Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (8)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

19 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Pinnacle of Loudon's First Phase, September 15, 2000
By 
Eric M. Van (Watertown, MA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unrequited (Legacy) (Audio CD)
You can take everything Billy Altman says above and turn it upside down. The studio side with full band is probably the only genuinely succesful such side in all of Wainwright's recorded work -- "Kings and Queens" actually swings, while the reggae of "The Lowly Tourist" underscores the humor of the lyrics perfectly. The live side, his first ever, is priceless. "The Hardy Boys at the Y" and "Rufus . . ." are hilarious (and the latter is downright wise and daring). Ditto for "Guru," "Mr. Guilty" . . . There's nothing approaching a weak cut here, something that wouldn't happen again until Wainwright hit his mature stride with HISTORY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant thoughts from a depressing time, October 28, 2007
By 
Bruce P. Barten (Saint Paul, MN United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Unrequited (Legacy) (Audio CD)
I'm only a few months older than the aritist. It is not surprising that our lives run in a parallel time which he sings about and I mainly listen to. The underlying sentiment seems so geniuine on these songs, he seems positively driven to drag it all out and let people know what is going on. Three verses of "Kick in the Head" includes just about everything anyone could stand to hear about that, and I think you should hear it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A cynical masterpiece, September 7, 2008
By 
This review is from: Unrequited (Legacy) (Audio CD)
I heard, and bought this LP at the time it was released. Shortly afterwards someone stole it from the room at the student hall of residence where I was living. I hope they enjoyed it as much as I did. This was a revelation to me, a European, at a time when US singer-songwriter albums seemed to be saccharine or more likely cyclamate sweet. The songs each punch home in their own way and Loudon's sneering dismissal of his lover in Unrequited To The Nth Degree, contrasts with the raw, desperate lust of Crime of Passion and the utter charm of Kings and Queens. It's the best thing he ever did. If Billy Altman dictated his review while sitting down, then his voice was muffled.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Louden at his very best - a classic, August 24, 2006
This review is from: Unrequited (Legacy) (Audio CD)
This is the Louden I knew and loved - the one who didn't care about being politically or socially correct. "Rufus" and "The Hardy Boys At The 'Y'" are worth the price of the album. Unfortunately, Louden has gotten a bit too serious in his advanced age, and his concerts and albums don't even come close to measuring up to this - his best- album.

Robbie Bobby
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic Wainwright, June 16, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unrequited (Audio CD)
One of the best albums Loudon ever released. Used to listen to this on tape about 25 years ago, so was a must have on CD. Good quality recording, but best of all, so many of Wainwright's quirky, funny lyrics.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars loudon, January 3, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unrequited (Audio CD)
been a fan for years and bought this as a replacement for a lost copy thank the lord for amazon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I shall say it ten times ..., November 9, 2009
By 
Ausborn (Brisbane, Qld. Australia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unrequited (Audio CD)
I have purchased, yes paid for, ten of Loudon's CD's. Went to his concert in Brisbane and loved the fact that live or recorded, he sounds the same. I guess I'm a true blue fan, so what else is there to say ?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, August 22, 2014
By 
joseph g. tangel (shoreham, n.y. United States) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unrequited (Audio CD)
Great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I mostly agree, January 26, 2001
By 
Francis J. DiNozzi (New York, NY United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Unrequited (Legacy) (Audio CD)
Personally, I think the studio tracks are typically weak for Loudon, but that was the era for him. The live recorded material is pricelss!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unrequited, October 25, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Unrequited (Audio CD)
the cd came fairly quick and it was in perfect condition. i would purchase from this seller again in the future!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Unrequited (Legacy)
Unrequited (Legacy) by Loudon Wainwright III (Audio CD - 1998)
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.