to fail.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Doom - Not like the game at all but a good action flick., July 5, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Everyone has mixed feelings on movies based on videogames. But every once in a while there is a good one that shines through the muck. This isn't that movie. That being said, Doom definitely stands on its own as a movie worth watching.
So long as you watch this movie without expecting anything but a action flick worth laughing at, then you will enjoy this movie. Not too mention the over the top First Person shooter bit at the end of the film. The movie at times gets a bit silly. But that's where its charm comes in. This is a top dollar B movie.
You will either love it or hate it, but as long as you don't watch it expecting demons from Hell popping up, you should be fine to give it a chance. I found the scenes with the Rock to be fun and entertaining. While Keith Urban truly gave me a reason to watch his other films after seeing this. There are some excellent one-liners in the movie, some which will haunt me for the rest of my life... But I am glad I saw this movie and am happy to own it on Blu-Ray.
Speaking of Blu-Ray, the transfer is quite good. A definite step up from the DVD, the action doesn't cause the frame rate to diminish in quality. The sound is as good to be expected in a horror film. All in all, a solid title for what it is. I give it 4 out of 5 stars based on the quality of the film itself rather than the quality of the Blu-Ray.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


75 of 99 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars fun, November 20, 2005
By 
This one still boggles me!

I read the finicky reviews and was not expecting anything decent but it wasn't so bad!

Yeah at times I was thinking "why did these people film this? Did they need money?" because it is based on a game and has its own world, it does not follow what we on Earth would call a story taken from life.

The special effects were rough at times and made me think that whoever did Pac Man was still doing his work on this movie, but since it's based on a game I took it with a grain of salt. The creatures were pretty wild and I like "alien chase on starship" whether under water, in outer space or on a Moon type of a movie.

I liked how certain characters, without spoiling anything, changed sides and there were a few nice plot twists. Karl Urban and surprisingly the dude known as The Rock were pretty good in this one.

Fun movie to see, but it's not deep soulful or Oscar nominee material.

Pretty much eye candy, but overall better than I expected.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Better then what I was expecting too see., April 17, 2006
By 
This review is from: Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
I, unlike other people, did not find this movie to be a disappointment. I never got to see this movie in the theater and recently got a chance to see the uncut edition. Honestly my very first impression of the movie was "this is cool". Honestly if this movie would have been called "UAC Marines", "Viral Apocalypse" or something else random, this movie would have done A LOT better. It was actually really good for a sci-fi movie. Much in the vein of Resident Evil meets Mission to Mars. The thing that really made this movie not a movie about DOOM however was the lack of cohesive elements to the game story. In the game it's all about hell and demons and weird psycho doctors wanting to be more psycho. The movie focuses on an ancient race designing a machine called the ARC; this machine makes direct transport to mars possible. There seems to be a problem on mars and the UAC Marines are sent in to investigate. The next about an hour and forty five minutes is all about trying to figure out what happened and destroy the threat if any. It's your very standard sci-fi story but it achieves what it's meant to do. Entertain you for a moment.

The movies main downfall is it is only LOOSELY based around the game that everyone wanted to see on film. However to appease the fan boys (girls?) out there DOOM does have a very unique experience visually in the form of a (about 5-10 minute) segment where the camera is completely shot in first person perspective. Which having never seen this EVER done in a film was really neat. A bit out of place where they chose to do it in my opinion but good nonetheless.

Overall don't judge this movie till you see it because it is a lot better then people rate it unless your looking to find something that's a 100% identical too its source material (Doom 3) then I'd advise you to not watch this film because some of it has been completely rewritten from its original context hence no hell. Other than that it's a lot better then what I was expecting too see
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Worth the money, February 26, 2010
By 
R. Seliga (East Coast, USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This will not win awards - so if you're looking for Oscar worthy performances - skip this movie.

If you played the Doom games on the PC back when you had to save for months to purchase 4megs of RAM - then this is for you.
If you bought a surround sound system with your meager allowance 'just' for this game so you could hear the breathing sound all around you - then this movie is for you.

Game to Movie (or vice versa) adaptations are never all that great. But in their defense, I think the expectations are always too high.

Everyone interprets their favorites differently and this movie is no exception.

Earth Marines infiltrate and try to take back a science station on Mars and find something..from the planet's past.

The Rock (before he was billed as Dwayne Johnson) gives the kind of performance people expected of him considering his WWE persona - hilarious one-liners with a focus on his strength.

Karl Urban was just getting popular around this time and he plays a top dog in the Rock's Marine unit.

Special Effects were cool, story line was good enough (c'mon its Doom!)
If you're a fan, you won't be disappointed. If you're hyper-critical of movies, then save your money.

Personally - I own it in HD and will buy Blu-Ray when it comes down in price a bit
Good times!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars The plot is there, but overall it leads to nothing., April 2, 2006
By 
Retired Firefighter (United States of America) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Doom is based on a video game. I haven't played the game but I think Hollywood is getting a little bit out of conrol with these kinds of movies. To much flash and not enough substance.

The movie is about some marines sent in to find out what is going on at a research facility that seems to have gone silent in communication transmissions to anything outside of Mars, where the facility is located. Soon the men sent in find out that something has gone terribly wrong, and the brother marines have taken on new forms of horrific monsters like some 1950's "Eerie Tales" comic book.

That's about it. Most of the movie is about what monster lies around the next corner and how the marines deal with it ala the big guns they tote around. At times it is suspenseful but soon as a viewer, I was yearning more. The violent content of shooting monsters for over an hour is just not enough to hold my attention. As a former marine I found the demeanor and logistical capablilities of these future marines, coupled with their constant fright and haphazard manuevering, to be pretty much a bunch of B.S. Tactically it was all hollywood and no Semper Fi to say the least. The special effects of the aliens were fascinating, but given the CG technology that is saturating movies today, it was not surprising nor exciting. Shoot aliens run down hallway, shoot more aliens run down hallway. The plot could have had some intricacies added to it and could have even developed into a refreshing new sci-fi series for television. Instead, it was thrown together plot, script, and monsters and stuffed into theaters for us all to gag on.

The Rock (also known as Dewayne Johnson, a former Wrestler and Miami Hurricane football star) does add some badly needed flavor to this film, but it's not enough to lift it off the ground. Ultimaltely this show is for 15 year old boys who would enjoy action films that are heavy on monsters and guns and leave little for dialogue or depth. I don't recommend this movie to anyone, as there are much better action and science fiction films of recent release to cherish over this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Below Average, July 6, 2007
This review is from: Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) (DVD)
Maybe Doom the video game is an excellent video game classic for fans of that type of game. However, Doom the movie doesn't hit the mark for fans of this type of film. It's not the worse film in this genre by any means but it doesn't have that certain ingredient that say Resident Evil has that lifts that movie up to an above average rating. Check Doom the movie out but don't expect anything special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 237 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition)
Doom (Unrated Widescreen Edition) by Andrzej Bartkowiak (DVD - 2006)
$14.98 $7.50
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.