Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Songs of Summer Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1 AllOrNothingS1  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Segway miniPro

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on December 14, 2006
This book is a must read for everyone who takes superheros seriously, Weinstein studies the psychology behind each of our favorites icons, and draws the links between their creators and the personage.

Batman, Superman, and all the other heroes are put in the context of their creator's biblical and cultural heritage, and Weinstein does a great job on documenting and arguing that connection
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 13, 2007
This book is a good introduction to the subject of the influence that Jewish history and culture have had upon the comic book industry. Unfortunately it is doomed to stay an introduction due to its lack of depth and relatively short pieces. It is more or less a collection of short essays on various superheroes and superhero teams, none more than twenty pages long. That it not to say that this is a bad book. One thing I really like about this book is that it covers not just the expected superheroes like Superman and Batman, who are always referred to in Comic Theory books like these, but also heroes that aren't thought of to be studied in conjunction with Judaism like the Justice League, The Incredible Hulk, and the Fantastic Four. It is extremely informative and to pack so much information in such a small space is to be commended but if the reader is looking for an in depth study of religion in comics, specifically Judaism, that goes into great amounts of detail then he should look for something else. However, if one is looking for more of a light read that packs serious, scholarly information in an introductory manner, then this book could not be more on the mark.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 8, 2006
This book is a must for anyone who read comic books as a child or teenager. It is funny and informative about the origins of our favorite comic book characters, including Superman, Batman, Captain America, the Fantastic Four, Spiderman, the Xmen, the Incredible Hulk and Sabra. Weinstein goes into the origins of each of these superheros and tells us how these talented Jewish comic book artists melded Jewish history, legends and culture into their stories, including the Golem. The author doesn't neglect the female comic characters either. Sabra is the most prominent 'Eshes Chayil' or woman of valor. She proceeds to 'kick tuches and take names' in her comic book appearances. I was impressed with the amount of research that the author did in producing this book. It ought to be part of the curriculum in high school literature classes along with all of those dead goyishe authors like Shakespeare.
0Comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 11, 2015
A fun read, both light and informative. Researched and well informed, this explores how some of the major superhero/ cartoon writers and creators were highly influenced by their Jewish backgrounds and cultural beliefs. This went on to inform and shape their characters and stories. Quite intriguing. Includes a couple of reprinted comic pages, which reinforce the authors point. Recommended for any lovers of the major comics and those interested in the intersection of cultural/ religious beliefs and popular culture and the impact one has on the other. The author has a background as a major in film and art from a London based University and is an ordained and practicing Rabbi, currently serving University students at the prestigious Pratt Institute, located in trendy Brooklyn, New York -- one of the nation’s preeminent art schools.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 9, 2006
This book makes some interesting observations about the influences of judaism on comic books, showing how many of the most important comic book writers and artists were Jewish and how Jewish folklore (especially the tale of the Golem) offered themes for the comic book genre. The material repeats itself pretty quickly, and this reads like a worthwhile article stretched into a (thin) book.
0Comment|8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 30, 2013
as stated before in regard to another book on the same subject, some of the material in this book was not new to me, since I've been reading many books lately on the history of comics, but this book has a lot in it that is new to me. I loved comix as a kid growing up. Now that I learn the story behind them, I have a a new appreciation of the subject
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 25, 2008
If you like Judaism and you like comics this is a must have. An overview on the history of Judaism's influence on comics. It is really fascinating. As a rabbi it became clear to me that Judaism molded the comic world. I always say that Moses was the first Jewish Super Hero, this book proves it. Really a lot of fun and a great Bar Mitzvah gift for a comic book lover.
0Comment|3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 1, 2006
I recently went to a reading of Up, Up, and Oy Vey at a bookshop in Brooklyn. I have not yet read the book, but am very interested in graphic novels and thought, what the heck, what about comics! Simcha Weinstein spoke about the book with wit, humor, and heart. His knowledge of comics and the film industry is very impressive and fascinating. He had the entire audience captivated. The book chronicles the influence of the Jewish people in the comic book industry. Some believe that Superman, Batman, and even The Thing were Jewish! I know, it's funny! But with the research that he gives, it totally makes sense. In the end, we know they are just comic book heroes, not people, but the book is an interesting and totally new account about comics. I bought the book and can't wait to read it and I suggest it to everyone!
0Comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 12, 2006
Growing up as an avid fan of comic books,video games, and science fiction in general, its hard not to have some interest in a book about the philosophical background behind a number of these fabled superheroes. Up, Up, & Oy Vey does an excellent job of depicting how these characters were sculpted from the history, culture, and values of the Jewish people. The author does a great job of embedding humor alongside the well researched facts within the text, while still allowing the reader to relate to their own childhood memories of these characters. This quick read makes a fabulous addition to any fan of imagination, creativity and science fiction, be it within the framework of comic heroes or others.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 2, 2014
I'm working on a text book teaching Jewish culture, heritage, and religion, as it has been depicted through graphic literature throughout the years. Simcha Weinstein's wonderful book has been a gift to me, during my research. As a fellow Jew and comic book fan, I had always been proud of the many contributions my fellow Jews made to the creation of so many classic comic book characters and that the foundation of the Golden and Silver Age of comics could be primarily attributed to Jewish writers and artists, but Weinstein's book demonstrates not just what I previously stated but how many aspects of Jewish culture and lore have found their way into the continuity of classic characters and stories. If you're like me and love learning more about the roles that Jews have played in the creation of your favorite medium, or if you're a true fan of comics and want to learn more about their secret Jewish past, Up, Up, And Oy Vey is the book for you!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse