Summer Reading Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc Brett Dennen Father's Day Gift Guide 2016 Fire TV Stick Luxury Beauty Father's Day Gifts Amazon Cash Back Offer DrThorne DrThorne DrThorne  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis AutoRip in CDs & Vinyl Shop Now Learn more

Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 1, 2015
What made this style of amplifier one of the best choices in mini amplifiers? It was the Tripath Amplifier chip TA2020-020, an amplifier IC that has unparalleled clarity and performance. The Lepy in this listing IS NOT a TRIPATH based TA2020-020 amplifier! In fact, it is a cheap class D amplifier IC that has been overstamped so that you can't even identify the amplifier chip that was used! This Lepy amplifier has the cosmetic look of the original Lepai LP-2020A+ .. but that's where it stops, because once you open it up it's a different story! It's only been made to resemble the Lepai LP-2020A+ You can tell by the pictures the HUGE difference in the internal electronics and design. Don't be snookered, if you want the clarity and performance of the original TripaLepai LP-2020A+ Tripath TA2020 Class-T Hi-Fi Audio Amplifier with Power Supplyth-based amplifier, buy the LEPAI LP-2020A+ original, not this cheap imitation.
review image
66 comments|31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 27, 2013
I have used quite a few audio amplifiers in the past. A friend of mine has recently purchased this improved Lepai amp and I had the chance to play with it. Below is my review.

The amp is based on the Tripath TA2020 chipset. Tripath is not around anymore but this chipset somehow is still found in several amplifier products on the market. The sound quality from the Lepai is quite decent. It is rated at 20 Watts RMS. However, it comes with a 12 V wallwart power supply that is rated at a maximum current of 2 Amps. Given the power efficiency of the TA2020, one can easily figure out that the actual RMS power of this amps is only around 2 x 10 Watts RMS. According to the TA2020 data sheet, the amp will already have 10% distortion when driving an 8 Ohm speaket at 10 Watts due to the low supply voltage of 12 Volts.

However, when you are driving a 4-Ohm speaker up to around 10 Watts or an 8-Ohm speaker up to around 5 Watts, this amp has quite low distortion. While the TA2020 chipset is known for it's low distortion, one drawback of this chipset is that you will hear a constant hissing if you turn the volume up which is because of the limited amp's signal-to-noise ratio. The hissing is mostly quantization noise which is the direct result of how the TA2020 t-amp operates internally. This noise is most pronounced at higher frequencies. If you hook up the amp to an audio analyzer, you'll see a fairly high noise floor that rises with higher frequencies.

While I do like the sound quality, I am less impressed with the build quality of this amp, in particular the fragile speaker terminal. This connector seems quite fragile and may break easily. So be extra careful when making the connections. Also, the control knobs easily get loose and this amp simply doesn't seem like a high-grade type of product to me. But then again, what can you expect for $20? The enclosure itself is fairly bulky, certainly a lot bigger than some of the other mini amplifiers out there but it does have mounting flanges in case you plan to screw the amp to your wall or speaker cabinet. In fact most of the inside of the enclosure is empty.

To summarize, the Lepai 2020 is a decent amplifier, featuring good sound quality at a very low price tag. It does have its drawbacks, in particular its limited output power and the hissing noise. If you can spend a little more than $20 then there are certainly some better-quality amps out there. But if you are limited in your budget then this amp is definitely worth taking a closer look at.
11 comment|38 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon August 14, 2013
SOUND & LONGEVITY
The sound and longevity of the Lepai is only as good as what you connect to it. The LP-2020A+ is not a $24 miracle worker. It is very cheaply made but still an incredible buy for the price. The Lepai does thin and muddy the sound of whatever you connect to it so it is advantageous to start with quality speakers that have a good frequency response. In the Amazon reviews for the main listing of the Lepai if you type in Bose, B&W, Definitive, Infinity, JBL, Carvin and Boston there are well over 100 reviews that come up. People that connect this amp to good speakers have more positive reviews of the amp. Taking it a step further, people that connect the Lepai to large bookshelf or floor standing speakers, perhaps unsurprisingly, achieve the best sound and have the least complaints. Looking at those reviews the Lepai is a 4 1/2 star product. I know sites like CNET suggest grabbing some old speakers in the garage gathering dust or a cheap pair of surround speakers or a an inexpensive pair of small bookshelf speakers with the Lepai to create a very affordable desktop setup. However, the reality is if you connect inexpensive speakers to this amp you will get mediocre sound

Looking at those reviews, people that connect this amp to quality speakers, large bookshelf or floorstanding speakers, along with having better sound have less failures with the amp. Less efficiency speakers can be more taxing on the amp and when listening to large full sounding speakers compared to small surround speakers you likely will not turn the volume up as high in order to fill the room with sound. If looking to connect the Lepai to a pair of 4 ohm speakers know that a 4 ohm load has less resistance, therefore the amp has to provide more current than with an 8 ohm load. This means that the output transistors have to be more robust with 4 ohm speakers than 8 ohm speakers. It's the cheap parts and circuitry, like the transistors, of the LP-2020A+ that are often failing and not Tripath's TA2020 chip because Topping uses the same chip but with better circuitry and other parts and doesn't have nearly the failures you see happening with the Lepai. Basically, you want the Lepai to do the least amount of work as possible. There are obviously some big quality control issues with the Lepai but it can't be coincidence that people connecting quality speakers to the amp have less failures and complaints.

VOLUME AND NOISE
The LP-2020A+ is rated at 20W per channel into 4 ohm speakers. 20W per channel is unachievable though. Taking into account the THD+N with 8 ohm speakers you can only achieve about 5-6W per channel of clean sound. It may not sound like much but it is enough to fill a room with music. When turning the power on and off my speakers pop. This is not surprising of an amp that is this inexpensive. I'm using the amp with Boston Acoustics HS60 speakers in an open 10' x 10' area. The speakers are on opposite sides of the area. The Boston's are 150 watt speakers, are 8 ohms, have a 6 1/2" woofer and 1" tweeter, and have a sensitivity of 89dB. With the volume turned up to 1 1/2 the amp provides adequate listening. With the volume turned to 3 1/2 the area is full of sound. At 5, the Lepai is surprisingly loud however distortion is clearly creeping in at the midway point. Beyond the midway point, the distortion just gets worse and worse.

With the volume turned to 4 and no sound coming through noise is audible with my ear next to the speaker. At 5, noise is audible a foot away from the speaker. At 6, I can hear noise from a couple feet away. At 7, noise is clear coming through the speaker from several feet away. The LP-2020A+ produces significantly more noise than my Pioneer AV receiver. I feel no problem turning the LP-2020A+ up to 4 (11 o'clock) but don't recommend turning it past that considering the noise and distortion produced past that point.

SOUND QUALITY
This amp clearly doesn't sound as good as the Denon it is replacing or the Pioneer AV Receiver running my home theater system. I wasn't expecting it to, I just wanted a much, much smaller footprint! That doesn't mean the Lepai sounds bad. Not at all, it sounds good when using large bookshelf speakers! Doing a comparison with my Pioneer running a pair of Boston speakers which are the floor standing equivalent of the ones in my computer setup and playing the same music at the same time over both amps, the sound from the Lepai does sound thinner, not as crisp, doesn't have the separation, and doesn't have the bass. A small amount of that can be explained by the difference in bookshelf and floor standing speakers even though they have identical tweeters and woofers.

Connecting a pair of Polk OWM3 surround speakers to the Lepai the sound unsurprisingly becomes noticeably thinner and more muted than when listening to the much larger Boston HS60's. As mentioned earlier, the Lepai does thin and muddy whatever you connect to it. Overall, the sound from the Lepai is good. Taking into account the price and size, it's downright impressive! Considering most people will use the Lepai in place of multimedia speakers or a portable speaker setup for a smartphone, the sound from the LP-2020A+ with the Bostons blows away the sound from sub $200 multimedia speakers or portable speaker setups I've heard.

SUMMARY & OTHER OPTIONS
I've read countless reviews from the original posting of the Lepai, was one of the early ones to purchase and post in the 2013 model product listing, and have continued to read reviews for the 2013 model as they've come in. While the LP-2020A+ has been a 5 star product for me there remains to be quality control issues as evident in the negative reviews. For that reason I feel the amp only deserves 4 stars. Even if you stack the deck in your favor by connecting quality 8 ohm speakers to the LP-2020A+ and keep the volume at manageable levels, there is no guarantee that it won't fail. Even with the quality control issues, the LP-2020A+ I feel is a gamble worth taking as it has an unbeatable bang for your buck.

If you don't feel like gambling, the more expensive Topping TP30 and FiiO A1 Mini are worth considering. Perhaps if you have inefficient speakers or 4 ohm speakers the Topping or FiiO are the way to go anyway because each amp, being a much better build, will better be able to handle the demand from those speakers. People that have used both the TP30 and LP-2020A+ say the sound quality is the same unless you use the USB connection on the TP30. In that case the sound is tighter and has better bass. At $90 the TP30 is significantly more. The $80 FiiO with 14W per channel into 4 ohm speakers isn't as powerful as the Topping or Lepai. The FiiO A1 Mini has overwhelmingly positive reviews stating audiophile quality sound. The lower watt output of the A1 Mini isn't a huge deal since you get nowhere near the stated 20W per channel with the Lepai. After running the Lepai I'm glad I purchased it over the others. The Lepai is plenty good for a desktop system and best of all is very affordable.

UPDATE 10/22/13:
According to CNET, the Audioengine N22 and Nuforce Dia, which both retail for $200, sound the best of the bunch when looking at affordable desktop amps. I recently purchased a used Nuforce Dia. The Dia is vastly superior to the LP-2020A+ in every regard. Whether it is worth 8x the price is debatable and depends on the individual. If you are looking to use an amp regularly, have a sub to plug in to a desktop amp, are seeking something with multiple inputs, and consider sound quality and build quality to be a major consideration, than yes, it is worth it. The Dia does offer audiophile sound quality, the Lepai does not. Just be aware that the Dia only accepts digital audio inputs.

UPDATE 8/20/13:
I thought that the sound quality and power output from the LP-2020A+ paired with the Bukang power supply that shipped with it was good but thought if I could improve sound, power output, and reduce noise by getting a higher amp power supply, why not! I therefore purchased a 6a 12v power supply through Amazon. Having both power supplies plugged and then switching then back and forth on the amp a few dozen times I can confidently say that there is zero difference in sound quality between the 6a supply and the Bukang supply that shipped with the Lepai. I played music from a few different genres while switching the power supplies and not once was there an increase in sound quality or power output from the 6a supply. Pausing the music and then turning the volume up all the way the 6a power supply had no less noise than the Bukang supply.

I don't doubt that the LP-2020A+ has shipped with some bad power supplies. At one time the Lepai shipped with what sounded like a very suspect power supply from Vonage. A part of me wonders if there is now a placebo effect going on. I wanted to believe that buying a higher amp power supply would boost sound quality, power output, and reduce noise. Who wouldn't want those things! When I first played music with this 6a supply I thought, "Wow that sounds good!" Then when I switched to the Bukang supply I thought, "Mmm, that actually sounds the same!" Going back and forth a few dozen times confirmed it. Another option is that with the 2013 model the LP-2020A+ is finally shipping with an adequate power supply. Either way I bet many people have unnecessarily purchased a new power supply for their LP-2020A+.
1818 comments|134 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on January 19, 2014
I actually expected it to be a cheap-o, with static and obvious flaws. I have this running two 8 ohm floor speakers, have had sound in from an iPod and a laptop, let it run for 24 hrs straight, pushed the volume up to max, no distortion, no hissing, no popping, just clean sound.

Very small and light, even after 24 hrs it was not hot, or even warm.
There is a switch to allow bass/treble control or to allow sound as is, no extra stuff to increase the odds of a problem.

Simple, small, powerful, it just amps up the sound.
I did get the 12v 6amp power supply extra, put the one that comes with it in a box of "extra" stuff. = recommended by others, and a very good idea.

UPDATE 6-1-2014 the unit still works, still no problems with it. It is exactly as the pictures and description say: just a simple amp; perfect for my application, most of the tone and adjustments are done on the computer that has the audio library
In use nearly every day, 6 to 8 hours.
review image
11 comment|13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 30, 2013
This little amp is definitely worth the money you pay for it. Easy to hook up. I had it pushing speakers with 17" woofers testing it out. It did the job wonderfully, filled the room with a lot of sound. It should perform well with the smaller speakers ordered to use it with outside. Very small and light weight. Great mounting brackets built right onto the case. Mounted it to a rig to be portable to use inside and outside for different functions, mainly streaming music from my tablet or smartphone; but added cables to the input connections to use with the tv in the spare bedroom. The RCA and 1/8" (3.5mm) input connections are a plus. It does have speaker pop when turned on or off, but I can live with that quirk. The controls actuate well and fine tune the tone and volume. The blue light definitely lets you know it is turned on.
review image review image
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 9, 2013
I was looking for a decent, inexpensive amp to power some small speakers for music. I figured the Lepai would be a gamble; such a cheap amp can't possibly be a consistent 4 star product, right? Well, for me it wasn't. I ordered the amp and an upgraded power supply as many have suggested. The amp arrived, and I unpacked it and hooked it up. The sound quality was good, but certainly not memorable. Then I engaged the tone controls, and it all went downhill. There was a loud hum, with and without a source playing. I tried both power supplies, just to be sure. No improvement. Then I started really looking at the amp. The volume knob was shaky. The RCA plugs were not aligned correctly. The case was also misaligned. It makes me wonder how poorly the inside is assembled.

I am sure that if you get a good sample, this amp is just fine. For me, I am willing to spend more for something with better quality out of the box.

It was worth a try.
33 comments|48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 28, 2013
Great little amp and for $25 bucks it's hard to beat the price.

I had an old writing desk/AM-FM-Turntable cabinet that had been gutted many years ago and was just decoration for the longest time. This cabinet sits in the middle of the house and would be perfect for a music source while doing my housework (I'm a househusband with a bit too much free time). So with this amp, a $30 pair of Pioneer TS-G1344R Car Speaker and a few tools, I now have decent music from my phone, mp3 player or tablet. It's no audiophile setup, but hey, for blasting out some tunes while putzing around the house, it's perfect. I've included a few pics as well.
review image review image
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 12, 2015
We purchased one of these for a conference room setup. After getting it hooked up we noticed that the volume had to be turned almost all the way up to get decent sound out of the in wall speakers in the room. We figured the speakers were just inefficient and left it at that. A few days later I brought in another Lepai LP-2020+ amplifier and tried it out. Holy cow, at 50% volume it was as loud or louder than this amp at almost full volume! That's when we noticed this was a Lepy, not a Lepai, and it says "Stereo Class-D Digital Audio Amplifier" instead of "Stereo Class-T Digital Audio Amplifier", and it's a LP-2020A, not a LP-2020A+ like the Lepai (which was purchased from a Parts place with Express in the name).

Instead of tearing it apart to see what the difference was inside, we sent it back to Amazon, so I can't tell you what chip or circuit differences there was between this model (Lepy LP-2020A Stereo Class-D Digital Audio Amplifier) and the other model (Lepai LP-2020A+ Stereo Class-T Digital Audio Amplifier). Let's just say this model seems to be made to look like the Lepai at first glance. The box says that Lepy is Lepai, but the difference in performance makes me think somebody might not be telling the truth.

Long story short, if you think you're buying a Lepai Class-T amp, think again, this is worded different, and the sonic difference we experienced was dramatic to say the least! I gave it 3 stars because it did work, but if I ever buy another one I will make sure it's a Lepai from that other company.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on December 3, 2013
I got this mainly just to play with it and didn't expect much. I was surprised with what I got. Its small, but its more than powerful enough to power most home speakers. If you want an amp for a garage or some other place that you want music from an ipod or other music player, this would work great. Not top-level, audiophile stuff by any means, but great for what it is.
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 14, 2013
How can you go wrong for 25 bucks, the sound is very good the volume is good as well. You wont rock the block but for powering speakers on your patio this is the ticket (You can get a neighbor to complain though). Build quality is what you would expect for the price. The blue led is tacky, and the speaker bindings are cheap, but it is 25 bucks. this will not compare to any good sound system but it is very surprising what you get for the money. Any place you wanted sound but the budget was the issue this will work quite nicely, I have given this to people as First Apartment gifts, and and every one who see this in action ends up finding some place to implement the 25 dollar solution. I tried changing the power supply to get better sound as recommend in many posts but the power supply I picked actually degraded the sound quality. I am a Audiophile hobbyist, and have two very nice systems and this is not as good as those as that I am using speakers that are left over from previous pre-audiophile attempts at home theater, but I do not want to use this to power $750+ speakers. I have used this with the First Generation Andrew Jones Pioneer book shelves (6ohm) and it was really nice. I have listened to systems from Big Box retailes that sound a lot worse. I highly recommend this little amp just mount it out of sight, and let people guess if you want them to think you have spent more. Last tip this will not do classical music with a lot of transitions well but for back ground music for dinning alfresco or a little bit of Zeppelin for the post yard-work refreshments this amp will make you realize that for 25 dollars you should have done it sooner.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 91 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.