Using generic ink to refill? Is anyone using generic ink to refill their cartridges? I'm asking because I'm a broke college student who just bought the printer, but have a lot of pictures to print.
asked by Eddy Vien on April 15, 2011
Sort: Most Helpful first | Newest first | Oldest first
Showing 1-10 of 14 answers
A
vote
I recently bought the Ezink refill off of eBay as well. It is amazing. I only paid 15$ myself so I suppose the price went down? Anyways, it refills each cartridge 3 times and so far I havn't gotten the error message that Lab Brat is talking about (maybe because I refilled it before it went all the way empty?). Highly recommended ink refill.
T. Russell answered on May 15, 2011

A
votes
InkTec makes a pretty good kit for my Pixma MX340 & others. It's available with Prime.
QuintBy answered on May 26, 2011

A
vote
Yes, T. Russell, I did let my ink run pretty low because I was printing pics which it does beautifully by the way! And now everytime we print it gives everyone a warning that Ink may be running low. Its just small annoyance but nothing that would stop me from paying for brand new cartridges if I didnt have to. The EZink refills are amazing and so easy to use and most of all, not messy!
Lisa answered on May 17, 2011

A
vote
Many thanks to your helpful comments. I'll order an EZink refill right now! :)
Eddy Vien answered on May 17, 2011

A
vote
Hi;
I sent for Megatone replacement carts, $250 ea..
which is better than my getting ink on my hands, etc,
during refilling. Tho I've used HP, & Brother's inks
on my Canon 830.
I got the Chip Resetter for $10, so that was an
excellent device to refill whenever I'd start a new
long print production.
P.S. There's also a firm that sells just the chips,
to paste over the cartridge, so you can use
them quite easily.
Another "Replier" noted that you can also turn
on a Custom Printer name i.e. "NOCOLOR"
and not use color for mass B/W print jobs..
and just use the standard Auto to use the