Customer Reviews


289 Reviews
5 star:
 (205)
4 star:
 (52)
3 star:
 (22)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (5)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and moving
Until Forever by Darlene Shortridge is a deeply emotional story about second chances and learning to forgive. From the outset, Jessi and Mark Jensen's marriage is rocky at best. Jessi comes across as an over anxious control freak, while her husband Mark is selfish, immature and has a drinking problem. With that kind of foundation, is it any wonder that Jessi coddles their...
Published on April 17, 2012 by Amazon Customer

versus
13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing an important point
The overall story held my interest but was very predictable. But what 's with the aunt's constant prayers for the salvation of her niece and her ex but never a mention of any compassion or interest for the niece's mother or father? One of them must have been her brother or sister but they were just thrown in the story as careless, thoughtless almost worthless people who...
Published on May 14, 2012 by Vintage 1


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

58 of 69 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Emotional and moving, April 17, 2012
By 
Amazon Customer (British Columbia) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Until Forever by Darlene Shortridge is a deeply emotional story about second chances and learning to forgive. From the outset, Jessi and Mark Jensen's marriage is rocky at best. Jessi comes across as an over anxious control freak, while her husband Mark is selfish, immature and has a drinking problem. With that kind of foundation, is it any wonder that Jessi coddles their only child and treats Mark like an adolescent rather than an equal member of the relationship? Then devastation strikes. Mark and their son Ethan are involved in a car accident. Mark, who had been drinking, goes to jail and Ethan falls into an unresponsive coma.

Several years pass and Jessi decides to pull the plug and let Ethan die. She has become even more bitter than before, and even her Aunt Merry, a woman of deep faith, cannot convince her to surrender her problems to God. Meanwhile, Mark has been undergoing some changes of his own while in prison. Befriended by the prison Chaplin, he becomes a Christian and embarks on a brand new life as a believer. The biggest surprise that takes place during this time is that Jessi has had another child - a girl named Olivia, who is also Mark's daughter. Apparently she was pregnant when the accident happened and no one knew. I had to wonder where the infant was while she was spending every waking moment at her son's bedside before he died. That aside, the story moves forward when Mark gets released from prison. For me, this is where the story really begins.

The tables have turned as far as the reader's sympathies go. Mark is a genuinely changed man, where as Jessi has become, quite understandably, even more anxious and unforgiving. Little by little, however, through the prayers of Aunt Merry, Mark and others, Jessi begins to soften.

What I really liked about this book was the way the characters were so well rounded. I can't imagine facing this same kind of trauma and yet the author manages to reveal all the emotional turmoil while still keeping it real. Healing is a slow process for Jessi, as I imagine it would be for someone faced with this situation. Mark, as a Christian, demonstrates the dramatic change that can take place in a person's life without becoming a goody-good or seeming cliché.

Because of the depth of the emotional content, this was not always an easy book to read. However, it was satisfying in that the character's growth and the story line moved steadily forward. Ultimately, healing does come, but it is not an easy journey. For a poignant, touching, and thought provoking read, try Until Forever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Mercy triumphs over tragedy in this moving story, April 26, 2012
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
As a writer and reader of non-fiction, I found myself totally engaged and surprised by the emotions evoked as I read Darlene Shortridge's Until Forever (Women of Prayer). Darlene has masterfully written a very moving story about a family torn apart by alcoholism and its effects. Not only does this book deal with the family dynamics surrounding the tragic results of substance abuse, but Until Forever also demonstrates the healing and restorative power of fervent prayer.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful story of love, forgiveness and redemption, April 16, 2012
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Until Forever is a powerfully written, inspiring work by a wonderful storyteller! Ms. Shortridge created realistic characters that are completely relateable to. Even if you've never known the devastation of what addiction can do to a family, Ms. Shortridge brings it home to the reader. This is a story of love, understanding and most importantly, a faith in God and His power.
A compelling story. Be ready to laugh and cry...and be moved. Highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Missing an important point, May 14, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
The overall story held my interest but was very predictable. But what 's with the aunt's constant prayers for the salvation of her niece and her ex but never a mention of any compassion or interest for the niece's mother or father? One of them must have been her brother or sister but they were just thrown in the story as careless, thoughtless almost worthless people who certainly didn't deserve any prayer or consideration that they also were not saved. It just kept implying they were beyond caring about. In sort of ruined the impression of the aunt being so caring for me. The author needed to have made the niece an orphan for the story to have worked. Just to leave the parents out like they never mattered after caring so much for the drunk nephew-in-law didn't make in sense in light of Christian love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An emotional journey, May 24, 2011
"I will love you until forever." Jessi Jensen spoke those words to her son Ethan every day, yet when tragedy strikes, her entire world is torn apart. Darlene Shortridge brings to life the story of Jessi in Until Forever. Even though life must go on, Jessi is stuck trying to hold on to the past and make sense of what has happened. When Jessi's husband is the cause of the accident, how can she possibly find a way to move forward?

What does it truly mean to love another person? How can we forgive what seems unforgiveable? What are our relationships built upon? These are the core questions that Darlene addresses in this book. Throughout the story, Jessi's aunt demonstrates the power of prayer and faith as she not only prays for healing, but acts out the kind of love and forgiveness that she talks about. The story is compelling, emotional, and captivating. The Christian message is clearly shared in an everyday language. I enjoyed learning what it means to truly love someone Until Forever.

Kristi Burchfiel, author of Without Regrets and The Daily Devotional Series
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heartfelt Story of Love and Forgiveness, February 7, 2011
Until Forever is a powerfully written, inspiring work by a wonderful storyteller! Ms. Shortridge created realistic characters that are completely relateable to. Even if you've never known the devastation of what addiction can do to a family, Ms. Shortridge brings it home to the reader. This is a story of love, understanding and most importantly, a faith in God and His power.
A compelling story. Be ready to laugh and cry...and be moved. Highly recommended...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Undying Love Story, April 16, 2012
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Until Forever by Darlene Shortridge is a well written love story, though filled with disaster and heartache. The author brought it full circle with the sweet, likable character of Aunt Merry, who was an example of true, unselfish love who patiently tried to lead Jessi to the place she needed to be before she could be truly happy. Aunt Merry lovingly conveyed the message that there is a shelter in spite of life's storms--a haven of rest, a place of redemption and restoration through God's marvelous grace and forgiveness. On story content alone, I'd have to give Until Forever five stars and two thumbs-up!
Linda Robinson, author of When Love Abounds
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Book With a Powerful Message and Great Story, April 16, 2012
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Darlene Shortridge has written a wonderful book. "Until Forever" is the kind of book that the reader can invest himself into. I found myself wondering how I would react in the same circumstances. Would I hold onto grief in the same way, or would I be able to move on with my life? How would I handle forgiveness? I think it is the mark of a good book when the reader is able to move past the story and make life decisions for himself. "Until Forever" is a thoughtful book with a great message. The storyline is compelling, and I found the book hard to put down. I recommended that you add "Until Forever" to your reading list.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of 2010 - Christian Fiction with a Purpose, April 16, 2012
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
This book is fantastic. Heart wrenching. Thought provoking. Deep questions will be asked. Be ready to be blown away by Ms. Shortridge's gripping book about the heavy issue of forgiveness for an unforgivable act. If you're looking for a lighthearted read, you may want to bypass this book. This story deals with the effects of alcoholism on a family and how it can have far-reaching consequences and how that family finds God through tragedy. This book is written by a woman in love with her God. A woman that is writing with a passion and purpose. This is a name you're going to want to watch ~ she's that good. Until Forever has made it to a coveted spot on my bulging bookshelves - and it will stay there indefinitely as it has earned it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars God's Amazing Grace is Forever, April 16, 2012
This review is from: Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1) (Kindle Edition)
Until Forever by Darlene Shortridge is a book that you will not want to put down. Although the characters are fictional, the story of God's amazing grace isn't. You will be captivated by the story of how a couple caught up in self-destruction that leads to unbearable tragedy find their way into the arms of God. You will be moved to tears as you discover the true heart of God who loves unconditionally and leads us into his love, even when we don't deserve it and are not looking for it.
If your faith in God is shaken by your circumstances of life, whether it's of your doings or not, you will find hope in, Until Forever. If your faith in God is strong, chances are you will be brought to tears as I was, as you are reminded afresh of God's amazing love and grace, even though we don't deserve it.
I highly recommend this book to you. You will be blessed as I was as you read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 229 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Until Forever (Women of Prayer Book 1)
$0.00
Add to wishlist See buying options
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.