Customer Reviews


229 Reviews
5 star:
 (65)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (40)
2 star:
 (32)
1 star:
 (36)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts, Zombies, Cults, and Aliens... A Terrifying and Creative Horror Anthology...
(The following review may have potential spoilers, although most descriptions are as brief as possible.)

V/H/S 2 is a found-footage horror anthology. "Tape 49" is the frame story which follows two private investigators searching for a missing college student. When they arrive at the house, they find and view several VHS tapes hoping to track the young student...
Published 20 months ago by Jonathan

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR BUTT DIALED ME
The movie consists of four "found footage" stories that are shown in a "Creep Show" fashion. The stories are not connected, other than the fact they are being watched by the same people, a pair of private investigators. The films include ghosts, aliens, cultist, and my favorite a "zombie cam." This is the first time I can think of where we get a...
Published 17 months ago by THE MOVIE GUY


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

24 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ghosts, Zombies, Cults, and Aliens... A Terrifying and Creative Horror Anthology..., June 7, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: V/H/S/2 (Amazon Instant Video)
(The following review may have potential spoilers, although most descriptions are as brief as possible.)

V/H/S 2 is a found-footage horror anthology. "Tape 49" is the frame story which follows two private investigators searching for a missing college student. When they arrive at the house, they find and view several VHS tapes hoping to track the young student. Instead, they find the following short movies:

"Clinical Trials Phase 1" follows a man who has received a new eye after a car accident - an eye with a built-in camera. When he gets home, he begins to hallucinate - things are misplaced, odd figures are seen, etc. This story works superbly as a jump-scare ghost story. It uses great suspense and the claustrophobic tunnel-vision to create effectively unexpected and consistent jump-scares. Some of the visuals are also eerie, and very creative. The acting of the lead was a bit off at times as his dialogue delivery felt unnatural - he didn't seem frightened.

"A Ride In The Park" follows a man as he takes a quick spin on his bike through the park. He eventually runs into an injured, vomiting woman and can see several people approaching from afar. The woman bites him, and, as he escapes, he becomes a zombie. The shooting style is great, and the unique zombie perspective also works well - it is a very creative story. This story is intense and violent, and even a bit humorous. Everything blends together well to create a highly entertaining tale. The special effects and makeup are great, and so is the acting.

"Safe Haven" follows a documentary crew investigating an Indonesian cult. The leader, referred to as "Father", is presumably involved in illegal acts, such as underage sex as he "purifies" children. During the interview, all hell breaks loose as the time of reckoning approaches. This story is fantastic. It starts as a creepy documentary working solely off its dialogue and performances. Then, everything spirals out of control as mass suicide and murder occurs, along with an abduction of sorts. Then, it spirals further into hell as a demon is born and the dead return back to life. This story uses disturbing visuals, jump-scares, and insane amounts of gore. I really loved the story in this film, especially the constant buildup and change in the story; it was completely unexpected. The acting is great, the special effects and makeup are impressive, and the direction is superb.

"Slumber Party Alien Abduction" follows three young siblings and their respective friends, along with their dog, during a slumber party. After a day of pranking (and effective foreshadowing), a bright flash occurs at night and odd figures surround the home. They are subsequently attacked by aliens, and are chased through the forest, with a surprise waiting at every corner. This is another unique found-footage story, mostly shot creatively from a dog's back. It uses its lighting, tension, and jump-scares effectively. (The lighting may be hazardous for those with sensitive eyes since it often flashes rapidly and consistently.) I don't like animal violence, fake or real, and this ends sadly. (I won't spoil it, but dog-lovers might cringe.) It was entertaining, and well-made, nonetheless. And, finally, Tape 49 ends with a very creepy and intense scene, and with a lot of blood. (and incredible special effects.)

Overall, V/H/S/2 is an immensely entertaining, creative, unique, and terrifying anthology; I thoroughly enjoyed every story in this ferociously paced film. I'm a sucker for horror anthologies like Trick R' Treat, Tales From The Hood, and V/H/S, and this film ranks with the best of them. Whether your a fan of ghost stories or gore stories, V/H/S/2 has something for everyone, and it effectively compliments the first film. Thanks to its versatility, this is one series that I wouldn't mind seeing more installments of.

V/H/S/2 has very strong violence and gore, sex and nudity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A surprisingly improved sequel, August 3, 2013
I was one of the people who found myself disappointed with the initial 'V/H/S'. I thought it had some good ideas but ultimately a lackluster presentation with only a few memorable moments. To my surprise, I found 'V/H/S/2' to be an effective and entertaining anthology. It's worth seeing for 'Safe Haven' alone but the other ones are decent enough.

The wrap-around story is the weakest aspect of the film, as it follows two private investigators looking for a missing student and finding a room full of VHS tapes that comprise the shorts. There's little payoff here and two films in we still don't know the significance of the tapes themselves or how they even got here beyond "insert vague supernatural reason". Fortunately it doesn't take too long to get to the segments.

The first short 'Phase I Clinical Trials' is about a man who receives an eye transplant and begins seeing ghosts. It's been done before and better with films like the 'The Eye' (the Hong Kong original, not the remake with Jessica Alba) but it has a few good scares. One of the issues I had with the short though is largely the fault of the anthology's 'schtick' -- that everything is recorded onto a VHS tape. The footage in this short is transmitted from the man's 'eye' to the doctors studying him, and the futuristic technology on display here clashes with the low-fi aesthetic that the rest of the film goes with.

The second short 'A Ride in the Park' is a hilarious take on the zombie genre done from the perspective of one of the undead with some surprising poignancy as well. It's the second best in the film anthology in my opinion.

The highlight of 'V/H/S/2' is undoubtedly 'Safe Haven', directed by Timo Tjahjanto. It's about a news crew investigating a mysterious Indonesian cult, and needless to say, things don't go as planned. To say anymore would be criminal, but it's a very intense short with some twisted moments and it's one of the few "found footage" films I've seen that made me feel like I was there with the characters. It works surprisingly well as a self-contained film on its own and I wouldn't mind seeing Tjahjanto making this into a full-length feature film someday (assuming that stretching out the length wouldn't dilute it). For this segment alone I'd put 'V/H/S/2' in my top ten for the year.

Finally, 'Alien Abduction Slumber Party' is basically what the title suggests -- aliens invading a slumber party. After the previous short, this one comes off as pretty slight and the short's low budget actually works against it given the potential. Without spoiling anything, I found the ending to be unnecessarily mean-spirited and left a bad taste in my mouth. I certainly don't mind dark endings -- The Mist is one of my favorite films of all time -- but this one didn't sit well with me. You'd have to see it to know what I'm referring to.

So we have two decent enough shorts and two great ones, one of which elevates the film as a must-see in my opinion. If you were one of those put off by the lackluster first film, don't let that stop you from giving this a try.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars YOUR BUTT DIALED ME, September 25, 2013
The movie consists of four "found footage" stories that are shown in a "Creep Show" fashion. The stories are not connected, other than the fact they are being watched by the same people, a pair of private investigators. The films include ghosts, aliens, cultist, and my favorite a "zombie cam." This is the first time I can think of where we get a zombie eye view of attacking humans.

The stories were fair and sometimes crude. There were also times when the footage deviated from the true found footage CAM as we witness the person with the camera. The DVD has two versions which I found confusing. One is the "rated version" and the other was the "unrated theatrical version." For some reason I believe versions released to the theater are rated...by law while those not released do nor require a rating.

The production is fun low brow horror entertainment. I did find the "eye cam" to reach a new low in irritating jerky motion. If you saw the first film, expect much of the same and a "VHS 3".

Parental Guide: F-bomb, sex, male nudity, nudity (Mindy Robinson, Hannah Hughes)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Original and Intense., August 13, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: V/H/S/2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I had actually watched some time ago, both of the movies in order, and quite frankly at the time, didnt enjoy the second film as much as the first. But I came back and watched the 2nd first and the first 2nd and I have to say that I really enjoy this one more than the first. Mainly because of its all around intensity the tales in this one are intense and pretty horrific. If you are a fan of found footage style films you will like this alot, as it is a very original take on the genre, much like the first one. If found footage is not your cup of tea, I would still suggest giving this second one a try as it uses some pretty creative ways of shooting.
Though the ending, is what has caused me to give it 4 stars rather than 5, Seriously the last few seconds where I suddenly get a thumbs up from the man turned monster, What the heck!?.... Overall though, if your a horror fan, this is definently worth a watch!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars V/H/S 2, August 25, 2013
This review is from: V/H/S/2 [VHS Tape] (VHS Tape)
This is a massive improvement over the last V/H/S movie. It is a film that is mostly aimed towards Horror-heads. As far as gore, it has plenty, but not an excess. Definitely not for kids. Overall, a great time for the Horror Film Fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An insane mixture of outrageous horror and unlimited violence, July 19, 2013
Horror anthologies have made a triumphant return. With "V/H/S" and "The ABCs of Death" being released in 2012 and being surprisingly good, these modern takes on the horror anthology are in the same vein as "The Twilight Zone," "Creepshow," and "Tales from the Crypt." Less than a year has passed since the release of "V/H/S," an anthology revolving around the handheld perspective, and here we are getting its sequel "V/H/S/2." "V/H/S/2" won't sway those who hated the first film, but is bound to appeal to those who did.

The wrap around story, known as "Tape 49," has Larry (Lawrence Michael Levine) video taping a husband cheat on his wife before getting caught, barely escaping, and then meeting up with his partner Ayesha (Kelsy Abbot) to investigate a missing college kid. Going through the window of a broken down apartment, Larry and Ayesha find a multiple TV setup similar to the one in the first film with the same stacks of video cassette tapes lying around and the addition of a laptop computer. Naturally, Larry has Ayesha watch the tapes to try to find a lead while he investigates the house.

Stories include an eye injury leading to a bionic eye implant with a recording chip and glitches that allow the recipient to see the dead, a bike ride in the woods interrupted by zombies, a man promising that he's found a way into paradise, and the pranks of teenagers thankfully being put to rest by an alien abduction.

The eye injury story, "Phase I Clinical Trials," has an interesting concept, but a lame execution. It just feels like more could have been done with the glitching aspect and the climax in the pool is underwhelming. The zombie bike ride, "A Ride in the Park," is intriguing. The main character is bitten while wearing a camera strapped to his head, so you basically see the life cycle of a zombie from his perspective. Victims are infected, change rapidly, and throw up a nasty black liquid. There's also an up close and personal shot of the victim eating intestines that is just disgustingly great.

"Safe Haven" is the crowning achievement of "V/H/S/2." A man referred to as Father (Epy Kusnandar) leads a cult that is promised a trip to paradise and a journey to immortality. Watching the horror that unfolds is unreal and it's particularly strong. The ending is both outrageous and completely satisfying in the sense that the blood never stops flowing, but the final scene is likely to make you roll your eyes and snicker. Closing out the tapes is "Slumber Party Alien Abduction," which is a rather disappointing effort from "Hobo with a Shotgun" director Jason Eisener. Seeing the pranks the kids play gets tiresome very quickly. Its most inventive concept is the dog's perspective, but there's a particularly creepy sequence on a pier and the loud commotion featured whenever the aliens appear is unsettling.

Featuring returning "V/H/S" directors Simon Barrett and Adam Wingard and uniting them with new directors Eduardo Sanchez ("The Blair Witch Project"), Timo Tjahjanto ("The ABCs of Death"), Gregg Hale, and Gareth Evans ("The Raid: Redemption"), "V/H/S/2" is a smorgasbord of horror and violence filled with a variety of ups and downs that is sure to whet the appetite for those craving a bloody trip through hell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Some movies can't be done twice, June 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VHS 1 was very interesting. However, part 2 felt very forced. It was not scary, slight funny, and when it was over, i was left feeling like, "why?" Director, producers, actors have to understand when enough is enough. Please don't make anymore, please!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Underwhelmed, June 15, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: V/H/S/2 (Amazon Instant Video)
Worth a watch, but don't get your hopes up.
Not nearly as good as the first one. The monsters are pretty lame, the effects aren't that great. When the demon or Satan appears, it looks more like a Chuck Testa commercial. "Satan? Nope. Chuck Testa." The plots are also fairly boring compared with the first and just seem to lack originality - and *spoiler alert* it ends almost exactly the same way. VHS1 was a decent enough film, but they could have done more. VHS2 does NOT do more.
If you don't compare it to the first it's entertaining enough (after a few beers), but I wish I hadn't spent $9.99 on it. Wait until it comes out free on Netflix or something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Very Good to Very Bad, With All Stops In Between, December 24, 2014
This review is from: V/H/S/2 [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
I'm one of the rare viewers who felt the sequel surpassed the original. The framing sequence establishes a linearity between both films and uses the assumption of a time gap to build a shocking final scene, which is more than you can reasonably demand from a framing narrative. Not all the stories work, but "A Ride in the Park" is entertaining, a zombie story that takes the zombie's POV, after a bicyclist affixes a helmet-cam that documents his transformation and subsequent rampage. But 'Safe Haven' is the real highlight of V/H/S/2. A 'found-footage' scenario that follows a TV news crew into a southeast Asian cult-leader's compound, it creates an atmosphere of unease that becomes almost unbearable, finally erupting into a chaotic nightmare. The members of the news team have the misfortune of arriving just as the doomsday clock countdown reaches zero, and the Asian Jim Jones-type transforms from a tiny, physically unimposing but wild-eyed nutjob into a boxcutter-wielding killer. The followers are offing themselves in horrifying and spiritually-approved ways, and men armed with machetes roam the halls, looking for anyone whose conviction has faltered. As if this isn't terrifying enough, the cameras are still running as the insane prophecies come to pass, and the demonic creatures they've been working to unleash are born into the world in a grisly, literal manner.

The other short films are less interesting but enjoyable. One gives us the most intimate 'found footage'-POV possible, in the form of an incredibly complicated prosthetic eye. The downside is that it somehow translates the wave-lengths dead people apparently project, a creepy side-effect that is only alleviated by sex... or so claims the nameless young redhead who also sees dead people; it apparently didn't work, but it served to get-the-hot-chick-naked-ASAP, always a smart financial move with films like these. The weakest tale is an alien abduction idea that quickly falls apart, amounting to a great deal of shouting, flashes of white light, overwhelming noise, earthquake-like tremors, and running from the would-be abductors. It was bad enough that I don't remember any of the specifics; I doubt they were that important.

These horror anthologies always have a weak link, but it's rare to see a short film as strong as 'Safe Haven', which is as good as any sub-60-minute horror film I've seen. I don't know if it justifies the purchase - it depends on the price - but it is definitely worth checking out for any serious horror fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 10 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars wasn't even as good as the first and the first wasn't that great., July 10, 2013
By 
J. Abdin (Phoenix, AZ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: V/H/S/2 (Amazon Instant Video)
I had high hopes going into this movie, as I had heard it was legitimately scary, as opposed to the first in the series, but it was just a bunch of zombie short films that were pretty sad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 223 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

V/H/S/2 [Blu-ray]
V/H/S/2 [Blu-ray] by Gareth Evans (Blu-ray - 2013)
$7.64
Usually ships in 11 to 13 days
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.