Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (16)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Laugh Yourself Silly
My students at the art school told me to see the movie (they had had free tickets for a local screening for art types, and the writers and directors were there in person to explain it all). My one student Levi was so persuasive that my wife and I went on Thanksgiving weekend as sort of a cultural antidote to the previous evening when we had seen 2012. The theater wasn't...
Published on November 29, 2009 by Kevin Killian

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars The Movie with No Name
The movie titled "(Untitled)" is a small-scale non-commercial art film that makes fun of small, non-commercial art works - or, more precisely, those who produce, purchase or admire such works.

The story focuses on two brothers with widely differing views on art. Adrian (Adam Goldberg) is a composer whose idea of "music" is to bang away on an array of regular...
Published on February 3, 2012 by Roland E. Zwick


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You'll Laugh Yourself Silly, November 29, 2009
By 
Kevin Killian (San Francisco, CA United States) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
My students at the art school told me to see the movie (they had had free tickets for a local screening for art types, and the writers and directors were there in person to explain it all). My one student Levi was so persuasive that my wife and I went on Thanksgiving weekend as sort of a cultural antidote to the previous evening when we had seen 2012. The theater wasn't exactly packed but the air was filled with howls of laughter, for everything in the movie from the get go is perfectly placed to ensure maximum hilarity. The movie begins with the sort of sight gag that Jacques Tati perfected: morose composer Adam Goldberg arrives at the venue for his performance and is surprised to see the sidewalk outside the box office thronged with hip, excited people. Cut to: bus pulling up; cut to: bus rolling away and no one left on pavement at all--no, one person. Once the concert begins iot's so bad that even Adam's dad can't take it. Right away he rises from his seat and takes the mother with him. (Later, when Adam asks what happened, the mother says, "Your father had to go to the bathroom." "You were gone for forty minutes!") Adam Goldberg isn't the world's most versatile actor, but if you liked him in Entourage playing the egomaniacal cult film director, he does it again here, but with more restraint perhaps.

Madeleine Gray (Marley Shelton) is a tony gallerist who prides herself on showing only what she calls "non-commercial work." It's a little unclear what this means, since her Damien Hirst-like star artist Ray Barko seems to be selling plenty of his repulsive taxidermy pieces, but little by little we come to understand that the bread and butter of the gallery is Josh Jacobs, who paints the kind of art you see in hotel rooms--inoffensive impressionist daubs with misty swirling colors and his signature circles. Madeleine won't give him a show, and secretively makes deals for his work out of her back room, as though it were porn or black market. Eion Bailey plays Josh, the painter deluded about his own talent, who can't understand why Madeleine won't give him a show. Last week we saw Marley Shelton (Madeleine) as the heroine in the 1990s thriller Valentine, and Eoin Bailey we remember as the handsome med student lusting after the teenage ballerinas in the camp classic Center Stage, and so we can report with assurance that the acting of both of them has improved dramatically!

But even they, fine as they are, are overshadowed by the acting of a magnificent team of supporting players. Vinnie Jones, once the scariest man in UK movies, is a revelation as the Damien Hirst type. An actor new to me called Ptolemy Slocum (!!!) plays Monroe, a single-name artist so neurotic he resembles a sensitive plant more than a human being, while Zak Orth is hilarious as a collector who'll ape any trend in contemporary art and whose apartment is a showcase of everything crazy about today's mad art world. Trinie Dalton, writing for Amazon above, nails this one when she praises it for its consistently getting everything right. Okay, there were a few loose ends, and the film finally does Marley Shelton no favors by turning her into a Faye-Dunaway-in-Network inhuman bitch, but it's a film that will someday be seen as superior to any of the Christopher Guest films it superficially resembles.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Savage Skewering Of The Contemporary Art Scene--This Satire Might Be A Little Too Spot-On, February 9, 2011
This review is from: (Untitled) (DVD)
The crisp satire "(Untitled)" is a smart and savage skewering of the art world where taste is dictated by hype and collectable value as opposed to passion or merit. If you've ever been to a perplexing gallery show, one that challenges the conventions of recognizable art, you're likely to delight in the absolutely ridiculously (but sadly believable) exhibits within the film. Combined with some equally obnoxious performance art, this is as spot-on in its mockery as you're likely to see! Appropriately populated with an elitism and an air of intellectual superiority, "(Untitled)" absolutely benefits from its incisive screenplay, talented cast, and a specific viewpoint targeting the criticisms inherent in the contemporary art scene. If you are fascinated by this world, knowledgeable about the state of modern art, or participate as a viewer or collector--this film is an easy recommendation. It has an insider's appeal that is undeniable. However, even if you know little about the topic, the film still boasts an outrageousness you may appreciate.

The film is headlined by an inspired Marley Shelton. I have been familiar with Shelton's work, but she has never been particularly vivid for me. Here, though, she shines with much sexiness and great comedic timing as a ritzy gallerist torn between two brothers. She represents one brother as a commercial venture, selling his paintings to institutional settings. His work, all variations of the same abstract theme, is not avant garde enough for a place in her gallery--but it sure does pay the bills! She is intrigued by his aloof sibling, Adam Goldberg, a rather unpleasant sound artist. Goldberg's work generally produces a riotous cacophony of noise which Shelton finds appealing. They are kindred souls as both have an emotional disconnectedness as well as a skewed vision of what constitutes art. This romance, such as it is, is a uniting of narcissists.

The film features a couple of very funny supporting roles--Zak Orth as a trendy collector with more money than sense and Vinnie Jones as an artist dealing in dead animals. "(Untitled)" starts out really strong--as I identified with its absurdity, I absolutely fell in love with the film. It may, however, go on a beat too long. The story suffers slightly in comparison to the set-up. As none of the characters are particularly likable, their personal lives and entanglements were far less interesting to me than the satiric elements in the film. But Shelton, in particular, keeps us on track and the end of her story is far more involving than anything the brothers have cooked up. A solid comedy, with elements of greatness, "(Untitled)" may not be perfect--but it's a very adept and pointed look that challenges the notion of what represents art. KGHarris, 2/11.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Spinal Tap of the Art World, October 15, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Untitled (Amazon Instant Video)
A great film that keenly displays the contemporary art world and its Technicolor, snub, uptight, and arrogant inhabitants. The film works as a comedy with its goofy and outrages characters and scenarios though thoughtfully displays a wide range of stronger emotions without being predictable and corny like most comedy films that try to these days. There is also a lot of girth to the story and can be looked at as an artist's portrait(if the viewer is willing to risk being the pun of the many jokes included in the film about the aesthetics of such things). If you have ever had a discussion of what is art and what isn't, if you ever found yourself confused by the minimalism or dadaism of an art piece, if you ever yelled at the fat fingers that twiddle at art and the artists these days, if you ever visited the San Francisco Museum of Modern Art, this film is a must see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Spot on, December 1, 2010
By 
Elisa Berger (Addison, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: (Untitled) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
Beautifully photographed, well cast, intelligent script, intriguing music that staged the gallery perfectly for this smart comedy. We were engaged from the opening scene to end credits. Great commentary on interpreting "unique" in a world of awkward unicorns.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Modern Art Unhinged, October 28, 2010
This review is from: (Untitled) (DVD)
This may turn out to be my favorite film of the year! It is a hilarious send-up of the pretensions of the contemporary Art and Classical Music scenes. Knowledgeable viewers will have a field day identifying the delightful parodies of the work of several famous visual artists and composers, while everyone else will embrace this indulgent and warm-hearted portrait of a group of people whose only sin is that of taking themselves a bit too seriously. The splendid (and occasionally quite deliberately ridiculous!) music is provided by the fine American composer David Lang, who is best known for his work with the successful Bang On a Can ensemble. Lang was awarded the 2008 Pulitzer Prize in music for his choral piece The Little Match Girl Passion. I think you will all like this little movie. I laughed myself silly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the most underrated comedies I have ever seen ..For the intelligent person., December 10, 2010
By 
Arish "A+" (On ThIs PlaNet) - See all my reviews
This review is from: (Untitled) [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I am not much a fan of comedies because I feel like people try to hard. But I am a fan of comedies with dysfunctional, weird characters or odd occurrences. This is a movie of people that are truly unhinged, odd , artistic in a amusing /entertaining in a interesting way. If you are not a intelligent person and don't catch on to dry humor ? Please do not waste your time on this you will be confused and bored. I love this movie I laughed until I couldn't laugh anymore this was so hilarious to me ! All of these people had terrible taste and bad judgment and they took there art and themselves way to seriously. If you like Punch drunk love, Or Very Bad things or Hard Candy ? This movie may be for you and in a genre you would like very much. The film is oddly entertaining with quirky characters and the cinematography is very well done.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A hoot!, March 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Untitled (Amazon Instant Video)
The people who made this movie clearly know their stuff! I can imagine a group of NYU film or art students sitting in a coffee house and comparing notes on the most ridiculous things they've seen in downtown art galleries. . . Meanwhile, the hip gallery owner stays afloat by selling dentist-office art out of the back door of the gallery. A real gas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Satire at its best, January 4, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Untitled (Amazon Instant Video)
Untitled is a a funny, gentle at time, savage at others, satire of the current arts scene in the North East. Anyone with the least acquaintance with the arts in this country will recognize at once someone they know.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Making fun of modern art, October 27, 2013
This review is from: (Untitled) (DVD)
This was totally unexpected treasure comedy about art and artists in contemporary NYC. The art is question is music/performance art and visual art (paintings, sculpures and other objects if one can call them that). Most of the actors in this film are unknown (to me), but their performances are fantastic. From start to finish one has to wonder are these people for real, or are they going through life faking it.

In any case, film digs into questions of today's state of the contemporary art. What is art? Who is the true artist - the one who can actually support himself by selling his paintings while not being recognised by any of the major art museums, or the artist whose work is bought by clueless rich people trying to make themselves look sophisticated by collecting trash and displaying it in their huge lofts? How those professional relationships translate themselves into personal ones?

I found many moments of this film funny - particularly the performing art one (kicking the bucket). Not a movie for shallow audiences - I am sure they would get bored by it very quickly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An normal movie about artsy people...hysterical., August 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Untitled (Amazon Instant Video)
When I first watched it, it took me moment to realize how ridiculous everyone was in this film, due to the overall serious tone of the characters.

If you like any type of art, especially modern art, you'll love (or hate) this movie!

Also, the ending is genius, if you really think about it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

(Untitled) [Blu-ray]
(Untitled) [Blu-ray] by Jonathan Parker (Blu-ray - 2010)
$14.98 $8.99
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.