Customer Reviews


155 Reviews
5 star:
 (37)
4 star:
 (41)
3 star:
 (37)
2 star:
 (22)
1 star:
 (18)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars...better than the last LH book
Branded as a gold-digging tramp, Bailey Wingate is used to being ostracized by people that don't even know her. Cam Justice is no exception. It was bad luck that put Cam in the pilot's seat of the plane that would take her to Denver. So excited to get away on vacation, even Cam can't dampen Bailey's mood.

Cam Justice prefers not to have contact with Bailey...
Published on July 25, 2007 by iheartjackbauer

versus
52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the paperback
I agree with another reviewer that this book is not worth the price. It is not a bad book but it is not a good book either. It reads like a how to book if you crash in the mountains in an airplane and survive. The attention to detail overshadows the short story.

Bailey Wingate was a trophy wife, now a widow. At least that is how it looks to others. The truth is...
Published on July 22, 2007 by Elaine C McTyer


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

52 of 59 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Wait for the paperback, July 22, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I agree with another reviewer that this book is not worth the price. It is not a bad book but it is not a good book either. It reads like a how to book if you crash in the mountains in an airplane and survive. The attention to detail overshadows the short story.

Bailey Wingate was a trophy wife, now a widow. At least that is how it looks to others. The truth is a well kept secret. Her step-children who are older than her actually hate her guts. She enjoys the conveniences that are available to her and not the least is a flying limo service.

Cameron Justice is half owner of the limo-plane service. He doesn't usually fly Bailey anywhere, his partner does. Cam considers her exactly what she seems to be, a gold digger.

When she wants to fly off on vacation, Cam must step in because Bret, his partner, has an allergic reaction and becomes ill. Half way to their destination the plane goes down, and only Cam's ability as a pilot saves their lives.

I was disappointed in the romance and how hurt and cold people manage to have mediocre intimacy is beyond me. If you find yourself in this position hope you have this book with you. It is very detailed on how to survive. But as a romance, suspense thriller, or whatever it is far below my standards and the abilities of Linda Howard. Wait for the paperback if you must read it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 44 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 3.5 stars...better than the last LH book, July 25, 2007
Branded as a gold-digging tramp, Bailey Wingate is used to being ostracized by people that don't even know her. Cam Justice is no exception. It was bad luck that put Cam in the pilot's seat of the plane that would take her to Denver. So excited to get away on vacation, even Cam can't dampen Bailey's mood.

Cam Justice prefers not to have contact with Bailey Wingate. Pegging her as an Ice Queen, Cam has turned all of Bailey's flights over to his partner, Bret. Only Bret being violently ill could ever make Cam fly Bailey anywhere. That's exactly what happens and Cam finds himself enclosed in a small jet with the Ice Queen herself.

When their plane goes down, Cam realizes that his very survival depends on the woman he despises. Cam soon comes to see that there is more to Bailey Wingate that meets the eye. When they both find that the plane was deliberately brought down, Bailey knows exactly who wants her dead. Both her and Cam are determined to get back to Seattle to prove it.

Up Close and Dangerous is not Linda Howard at her best. While this was an entertaining book, it wasn't what I've come to expect from a Howard novel. I enjoyed the story of Cam and Bailey and how they had to set aside personal feelings so they could stay alive. Howard did a really good job of showing how fast things can change when your survival depends on another person.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 30 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Up Close and Dangerous, May 12, 2008
Bailey Wingate had no idea what she was in for when she married her boss James. There was plenty of respect between them when she was his personal assistant, but never love. She entered into this marriage knowing it would be her responsibility to oversee his children Seth and tamsen's trust funds. James had everything planned perfectly before he died, and Bailey took her responsibility very seriously. She was also well provided for, but that didn't take the place of a husband and family. She was still close to her brother, and had planned a two-week trip to meet him along with his wife in Colorado to go white water rafting. Since she was a Wingate, she had access to their private plane, and was excited by the prospect of some peace and quiet with her family. Her pilot for this trip was supposed to be the normal Wingate pilot Brett Larson, but he was feeling ill, so Cameron Justice was taking his place. Bailey was dreading the time she would have to spend with Justice because he made no secret that he disliked her. Just another person that thought she had married for money and had taken advantage of an ill man.

When they had been into their flight for a couple of hours, the plane started experiencing problems. Bailey was alarmed right away, but Justice seemed to have done something to correct it, so she calmed. All of a sudden he was having control problems, and told her to take precautions because they were going down. When Bailey came to, she was groggy, but remembered enough to know she needed to get herself and Justice out of the plane. He appeared to be unhurt anywhere with the exception of the gash in his head. Bailey struggled to get to the first aid kit, and when examining the cut, was horrified to see it would need stitches. She pulled out the instructions took a deep breath, and proceeded to put stitches in his head then made sure there was no additional bleeding. Justice was coming around, but barely, and with so much blood loss, it was up to her to find them shelter for the night. When Cameron finally was feeling better, he realized that the ice princess was nothing but a marshmallow protecting herself from the outside world. He remembered everything she had said to him, and how compassionate and caring she was. He might have saved her life getting them down, but she had in turn saved his by taking care of him after. Cameron and Bailey relied on each other heavily causing them to get close, and that got them thru the next couple of days. When Cameron realized that no one was coming for them, he searched the wreckage only to discover the plane had been tampered with, so he knew they would have to hike out, and rescue themselves to find the person with murder on the mind.

This was a very intense detailed story. The crash and subsequent survival had you on the edge of your seat. Then throw in the connection and attraction between Bailey and Cameron, which was believable and hot. The letdown was the ending. Here you are sitting on this emotional roller coaster with both characters, and then boom, the story abruptly ends. Everything is wrapped up in a few pages.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 29 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not worth the Hardcover price..........................., July 18, 2007
While this book is not as bad as Linda's last hardcover effort, "Cover of Night," it really is not worth the hardcover price. Case in point.......it wasn't that good. However, I'm stating this based on previous stories like, Kill and Tell, After the Night and Dying to Please. But, quite honestly, she hasn't written a story like that in a long time. So, if we compare it to her last few hardcover efforts, "Cover of Night," and "Kiss Me While I Sleep" to name a few, it was a vast improvement. Go figure.

Actually, "Up Close & Dangerous" was not that bad. It was just missing some of Linda's original flair. Quite simply, it was missing that "secret ingredient" that makes Linda's stories, Linda's. For me, the novel was a pretty slow read. I've had it for a few days and kept putting it down. I had a hard time getting into it, and only finished it so I can start on some other stories. It was kind of boring and I found myself skimming through much of the book.

The main characters, Cam and Bailey are involved in a plane crash. Cam was flying Bailey to Denver where she was vacationing with relatives. However, the plane had been sabotaged, crashing into the mountains. It was only Cam's extreme piloting skills that allowed them both to survive the crash.

In typical Linda fashion, the romance was fast and hard. They were together 24 hours a day for several days, about six, I think. Their romance went from 0 to 60, literally.

I guess I can kind of understand them falling for each other, especially considering the extreme circumstances they had been subjected to. But, before the crash, they barely tolerated each other. After the crash, they were professing their love for each other and contemplating marriage in the span of sayyyyy.........4 to 5 days. Still, this would not have bothered me if we could have seen their love building. Unfortunately, we didn't. Most of the book they were into survival mode. Then, they were in love. There was no build up. And their sex scenes were just as bad, seeming almost clinical, as there was little to no passion involved. I found myself more interested in what her stepson and stepdaughter were involved in, rather than the main characters themselves.

For me, the book was "torturous" to read. It's obvious Linda did a lot of research on small planes and wilderness survival, for she described them both (small planes and wilderness survival) page after page in painstaking detail. So much so, that I now feel that if I survive a small plane crash, I too can survive in the wilderness. It was overkill. And, it was boring.

I only recommend this book to "die hard" Linda Howard fans, (like I used to be,) and then only in paperpack format. Trust me, you won't feel as cheated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars No magic formula, December 31, 2007
By 
Sometimes a reviewer points out that a book follows a formula, and that could be a good thing or a bad thing. This book, unfortunately, follows at least two formulas -- and it's quite a bad thing.

The romance: young Bailey is the widow of a wealthy older man who left her in charge of his adult son's and daughter's trust funds. They hate her, she's walled off her emotions, enter handsome sexy pilot, Cam ...

The survival thriller: Cam pilots the charter flight taking Bailey on vacation, and they crash in the remote mountains of Idaho. He's injured and she saves his life. They realize that the crash was caused by outside interference. Will their resourcefulness and stamina overcome the rigors of weather and altitude and enable them to survive?

Oh wait, segue to Formula Romance: sharing body warmth under a pile of clothing in a makeshift shelter, him concussed and her infected from a puncture wound ... sparks fly.

Neither theme is developed convincingly. The hot relationship between Bailey and Cam feels circumstantial; the Uber-Girl-Scout performance of Bailey is never explained; and by the time we find out what REALLY happened to the plane, we don't care and it seems as if the author doesn't either.

With much more attention to character development and the other elements that make a book worth reading, this COULD have been a decent book. An opportunity missed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Snooze, August 9, 2007
By 
C. Dippel (Portland, OR USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I want to preface this review by saying that I used to love Linda Howard and have read every single book that she's published in the last 15 years. With that being said, I was incredibly disappointed in this book. It should have been entitled "Survivalist Guide" since the only message that LH really conveyed in his book was how to survive after a plane crash. I don't know if she did it to demonstrate her research prowess, but I found the chapters devoted to surviving in the wilderness really boring.

The outstanding chemistry and hot scenes between the hero and heroine that once made Ms. Howard famous and a fan favorite were completely absent in this book and it has no business being labeled "romantic suspense" since there was really no suspenseful element to the plot. It's a seeming mystery who tampered with the plane, but there's no lead up to the final climax where it's revealed. It was just boring through and through.

I would not recommend purchasing this book unless you think you'll need to survive a plane crash in the wilderness some day.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Should have been published in paperback, July 28, 2007
By 
Kindle Customer (Northeast Florida) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I actually wasn't as disappointed with this latest Linda Howard novel as some of the other reviewers. I'm probably in the minority here, but I followed Ms Howard reluctantly when she started writing romantic thriller/horror novels in hardback. I generally avoid novels or movies that revolve around the mental ravings of psychotic serial killers and although I absolutely agree that Mr Perfect and Dream Man are Howard at her very best -- they both gave me nightmares. So I'm glad she's kinda/sorta getting back to her romance roots and writing stories where no one gets brutally and senselessly killed.

I think the problem here is that expectations weren't met. I don't know how it went down, but here's how it looks. Linda Howard wrote a typical 250 page formulaic series romance (think Silhouette), then (possibly with her editor's urgings) she added a lot of survival filler (building the shelter in excruciating detail twice!) and the entire Seth subplot to bring the length up to the final 325 pages needed to publish in hard back. A better hardback novel would have fleshed out Seth a lot more, toned down the evil sister, developed Bret, Karen and Karen's boyfriend as real characters and maybe added a couple more characters into the stew and made a real whodunit out of the plot. But a shorter 250 page series romance would have been just fine published as a paperback (and I would have given it 4 stars). As it is written, the thinness of the characterization and plot just aren't up to hard back prices and expectations.

My all time favorite Howard (jungle) survival book with bad guys is Heart of Fire and a very close second is Midnight Rainbow (a Silhouette publication). But I think Linda Howard has done the survival thing now and she needs to find something else.

p.s. the chemistry between the two lovers was so "off" in this book that I was relieved that the 2nd sexual encounter was described simply as (and I paraphrase) "they made love again that night". (No shelter, still cold, on the side of a cliff?). Fans may howl, but I think that the book would have been a LOT more interesting if they had not had sex at all while they were in survival mode... at least there could have been some sexual tension generated out of that!

p.p.s. the novel's title was totally off and so was the book jacket cover art. Whatever the title and the art was describing, it was not the book that Howard wrote.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Up Close and Awful, December 16, 2007
I agree with some of the reviewers here. This does not seem like it was written by Linda Howard. I've read some of her other works and this was just not in the same league. This book was totally disappointing from start to finish. Bailey marries and old fart so she can manage money for his children from his previous marriage--she's not a gold digger herself? WHY would she marry someone for that reason?

The main plot--Bailey who is now a widow charters a private jet to meet her brother Logan and his wife P-E-A-C-H-E-S (give me a break with the name) for a white water rafting trip.

Bailey hates the pilot, Cameron Justice (ridiculous name)she has traveled with J&L airlines since she has worked for and married her rich old husband(who is now deceased)so she knows the pilot. The plane crashes in the mountains. Cameron, the pilot, is severely injured with a horrible concussion and almost bleeds to death. Bailey stiches his head up and he gets a hard-on--give me a break. Do people usually get horney when they're struggling in a life or death survival situation? Ugh!!! The romance , if you could call it that is so far-fetched. Both the heroine and hero hated each other. Howard makes it seem like they fall for each other as soon as the plane crashed--too contrived for me.

Horrible dialogue, horrible writing. Horrible plot, far-fetched senario for a villian. Don't waste your time. I'm being generous with 2 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars UP CLOSE AND DANGEROUS, August 23, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
It's a Howard, so at best, you know it's good. But, and here's the biggie, if you've come to expect a lot of fire in Howard's love scenes like I have, then you're in for a disappoinment. The story gets a little long and boring reading about the heroine and hero discovering new ways to survive and though the spark is there between this couple, the love scene is sadly lacking and when I say scene, yep, there's only one, and certainly the humor doesn't live up to what we've all come to expect from Howard. There is a shocker ending, no shock there, as I've said, it's a Howard. However, this reader would love to see more of Howard's old style, like the heat in Kill and Tell, Dream Man and Mr. Perfect....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Cannot recommend, August 15, 2007
I used to buy every Linda Howard released. Favorites include Duncan's Bride (from her Silhouette days), Dream Man and Mr. Perfect. I don't know what's going on with LH, but the quality of her stories has steadily decreased in recent years. Up Close and Dangerous is yet another disappointment right up there with Cover of Night.

Bailey and Cam survive a plane crash. Linda writes about their actions to stay alive, this is fine, but it reads like a survival guide book rather than a novel.

If you're interested in reading this novel, check it out at your local library or wait for the paperback.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 216 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Up Close and Dangerous: A Novel
Up Close and Dangerous: A Novel by Linda Howard (Mass Market Paperback - April 29, 2008)
$7.99 $7.19
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.