Customer Reviews


96 Reviews
5 star:
 (67)
4 star:
 (18)
3 star:
 (9)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars DVD Enthusiasts PLEASE READ
This is the FIRST DVD REVIEW since Amazon piles all the VHS reviews in the DVD review slot.At the time I wrote this review the movie was 3 days after its DVD release date.

I do want to inform everyone ordering this on DVD.

THE NEGATIVES (some are very minor)

The Movie is "MGM ON-DEMAND" which is where MGM make a copy using DVD-R media to...
Published on December 31, 2011 by The Terminator

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cheap Trick are the only winners of this forgotten flick...
I can only remember "Up The Creek" as being one of Tim Matheson's "take-the-check-&-run" jobs after portraying 60's ladies-man Eric "Otter" Straton in the smash "Animal House" when I caught this on late-nite AMC a few years back. This was just fated to be forever lost in the shadows of "Nerds" and "Porky's" during those halcyon days of 80's slob comedies....an OK...
Published on December 30, 2006 by T. Engelsman


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Watch it!!, October 3, 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Up The Creek (DVD)
Do you love awesomeness? Then you will love this movie. Great 80's movie that went under most people's radar. Definitely worth a watch. Live it, watch it, be it, love it, just do it! Put this movie in front of your eyeball sacs, let the lights coming off that sweet sweet screen get sucked in by your pupils, and when your retinas are done transmitting the images to your brain, your brain will be thanking you for the braingasms you just gave it simply by watching this movie. Watch it now with your best friends older sister and your aunt Judy who is in town for that quilting seminar!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars i wish it was on dvd, February 9, 2010
This review is from: Up the Creek [VHS] (VHS Tape)
One of the greatest T&A comic movies of the decade and its not on dvd is shocking. Whats more strange is there is also a wait list on net flix for it and what seams to be a large demand on other online sites as well. If you have not seen this movie - watch it! Mind you it is for sure R rated. If you like witty comedy with some sexy adventure this movie is for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Up the Creek" may not be one of the better "college romp" films from the '80s..., April 28, 2012
This review is from: Up The Creek (DVD)
The 1980's, a decade known for its many "college romp" films. Some good, some bad, but if their was one thing they all had in common...all were sexual comedies with plenty of nudity.

And in 1984, one of those films that many people would catch on cable was "Up the Creek", a film directed by Robert Butler (best known for directing TV series episodes such as "Reminton Steele" and "Hill Street Blues") and an earlier film written by Jim Kouf ("Rush Hour", "National Treasure" films, "Grimm" and "Ghost Whisperer" TV series).

The film would star Tim Matheson ("Van Wilder", "Animal House", "Fletch"), Jennifer Runyon ("Ghostbusters", "Charles in Charge", "Carnosaur"), Stephen Furst ("Animal House", "Babylon 5'), Dan Monohan ("Porkys" films) Sandy Helberg ("Mortal Kombat", "This is Spinal Tap", "Spaceballs"), Jeff East ("Superman", "The Day After") and James Sikking ("Hill Street Blues", "General Hospital", "Doogie Howser, M.D.").

"Up the Creek" features four friends Bob (played by Tim Matheson), Max (played by Don Monahan), Irwin (played by Sandy Helberg) and Gonzer (played by Stephen Furst) who attend Lepetomane University (aka Lobotomy U), the worst university in the area , and each happen to be the worst students on campus. They are forcefully recruited by Dean Burch (played by John Hillerman) to compete in the collegiate raft race and bring some recognition to the university.

In return, if they win, he will offer them degrees in the major of their choice.

So, the four friends along with their dog Chuck (voiced by Frank Welker) head to the collegiate raft race. But the team that is heavily favored to win are the Ivy University prep schoolers who have the support of Ivy alumnus Dr. Roland Tozer, who wants to ensure that the group cheats their way to the #1 spot.

Also competing are the military squad known as Washington Military Institute who's leader Captain Braverman (played by Blaine Novak), wants revenge against Bob because he continually thwarts the group's plan of sabotage. Also, entered are the co-eds, which include Heather Merriweather (played by Jennifer Runyon) who has had enough of her boyfriend (a member of the Ivy University) messing around with other women, so she starts to show interest in Bob.

With Ivy University trying to cheat their way to the top, do the underachieving students of Lepetomane University have a chance of winning the competition?

MOD PLAYABILITY:

Part of the worry of viewers who had bad experiences with MOD DVD's is its manufacturing. Granted, those problems were a long time ago but so far, I have not had any problems with MGM's Limited Edition Collection.

With "The Magnetic Monster", its printed quite well with printing on top of the DVD, it's not a plain silver disc with letters. If you didn't know it was MOD, you would think it was an actual DVD release.

As for playability, I played "The Magnetic Monster" on my Blu-ray player and DVD player with no problems. I then played it on my Mac and PC, no problems whatsoever.

VIDEO AND AUDIO:

"Up the Creek" is presented in color (1:85:1 full frame). As far as picture quality goes, you can see a bit of black specks throughout the film but they are small and probably will not be noticed by most people. There is a fine layer of grain and for the most part, for an '80s film, the movie looks very good for its age. There is some softness but considering its age, "Up the Creek" looks good on DVD.

As for audio, audio is presented in Dolby Digital. But the film is notable for its soundtrack featuring Cheap Trick, Heart and The Beach Boys.

SPECIAL FEATURES:

"Up the Creek" comes with a theatrical trailer.

JUDGMENT CALL:

As a person who grew up with late '70s and '80s college romp films such as "Animal House", "Porky's", "Private School", "Back to School", "Revenge of the Nerds" are among the titles that people tend to remember.

Comedies that feature a lot of beer, a lot of women and a lot of sex...and of course, the main attraction to a lot of guys back then...nudity.

"Up the Creek" is a film I remember watching on cable back when I was in high school and remember wanting to watching this film primarily for actress Jennifer Runyon. This was her first film that she had starred in before he appearance on "Ghostbusters" and becoming part of the cast of "Charles in Charge", but as a teenager, I was big fan and watched this film just for her.

So, here we are nearly 30-years-later since the film made its debut in theaters and watching "Up the Creek" once again.

Needless to say, the film is kitschy. The whole premise of four bad students of one of the worst universities academically and the four being offered free diplomas if they win a rafting contest is ridiculous.

But still, '80s "college romps" were never meant to be deep films, they were films about characters partying, having fun and getting laid and these films were indeed the sign of the times.

And of course, there is the banality of the underdogs going against the athletes or tough guys (in this case of this film, it's the "preps") and one of the underdogs hooking up with the hot girl that dated a prep.

"Up the Creek" is a film which one knows how it's going to end, but you just wonder how crazy or how much sex will be in this film. In terms of craziness, well...aside from the character of Gonzer wanting to eat all the time and the main character Bob, having a dog named Chuck (who seems to be smarter than most of the guys on the Lepetomane team), you have a military school trying to sabotage the competition and preppies who try to cheat their way to the top. So, in terms of overall craziness, "Up the Creek" was a little weak in that regard.

As for nudity, sure you see a lot of topless girls but when you watched films such as "Porky's", "Private School" and "Animal House", even the nudity is a bit subdued for this film.

While "Up the Creek" may be nostalgic for some... for those wondering if this was one of the good "college romp" films of the '80s, my answer would be "no". Granted, I can imagine my teenage self saying "yes, watch it for Jennifer Runyon", watching it today, I felt that "Up the Creek" was too subdued in comedy and hijinks for an '80s "college romp".

Recommended only if you are a fan of the film, otherwise, you can find better "college romp" films out there!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quality better than expected!, April 25, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Up The Creek (DVD)
I have been searching high and low for this movie on DVD and it is not available anywhere else! Thanks Amazon!! The picture quality is pretty good, much better than I expected it. The delivery to Australia was also super quick and the item packaged really well. My Dad is so jealous I might just have to buy him a copy to! Ive already watched it three times - this movie rocks!!!

"They cut out his Liver!"

"Irwin....Irwin...Irwin....Irwin....."

Whats your favourite quote?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars It's out on DVD... So funny ..., July 4, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Up the Creek [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Am so happy this came out on DVD...

I have to be honest I watch it all the time
it's funny and light hearted...

Very much in the Animal House Style, most of the
crew from Animal House are it and Tim Matheson was hot...

This is one of the best 80's classic funny movie...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Four Stars, July 12, 2014
Great classic!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic comedy, June 17, 2014
Love this movie! Hilarious and witty. This is one you can watch again and again. It just never gets old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A classic, June 16, 2014
By 
Gift Card Recipient (covington, louisiana United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Up The Creek (DVD)
A classic 80's movie in my mind. I throughly enjoyed it. If you don't like 80's movies like Animal House you probably wont like it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Still a great movie to watch after 30 yrs, June 16, 2014
I loved this movie when I was younger and still enjoyed watching it now 30 yrs later.

I would recommend this to my friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars great classic, June 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Up The Creek (DVD)
Some of the same characters in Animal House and has that Animal House comedy, Probably one of the best beginnings of a movie ever.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 410 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Up The Creek
Up The Creek by Robert Butler (DVD - 2011)
$19.98 $18.89
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.