Digital List Price: $1.49
Kindle Price: $0.00

Save $1.49 (100%)

These promotions will be applied to this item:

Some promotions may be combined; others are not eligible to be combined with other offers. For details, please see the Terms & Conditions associated with these promotions.

Deliver to your Kindle or other device

Flip to back Flip to front
Audible Narration Playing... Paused   You are listening to a sample of the Audible narration for this Kindle book.
Learn more

Uprising (The Fall of Haven Book 1) Kindle Edition

4 out of 5 stars 131 customer reviews

See all formats and editions Hide other formats and editions
Price
New from Used from
Kindle
"Please retry"
$0.00

Length: 375 pages Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled

"The Short Drop" by Matthew FitzSimmons
Meet the assassin The Washington Post calls "a doozy of a sociopath" in this debut thriller from Matthew FitzSimmons. Available on Kindle and in paperback.

Enter your mobile number or email address below and we'll send you a link to download the free Kindle App. Then you can start reading Kindle books on your smartphone, tablet, or computer - no Kindle device required.

  • Apple
  • Android
  • Windows Phone
  • Android

To get the free app, enter your email address or mobile phone number.


Product Details

  • File Size: 992 KB
  • Print Length: 375 pages
  • Simultaneous Device Usage: Unlimited
  • Publication Date: December 15, 2009
  • Sold by: Amazon Digital Services LLC
  • Language: English
  • ASIN: B0031Y6TKW
  • Text-to-Speech: Enabled
  • X-Ray:
  • Word Wise: Not Enabled
  • Lending: Enabled
  • Enhanced Typesetting: Enabled
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #18,921 Free in Kindle Store (See Top 100 Free in Kindle Store)
  •  Would you like to give feedback on images or tell us about a lower price?


More About the Author

Author of The Legend of Ivan, A Fickle Fate and the Fall of Haven series, Justin lives in the often frigid or sweltering climes of Saint Paul Minnesota with his wife and two cats.

He draws influence from such authors as Orson Scott Card and Dan Simmons as well as from his primary hobby in gaming. His goal as an author is to ferry readers to new worlds, to tell amazing stories, and simply to enjoy the wonders of literature. His current project is a follow-up novel or series to the popular Fall of Haven series, currently entitled Beyond Haven.

Customer Reviews

Top Customer Reviews

Format: Kindle Edition
I am about 1/2 way through the book and though I usually wait till the end to review a book, I felt the need to review this book now. I am really enjoying the book and think its one of the best I had read in a long time. I didn't pick it up here at Amazon and my copy was free but I am buying a copy here because the author deserves to be paid for such an entertaining novel and at $0.99 its a steal.Its so hard to find a a really good read that I feel obligated to pay for something that entertains me so well.Besides where else can I get great entertainment for less than a dollar :)

Haven has a feel similar to Orwell or Huxley as far as the storyline and writing style in my opinion and it is well though out and well written.
The characters are believable and not cardboard 2 dimensional beings.I find myself rooting for or hating characters which I rarely find novels are able to do for me.I like strong female characters and this book definitely has one in Kaylee. She is tough but likeable and knows how to take care of herself but shows moments of doubt and weakness which makes her very believable.

Its hard for me to find books that suck me in so completely but this one definitely has. I highly recommend this book to anyone who likes Sci/Fi with a hint of social commentary. It is well worth the price and I look forward to reading more by Justin K.
I would have given it 5 stars but there are several typos and editing could be better. The typos not completely distracting as the mistakes are few but they are there and the editing could have been better.
2 Comments 52 of 56 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
Let me state first that this story has all the elements I love in fiction: A futuristic civilization torn apart by class wars, revolution, retribution, betrayal, a golden hope for a better future, and guns. Lots of guns. I'm sure others have written synopses in their reviews, so I'll skip that and say that I like the story line quite a bit. However, there's far too much detracting from the story to have made it enjoyable for me. Specifically: 1) This book is way too long. A large number of scenes could be shortened or omitted altogether without affecting the plot at all. I'd say a cut of at least 35% would be in order. 2) Are you a better copy editor than a fifth-grader? Neither is whoever edited this book! Every single page contains typos, doubled words, missing words, misspellings ("lead" for "led" and "phase" for "faze," to scrape the surface), and syntax errors galore. I'm used to forgiving occasional errors in e-books, but this was beyond the "pail." 3) I stored in my memory pages of dialogue among minor characters, convinced that they would have some impact on the plot resolution later, but they didn't at all. They added nothing to the story except clumsiness and bulk. 4) The resolution itself feels empty and hollow after such a long slog -- unsatisfying is an understatement.

This writer has a good imagination, and coming up with original story lines hard to do. If the scenes had been limited to just what moves the plot along and if the mechanics had been paid any attention, this could have been a winner.
7 Comments 56 of 62 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition Verified Purchase
I'm a fairly new fan to dystopian fiction. In Haven by Justin Kemppainen "No action is without consequence". This couldn't be truer for Kaylee who is caught in the middle of a war that is brewing between the Citizens and Elijah, the slumlord king.

In this post-apocalyptic nightmare, it is truly a struggle to survive unless you are a Citizen. If you are a Citizen you are well-fed, well-sheltered, well-clothed and healthy. To be a Citizen is to live separate from the filthy and downtrodden, the disease ridden and the poor. To not be a Citizen is to fight to survive. Danger lurks around every corner in many guises; murder, starvation, disease, exposure to elements and lack of basic necessities.

The struggle between classes is reminiscent of times past and present; a different setting, certainly, but it smacks of the same prejudice that has always existed whether it be racial, social etc... of course, In Haven it is much more extreme.I like the way the author integrated it into the dystopian setting where people are starving, being kidnapped and `reprogrammed' in order to serve the elite. It is a compelling book and very well written.

I look forward to more works from Mr. Kemppainen. I'm not sure if there is a sequel in the works or not. If so, I'll definitely read it or anything else he writes.
Comment 15 of 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
Format: Kindle Edition
I found this book on the Free Kindle Books list this past week, and decided "Why not? Sounds interesting." It kind of took me by surprise. I wasn't expecting to get so caught up in it, but before I knew it the chapters flew by. I was sucked into this story and quite entertained. It's a full-length novel, not a short story, for which I was glad.

As to what the book is about - it's a dystopian world in the vein of We, Brave New World, Anthem, and that general theme - you know, extreme social stratification, enslavement, tyranny, etc. There's more to it than that, but others have summarized it nicely and I don't want to give spoilers or a huge plot summary. I found most of the characters likeable, or at least understandable. Of course, there are a few characters I wanted to smack or get theirs.

The pacing was pretty good - a few parts seemed to be a bit slow, but I think it was mostly my impatience to find out what was going on with Character X or Z. As for the typos mentioned in earlier reviews, I didn't notice many in this (revised) copy. I'm glad there was an epilogue as well.

I hope there's a sequel. I would buy it. According to the last page, it should be out this year, but I don't see it listed. Guess I'll need to keep watch.
Comment 3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Most Recent Customer Reviews


Forums

Topic From this Discussion
The Haven Sequel
I'm glad to hear there'll be a sequel. I was hoping there might be.

I'm looking forward to your next novel, you're on my 'to be watched' list so I'll be waiting for it! Any hints you want to throw out there on the story-line? Are you staying with the same genre?
Nov 2, 2010 by Kristi-The Book Faery |  See all 13 posts
Have something you'd like to share about this product?
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


Search Customer Discussions
Search all Amazon discussions