Customer Reviews


35 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, Little Donnie has answered our prayers.
It has been a long time coming, but it looks like we UCB fans finally win out, and get the next season. Who else has had the first season for years, hoping and praying that the good folks at Comedy Central would release from bondage the now practically "lost episodes"? The UCB is the closest thing the U.S. has to a pure sketch comedy group, and UCB is up there in...
Published on June 29, 2007 by Sketch Comedy Fan

versus
41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like an intern slapped this together
After all these years of waiting I didn't think anything could lessen the impact of this set's final release, but somehow, Comedy Central still managed to cheapen it for me. From the "Drawn Together" commercials you can't skip through (hasn't Dave Chapelle already sold enough DVDs for you guys?) to the grainy, interlaced video (no, I'm not talking about the hidden camera...
Published on September 21, 2007 by HugeStakkaBoFan


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 34 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At last, Little Donnie has answered our prayers., June 29, 2007
By 
Sketch Comedy Fan "CB" (Salt Lake City, UT USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
It has been a long time coming, but it looks like we UCB fans finally win out, and get the next season. Who else has had the first season for years, hoping and praying that the good folks at Comedy Central would release from bondage the now practically "lost episodes"? The UCB is the closest thing the U.S. has to a pure sketch comedy group, and UCB is up there in brilliance with the Kids In The Hall, and dare I say it, possibly even Monty Python. High praise I know, but the Brigade deserve it. I can't wait for the release. Intelligent comedy and satire up there with the best.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


41 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Looks like an intern slapped this together, September 21, 2007
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
After all these years of waiting I didn't think anything could lessen the impact of this set's final release, but somehow, Comedy Central still managed to cheapen it for me. From the "Drawn Together" commercials you can't skip through (hasn't Dave Chapelle already sold enough DVDs for you guys?) to the grainy, interlaced video (no, I'm not talking about the hidden camera footage interspersed with the sketches), it seems like this was a project they just couldn't get done quickly or cheaply enough. I suppose I shouldn't be surprised considering the way they've treated the show from day one, but I was hoping they'd finally seen the value of the work they continually let slip away and die in favor of Carlos Mencia and Blue Collar TV. No such luck.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars finally!, July 12, 2007
By 
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
it's about f#*!ing time! please do not keep us waiting so long for season 3, comedy central.... this was the best, most under-rated sketch comedy show ever:)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is season 3????, September 22, 2010
By 
Grrgoyl (Aurora, CO USA) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
I was thrilled to find two seasons of UCB on DVD. Yes, season one is better than two, but they both have priceless moments. I'm only writing this review to demand season three! Where is season three??? Why do you treat fans like this, Comedy Central?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If you enjoyed SCTV....., August 31, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
If you enjoyed the old "SCTV" show, you will enjoy the Upright Citizen's Brigade." Both comedy series' have that original, slightly warped vibe and wonderfully talented performers. Loved it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars UCB fans will love it, but its not their best work, December 14, 2007
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
If you're not familiar with the Upright Citizens Brigade, they were a skit comedy group that wove their sketches together (much like Monty Python and Mr. Show, though not as good) creating a full circle to the lives of their characters. The overall premise of the show was that the four characters you see on the front cover were a secret organization located at the center of the earth who sought new ways to bring chaos to the people of the world by any means possible. I recommend the 1st season much more than this one.
If you are familiar with the UCB, just buy it already! Let's hope the 3rd season comes out in the next decade. Oh, by the way, the following skits are NOT on this 2nd season collection: 'Werewolf sex', 'Vibrating boot', 'Pro Thunderball', and the episode in which a man is being held captive in a basement though he is unaware that he is actually hooked up to a virtual reality machine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Best Since Flying Circus, September 24, 2007
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
If you have any love for sketch comedy or improv, or the intersection thereof, you'll love this series. Season 3 cannot come fast enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Some of the best sketch comedy ever!, October 19, 2007
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
Both the name of the performance troupe and the name of the organization they portrayed, Upright Citizens Brigade (or UCB) was a show that ran for three short seasons on Comedy Central.

Sketch comedy and guerilla street theater were the sword and with them, the UCB skewered modern life with thematically linked episodes and season-long running story lines. Featuring Amy Poehler, Matt Besser, Matt Walsh and Ian Roberts as the UCB (and many other characters!) and a slew of comedians and actors like Rob Cordry of the Daily Show (many of whom got their start working with the UCB).

Springing forth from long-running live shows, the UCB were a shadowy anarchist organization, fighting every day to break the tyranny of a civilization seemingly designed to drive people insane. That civilization? None other than our own. This world was also home to many memorable recurring characters, all brought to life by the expert members of the UCB troupe.

The second season continued and built-upon a strong first season. The first season, while great, was mainly made up of sketches and story lines the UCB had been performing or working on for years, although perfected and sometimes expanded for television. The second season was conversely new material, specifically written for the show, or developed from their concurrent and weekly live improv show in New York. This meant a greater cohesion in the threaded stories of the sometimes diverse sketches contained in an episode. Some topics covered in this season: the (at the time) trend of bastardizing Asian culture, the American Drug War, religion, theme restaurants and even the weather.

Though cruelly canceled by a heartless and terrible corporation, the UCB as a group continues to perform and teach improv comedy at their theaters in NYC and LA.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Where is Season 3?, November 5, 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
Anybody who enjoys sketch comedy will absolutely love Upright
Citizens Brigade. The seasons get better as they go but where is Season 3? I have been waiting for a couple years now for it to come out, and I am beside myself that Comedy Central likes to make this show an afterthought. Stop wating your time producing piles of poop like "Ugly Americans", "Halfway House", and anything that has Carlos Mencia (AKA Ned Yolnist) and do us real comedy fans a favor. Just release the 3rd season of UCB already and you'll have us crazy fans of your case. Not to mention UCB itself, who is not shy about their feelings for Comedy Central in their commentaries.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Been a LONG time coming, October 20, 2007
By 
Jesse Neufeld (Montreal, Quebec Canada) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 (DVD)
Finally they've released the second season of one of the funniest shows ever. I can't wait till season 3 comes out. The commentary is pretty good. They've recorded commentary for every episode, unlike the first season, which is a plus. It can drag at times when they decide to impersonate certain characters (the Tite brothers) but also has many gems ("Bong Boy! Are you really here?"). If you've never seen it, I would sugest starting with season one, but this is a MUST own for any fan. Special guests include: Tina Fey, Horatio Sanz, Rob Corddry, Wu-Tang Clan and David Cross.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2
Upright Citizens Brigade: Season 2 by Matt Walsh (DVD - 2007)
$26.99 $13.32
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.