Customer Reviews


193 Reviews
5 star:
 (146)
4 star:
 (35)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (7)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Say [Money] Never Killed Anyone, but You'll Die Laughing...
...when you listen to the audio commentary by Robert Zemeckis, Kurt Russell and Bob Gale!
This movie has such little redeeming social qualities, one is almost tempted to never acknowledge having seen it, must less acknowledge that you laughed yourself silly when you saw it in 1980, but I've got to confess. Not only did I enjoy it the first 10 times I saw it, but now...
Published on March 20, 2002 by George McAdams

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Used Cars - DVD
Product arrived on time And I actually watched this movie a few days after it's arrival. After viewing this movie I thought it would be much funnier than it actually was. Oh well...I guess they can't all be really funny!
Published 2 months ago by Jimmy C.


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

61 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars They Say [Money] Never Killed Anyone, but You'll Die Laughing..., March 20, 2002
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
...when you listen to the audio commentary by Robert Zemeckis, Kurt Russell and Bob Gale!
This movie has such little redeeming social qualities, one is almost tempted to never acknowledge having seen it, must less acknowledge that you laughed yourself silly when you saw it in 1980, but I've got to confess. Not only did I enjoy it the first 10 times I saw it, but now with the audio commentary by Zemeckis, Russell and Gale you will have your sides hurting from all your laughing.
While Kurt Russell is the star of the movie and he gives a memorable performance, it's Jack Warden in the duo role of competing auto car dealership owners who steals it. I've never seen Warden give a bad performance, and in this movie you get two great performances. However, he's not the only actor who gives an over-the-top performance:
Gerrit Graham as the suspicious co-conspirator/salesman is about as disrespectable a salesman as one would ever find, with a libido that would make one hesitant about introducing him to ones sister.
Frank McRae plays Jim the mechanic, who along with the beagle that plays Toby, rounds out a cast of true misfits
This DVD normally would be rated 4 stars, but with the audio commentary by Kemeckis, Russell and Gale you can multiply those by a 1.25 factor for a full 5 stars.
One note: DO NOT TRY TO EAT OR DRINK WHILE LISTENING TO THE AUDIO COMMENTARY, cause you'll be laughing so hard you might accidentally choke on your food.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Hiliarous movie!, June 18, 2000
By 
Rick (Las Vegas, NV) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Used Cars [VHS] (VHS Tape)
This movie is incredibly funny! It's a movie that pulls no punches, and will hit you square onto your funny bone. Kurt Russell's best role, starring as Rudy Russo, a used car salesmen who's ambition is to run for congress. Rudy works for a guy named Luke Fuchs, who owns the used car lot. His brother, Roy Fuchs, owns another lot directly across the highway. There's one thing Rudy must do before going to the Capitol Building - he first must protect the used car lot he works at before Roy claims the property, which would ultimately be used as part of a new new highway, which would increase business for Roy's lot. Roy will stop at nothing, even murdering his own brother! The script is amazing, the plot is original, and you'll finally know the schemes a used car salesman will employ to get you to buy a total klunker. Toby the dog is a riot! The dog, alone, had me rolling on the floor. Jack Warden puts on a great, great dual-performance as the rival brothers. 'Lenny' and 'Squiggy' from "Laverne & Shirley" star as friends of Rudy's. Al Lewis, the beloved 'Grandpa' from "The Munsters", stars as a mean, tobacco chewing judge. If you are into great movies, don't rent this one... *BUY IT* as part of your video collection!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars What have I done to the children?, September 4, 2006
By 
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
When cineophiles think of classic 80s comedies, I would only hope that Used Cars makes their list. I had the unique opportunity to watch this film, and it took me back to a time when bathroom humor and gross sexual jokes were not needed to create hysterical comedy. It reminded me of a time when spontaneity and simplicity allowed for more laughter than imagined. This was the case with Used Cars. As I am a man in the used car business, I was a bit nervous about watching this film and perhaps seeing myself muddled in the middle. Needless to say that after watching this movie, I believe that every used car salesman (or anyone in sales for that matter) should watch Used Cars for not just Zemeckis' silly look at the profession, but because it actually does cover the true basis needed to run a successful dealership. As I watched this film, I couldn't think that Zemeckis made Russell and Graham's characters into very creative individuals, sometimes bending the law to assist in gaining a stronger customer base. They were smart, shrewd, and clever when it came to making the customer feel comfortable buying a car from them, which opened the door to more laughs per mile than most modern day comedies. Used Cars is a staple in the comedy genre, demonstrating that you can spoof a career, reinvent an age old story, and use mathematics (1 mile of cars = 250 cars) all to make a viewer laugh. It is a film that will make me laugh again and again, proving that it sustained well over the test of time.

I genuinely miss these types of comedies. Used Cars reminded me of a combination of The Blues Brothers, Police Academy, and License to Drive. It reminded me of a time when comedy was funny because of the language, actions, and final result. Sure, it followed a pattern that can be seen in nearly every film from this decade, but it was a tactic that worked well for those looking to make simple audiences laugh with simple jokes. You cannot find this in today's movies at all. What made Used Cars stand out initially is Kurt Russell's obvious enjoyment of his role and his character. Sometimes in films like these you have comedians going through the motions, but overall it doesn't feel as if they are they for anything more than the paycheck. That is not the case with this cast. Either due to the direction of Zemeckis or the obviously funny script by Bob Gale, the entire cast seemed to fall neatly in place. What made this film reach even further was the idea that each of these characters had a separate life. They were not your cliché characters that fell into the same mold. I love that Russell wanted to run for US Senate (a great sequel could have been spawned with this idea) and that Graham's superstitions were true (enough to help Russell in a tight space). I loved the use of McKean and Lander, obviously playing off their characters from Laverne & Shirley. Could you imagine this film today using television stars in different roles? It wouldn't work. Zemeckis pulled together a great cast and Russell fit the part of the used car salesman perfectly. I especially loved the dual role of Jack Warden, who continued to make me laugh again and again with his ancient family feud. This film worked because of the characters and while each are flawed within the film, the actors playing them are as close to comedic perfection as you can get.

With such a strong cast in place, one would imagine that Zemeckis wouldn't have to worry about a strong story. You couldn't be more wrong. The 80s were a time of underdogs moving up and genuinely tangent plans coming together at the last minute. What other film could you find 250 cars running to the desert, all helmed by high school sophomores, each bought by the evil villain from Three Amigos? I miss these types of films. You knew what was going to happen before it did, but you went along for the ride anyway because it was fun. Today's comedies are only half-way there. You watch them knowing how they will end, but the ride just isn't as fun any longer. Used Cars uses the "Keep it Simple, Stupid" technique which created lifelong comedy and a possible cult film amongst salesmen. I thought that the entire premise between Russell and Warden was nearly like watching a cartoon, i.e. the old Bugs Bunny vs. Yosemite Sam. The commercials that Russell and Graham pull off are comic genius adding more to the story and the overall zaniness of the situation. Again, this isn't rocket science comedy, this is simple. It is easy to laugh at the words, the characters, and even the situation because it can be related to you. You, as an audience member, can see the used car salesman, you can laugh at the technique, and you can even find yourself rooting for him closer to the end. It is a story about being passionate about your job, even if it means you have the bottom of the barrel career.

Overall, I thought this film was hysterical. I was ready to watch a dated film that felt like a time warp back to the 80s, but instead what I discovered was huge laughter and crazy characters that I wouldn't mind re-exploring again. Russell was the perfect choice for the role, demonstrating to us that he can move past his "Disney" image and give us something more robust, more comical, and definitely more adult. If you had to watch this film for one person, it would be Jack Warden. His blend of comedy is superb. He is the epitome of the evil car salesman, but does it with the finesse of comedy that his actions are immediately laugh-out-loud funny. Zemeckis has created a gem that will take you back to the greatness of 80s comedy, but also will make you laugh at today's standards. This is a truly funny film that will be enjoyed in this household for years to come!

Grade: **** out of *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT F'IN MOVIE! WATCH IT AGAIN AND AGAIN!, December 28, 2005
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
USED CARS came out in 1980, and is without a doubt a classic. Kurt Russels finest role next to Captain Ron. The plot basically revolves around two brothers (both played by Jack Warden) who own used car lots right across from each other. They go to extremes to divert attention away from the others car lot. Kurt Russel is the young guy trying to help and meanwhile pursue a love interest while being a complete skeezball (hey, he's selling used cars here!)
I haven't seen this movie in ages but I used to watch this one all the time back when I was a kid. My dad had the video and he too, loved it. Great tasteless fun, especially when they air the television commercial over (president) Carters Address. Or when they stick that old guys dead corpse into one of his cars to make it look like an accident. Oh yeah, a thousand laughs in this piece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Classic Funnies!, August 12, 2006
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
This has been my favorite comedy for along time. You'll have to watch it more than once to catch ALL the little remarks and events. Just remember $50 never killed anybody, and what about red cars!?..Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime Insanity in a Used Car Lot!, August 6, 2003
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
USED CARS was director Robert Zemeckis' follow-up to the sweet, sentimental I WANNA HOLD YOUR HAND, and, as he joked in his audio commentary, he wanted to cut loose, swear, and do something supremely tasteless as a follow-up. He succeeded magnificently!
This is a wild tribute to corruption, deceit, and dishonesty, in a field second only to politics in tarnished reputations! Kurt Russell is the crooked head salesman in a broken-down car lot, saving money to buy a seat in Congress "where the really BIG kickback money is". His boss, sweet-natured Luke Fuchs (Jack Warden), has a bad heart and a twin brother, truly nasty Roy Fuchs (also Warden, who is wonderful in the dual roles) running a competing used car lot across the highway. Evil Fuchs NEEDS his brother's dealership, as a state highway is about to be built over his lot, so he has an employee pose as a customer, and 'try out' one of Luke's cars with the old man in the car. After the test drive from Hell, Luke stumbles inside his trailer, and dies from a heart attack.
Russell realizes any hope to raise enough cash to run for office would be shattered with Fuch's death, so he and his fellow employees bury the old man and his car in the lot, and fibs that Fuchs had left town on vacation. Then Fuchs' daughter, Barbara (Deborah Harmon) arrives, and things get sticky!
The film becomes a live-action Warner Bros. cartoon, as 'good guy' Russell and 'bad guy' Warden try scheme after scheme to ruin the other...Warden offers a carnival in his lot, Russell offers strippers...Warden does TV commercials, Russell brings in two disreputable cable guys ('Lenny and Squiggy' Michael McKean and David L. Lander) to break into a Presidential address with an 'R'-rated ad that would leave the FCC in apoplexy! This insanity builds to an epic climax, as hundreds of junkyard cars, driven by Driver's Ed students, race to fill Russell's car lot, and prevent a court-ruled closing.
The cast is matchless; in addition to Russell, Warden, and Harmon, outrageous humor is provided by Gerrit Graham (who gleefully shotguns Warden's cars in another 'illegal' TV spot), and Frank McRae, as a mechanic you DON'T want to disagree with. And don't forget a certain dog, who outperforms nearly everyone in the cast!
This is the ONLY 'R'-rated film Zemeckis has ever directed (the BACK TO THE FUTURE trilogy and FORREST GUMP are among his later triumphs), yet USED CARS was a commercial failure when first released, despite rave reviews. AIRPLANE! came out at the same time, and, unfortunately, the public wasn't interested in watching TWO 'over-the-top' comedies. So USED CARS languished, until video and dvd reintroduced it to a new generation.
It's growing status a a cult classic is perhaps the BEST proof the "Crime Pays" in USED CARS!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Bill & Hillary: the Early Years", September 3, 2002
By 
The JuRK (Our Vast, Cultural Desert) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
USED CARS was called a "sleeper hit" in the summer of 1980, but you'll understand why it never broke out when you listen to the interesting commentary by the filmmakers (a bungled ad campaign looks like the main culprit since the movie overcame it to achieve its "sleeper" or cult status). Kurt Russell also joins in on the commentary and I thought it was funny how he kept constantly comparing his character--the amoral car huckster Rudy Russo--to a young Bill Clinton.
This DVD is definitely worth it for the commentary alone, but the movie is still hilarious. One thing I have noticed introducing it to people now: our society hears so much profanity these days on cable TV and music and movies that the film's funniest scenes--when the car dealers hack renegade commercials into football games and the president's address--lose some of their punch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A gut busting classic!, June 9, 2004
By 
Joseph W. Hayes "snake" (mobile, alabama United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
BEHOLD! PERHAPS THE GREATEST COMEDY EVER MADE,USED CARS IS A MUST HAVE ON DVD.I DONT UNDERSTAND WHY THE BONUS FEATURES ARE NOT LISTED ABOVE SO HERE THEY GO:VINTAGE ADVERTISING GALLERY,AUDIO COMMENTARY:ZEMECKIS,GALE,RUSSELL, OUTTAKES,RADIO @ TV PROMOS,PRODUCTION NOTES AND A COOL THING FOR TRUE FANS OF RUSSELL,A TV AD FOR THE ACTUAL CAR LOT,WITH THE REAL OWNER INTRODUCING RUSSELL WHO THEN GIVES A SALES PITCH FOR A CAR ON THE LOT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "He thinks I'm lyin', Jim.", September 29, 2004
By 
This review is from: Used Cars (DVD)
An uneven, but very funny film with some spectacular laughs. "Used Cars" emerges as the best of the big budget, overblown comedies that had run rampet in the late 70's/early 80's ("1941" stands as the ultimate budget-breaker of the time).

Kurt Russell is dead-on perfect as Rudy Russo, used car dealer and wannabbe local politician. His effort to raise $60,000 to "buy" a seat on the city council seems in peril when his boss (Jack Warden) unexpectedly (but hilariously) dies of a heart attack. The boss's no-good evil twin brother (also Warden) plots to take over the car lot. So Russell and his rag-tag bunch proceed to hide the body of the boss and made outrageous tv commercials in order to raise the money and save the lot.

The supporting characters range from underused (SCTV's Joe Flaherty as a lawyer) to drop-dead funny (Frank McRae as the oversized, single-minded Jim the Mechanic). But Gerrit Graham shines as the nuerotic Jeff whose phobias (such as his avoidence of the color red) are very funny indeed.

The funniest parts of the film deal with the three tv commercials Russell and crew produce. The first one takes place during a football game when Jeff discovers the car he's selling is red. The second one uses strippers and a "disco" theme which must've seemed quite odd to those watching the film at theaters since disco itself had "died" a year earlier. Still, it's pretty funny stuff.

The third one, perhaps the most hilarious single scene ever filmed (well, that's a bit much, but still...), takes place during President Carter's address to the nation. In it, Jeff proceeds to destroy the evil brother's cars as Marshall Lucky. As testiment to how funny this scene is, I've seen no fewer that ten people actually drop to the floor and pound the carpet with their fist in histerics...and that includes my mother.

"Used Cars" also has countless great lines, a wonderful turn by "The Munsters" Al Lewis as an honest, if tough judge, and the beautiful Deborah Harmon as the boss's daughter who unexpectedly shows up and throws a kink into Russell's plans.

The only problem with the film, and it's a fairly big one, is the final twenty minutes which dissolves into an uninspired car chase across the desert and a tacked on "happy" ending. Still, "Used Cars" is really funny and for those of you over 18 (this is not for the kids), a really enjoyable experience.

Note: Look for a scene in which Kurt Russell gets out of bed to answer his phone (the first time, after the "disco" commercial). He points "Elvis-like" to a cheap, two-foot statue of Elvis that he has on his headboard. Kurt Russell played Elvis just two years before on network tv.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "Used Cars" gives sleaze a good name., December 11, 2000
This review is from: Used Cars [VHS] (VHS Tape)
"Used Cars" is so raucous and vulgar--at times resembling a Three Stooges movie as rewritten by Martin Lawrence--that some people will be turned off at once, not seeing either the brilliance of the satire or the hilariousness of the physical jokes. The movie exists in a world so corrupt that the only real fight is between evil con men and good-hearted con men; there is only one moral person in the entire movie, and she has to learn to lie or else become a lamb to the slaughter. Jack Warden plays Roy L. Fuchs, an evil used-car dealer who has brought about the death of his brother (also played by Warden) to gain control of his car lot; Kurt Russell plays Rudy Russo, the dead brother's chief salesman, who must hide the brother's body to keep Roy from seizing the lot. Complicating matters is Deborah Harmon as Barbara, the dead brother's daughter, who--knowing nothing of her father's death--believes the car lot can be run on the principles of fair dealing and trusting one's neighbors. As the original ad campaign said, "She's Got a Lot to Learn." Among the people who teach her this lesson are Gerrit Graham as Russell's partner in sleaze; Michael McKean and David L. Lander (aka Lenny and Squiggy) as electronics whizzes who help Russell and Graham jam TV broadcasts with illegal commercials; Joe Flaherty of SCTV as a corrupt district attorney on Warden's payroll; and Al "Grandpa Munster" Lewis as a judge so sadistic that he keeps a toy guillotine on his bench. Of course, Russell and Harmon fall in love, and it's a case of Boy Meets Girl, Boy Loses Girl, Boy and Girl Scam Little Old Ladies. Obviously, this movie won't attract people who can't stand a little cynicism about human nature, and it's as garish as Russell's polyester plaid coat. But most of the gags (particularly the long final sequence, a hilarious sendup of Western epics) are very funny, and Russell gives one of the great comic performances of the 1980s. Allow me to repeat this: KURT RUSSELL, IN "USED CARS," GIVES ONE OF THE GREAT COMIC PERFORMANCES OF THE 1980s. This movie serves as a vital corrective to those who think there is nothing in Russell's career between "The Computer Wore Tennis Shoes" and "Tango and Cash."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 220 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Used Cars
Used Cars by Robert Zemeckis (DVD - 2002)
$9.99 $6.62
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.