Automotive Holiday Deals Books Holiday Gift Guide Shop Men's Athletic Shoes Learn more nav_sap_plcc_6M_fly_beacon Adele egg_2015 All-New Amazon Fire TV Get Ready for the Winter Martha Stewart American Made Find the Best Purina Pro Plan for Your Pet Amazon Gift Card Offer minions minions minions  Amazon Echo Starting at $84.99 Kindle Black Friday Deals Entertainment Collectibles Shop Now HTL

Ursa Major [Explicit]

August 17, 2009 | Format: MP3

Song Title
Your Amazon Music account is currently associated with a different marketplace. To enjoy Prime Music, go to Your Music Library and transfer your account to (US).

Product Details

  • Release Date: August 17, 2009
  • Label: MRI
  • Record Company Required Metadata: Music file metadata contains unique purchase identifier. Learn more.
  • Total Length: 47:31
  • Genres:
  • Format: Explicit Lyrics
  • Average Customer Review: 4.0 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (104 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #40,776 Paid in Albums (See Top 100 Paid in Albums)

Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews

43 of 49 people found the following review helpful By K.T. May on August 17, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Tuesday, August 18th, Third Eye Blind will release their first full-length studio album in six years, "Ursa Major". They have been working on and performing the tracks live for quite sometime but it is officially completed and ready for release! 3EB will also be releasing a live album, "Ursa Minor" at either the end of this year or the beginning of next which will feature some more new material.

Below is a brief review of each track on the album upon first listen. These numeric opinions are subject to change over repeat listenings, but you can preview the album in its entirety on the band's Myspace page and see if you agree with the ratings below.

Ursa Major

1) Can You Take Me?--(6)--a solid debut track, it rocks but not too hard. Frontman Stephan Jenkins is tired of temperance. "Let's start a riot, 'cause a riot's overdue!"

2) Don't Believe a Word--(9)--by now, if you are a 3EB fan, you have more than likely seen the music video for this first single. The album version is exactly the same so if you enjoyed the video version, you'll be happy that they didn't change anything for the album. The David Marion mix of this song is an excellent version as well, if you can get your hands on it.

3) Bonfire--(7)--if you have heard the acoustic version that was floating around and you were hoping that the studio version could match it, or at least come close, then you will not be disappointed by this version. The percussion accompaniment and the vocal mix flesh out the track, giving it everything it was missing acoustically.

4) Sharp Knife--(7)--this is another song that was floating around on the internet as a live version which, like "Bonfire", is done a great deal of justice by being tightened up in the studio.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
18 of 20 people found the following review helpful By Michael Yovkovich VINE VOICE on August 18, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Six years have passed since San Francisco trio Third Eye Blind released their last album "Out of the Vein." While many things have changed in the music landscape since then, the release of "Ursa Major" proves that Third Eye Blind is still one of the most relevant bands on the scene today. The album plays out as such.

1. Can You Take Me- 8/10
Solid uptempo rocker with a searing guitar riff and an infectious bridge breakdown.

2. Don't Believe A Word- 9/10
This song is best described as an all out rock anthem. Jangly verses lead up to a chorus that is worthy of being a stadium rock song. Controversial and witty, lead singer Stephan Jenkins shows off his lyrical wit on this track.

3. Bonfire- 10/10
A haunting intro, understated midtempo verses, and the most catchy chorus on the album make this one of the best songs Third Eye Blind has ever released.

4. Sharp Knife- 10/10
A rapid fire gem, this track grabs you at the outset and takes you on a musical adventure. The verses build up seamlessly to a soaring chorus that is one of the highlights on the album.

5. One In Ten- 7/10
Weakest song on the album. A slow acoustic ballad that just doesn't connect as well as the other songs on "Ursa."

6. About To Break- 9/10
Similar to the song "Wounded" off their sophomore album "Blue," this song starts slow and builds up to a powerful chorus. The bridge is the highlight of the track as it builds up to a face melting guitar riff and a sing-a-long ending.

7. Summertown- 9/10
Stephan Jenkins went a bit overboard with the rapping at the end of this song, so I prefer to skip to the next track around the 3:30 mark. If you do that, you'll find this track to be one of the best on the album.
Read more ›
Comment Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
28 of 34 people found the following review helpful By P. Romberg on August 20, 2009
Format: Audio CD
Now, I love Third Eye Blind and this is the first review I have written for anything. I have seen them five times, every time was amazing; one of the best live bands going. But I am baffled by the number of 5-star reviews going on here. I was torn between a 3-star and 4-star review, but in the end, I think it was a matter of me wanting the album to be better than it really is. So, if I am being honest with myself, it only rates as a 3-star, 3 and a half if it were possible. But come on people! With the exception of a handful of bands, like The Beatles and U2, most bands do not have multiple 5-star albums on their resume, and if 3eb has one, this ain't it. It is still a good album, and there are definitely worse ways to spend 4 bucks. If you are looking for a reason why, heck, I say why not.
It does feel a little underwhelming for a 6 year wait. There are a number of good tunes, not as hook-y as usual, but frankly, it's disappointing that these are the lyrics Stephen came up while "suffering" from writers block. Here his words come off a little average and pedestrian. Some people describe him as a 'profound' lyricist, but I think that is a little off the mark. He is certainly witty and clever and heartfelt, and even deep, but not what I would consider profound. I don't want to turn this into a "they're not what they used to be" rant, but I think the songs have been lacking since Kevin Cadogan's departure years ago. There was just something about his use of alternate tunings that made their early songs more interesting and unique instead of standard and somewhat blah.
I'm not going to give each song an individual review, but there a few things I'd like to comment on. The first two songs are nice and punchy, but pretty average.
Read more ›
4 Comments Was this review helpful to you? Yes No Sending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?