Customer Reviews


135 Reviews
5 star:
 (77)
4 star:
 (28)
3 star:
 (18)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and it works!
Ran out of ports on my amp and TV. Now I can get my digital tv converter, Wii, DVD, and VHS all hooked up to my amp for surround sound. This unit doesn't require any power, is just as clear as hooking up directly, and is simple to hook up and use.
Published on October 26, 2008 by Glidestone

versus
85 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caveat: Short-circuits video unselected inputs
For the VH911, RCA took the cheap way to improve cross-input isolation. It simply shorts the 3 unselected video inputs to ground, thus providing very high isolation. Unfortunately, if one of the inputs comes from a Y splitter, that Y splitter's other leg will also be grounded out. Technically, splitting a 75 ohm video signal with a passive Y splitter is not kosher...
Published on June 24, 2010 by P. Young


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

85 of 93 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Caveat: Short-circuits video unselected inputs, June 24, 2010
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
For the VH911, RCA took the cheap way to improve cross-input isolation. It simply shorts the 3 unselected video inputs to ground, thus providing very high isolation. Unfortunately, if one of the inputs comes from a Y splitter, that Y splitter's other leg will also be grounded out. Technically, splitting a 75 ohm video signal with a passive Y splitter is not kosher (impedance matching is important at video frequencies), but for most applications, the signal degradation is trivial. It also means that an expensive active buffer will be needed if the video signal is to be split. This heavy-handed approach may damage (or overheat) some poorer designed video sources which may not handle a zero ohm load.

Interestingly, RCA did a better job on its 2 to 1 RCA selector (DT902AV). Here the unselected input is properly handled, switching the unused input to a 75 ohm dummy load, instead of ground. So it is caveat emptor, as you won't find this information in any specs.

Incidently, someone wrote that the selected indicator is not very bright. I would imagine so, given that the indicator is not a light scourse, but a reflection from a red-colored moving tab. Remember, this is a completely passive device so there wouldn't be power for an LED.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very basic, a bit outdated and too lightweight., January 4, 2010
By 
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
This is a very basic unit requiring no external power, which is a plus unless you're counting on using a remote control to switch inputs. With this one you'll have to get up and walk over to the unit and manually switch inputs. Make sure you look at my "customer picture" of the back of the unit so you know exactly what you can plug into this thing. It's either S-Video or Composite with their accompanying audio cabling. It is not meant for Component video, HDMI or any such modern cabling.

I've had this unit for several years. I used it for a few years to switch between various gaming consoles, DVD players and VCRs with basic composite and/or S-Video outputs. When we were using it it was almost always reliable. There were times when the push of a button didn't switch over the connection cleanly. But, switching back and forth a couple of times with firm button pushes would put it right.

So far I've docked a star for occasional unreliability and for the outdated cable compatibility. I have to dock one more star because of the following: This unit is so lightweight that once you've plugged 15+ cables into it, it can't compete with the weight of the cables and winds up pulled off its perch and back behind all the electronic components it was sitting on. This happened all the time with ours. Since it's about the size of soda can, and the buttons are on top of it, you'll probably have to place it atop your TV or stack of components. It will wind up pulled down and back behind these things because of all the heavy cables, unless you come up with a creative solution to hold it in place.

Amazon says a 3-star rating means an item is "OK", and that's about right for this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Simple and it works!, October 26, 2008
By 
Glidestone (Rochester, NY USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
Ran out of ports on my amp and TV. Now I can get my digital tv converter, Wii, DVD, and VHS all hooked up to my amp for surround sound. This unit doesn't require any power, is just as clear as hooking up directly, and is simple to hook up and use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great so far., October 2, 2008
By 
Jes (Phoenix, AZ USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
I like the manual operation of this switcher. No power cord. No remote to go haywire. Just a simple push button switcher. Working great so far.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very good quality, excellent value, poor balance., March 23, 2009
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
I have been using one of these for several years now with no problems. The only minor annoyance I have had is that it is fairly light and when all the cables are hooked up, just the weight of the cables can be enough to tip it back in an unsightly way. A few times it has even fallen behind the TV stand because of this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Audio switching with RCA VH911, December 3, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
My Sony DVD/audio system has only one external audio input.
I got the box to switch the audio outputs from tv, cd player and cable box to that audio input. Does the job.
The box also has 4 composite and s-video switchable inputs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Switch Box, April 19, 2008
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
The "Switch Box" is just what I wanted. I can switch between antenna and
satellite with ease. Everything that I have ordered from Amazon has been
exactly as advertised. Good service, speedy delivery...couldn't ask for
more than that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent product, January 2, 2009
By 
Vinayak Mahajan (Manalapan, NJ United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
Select from up to 4 components Adds S-video connection capability DBS-compatible Contemporary design Use either RCA or S-video connectors depending on output type.

Features
1. Select from up to 4 components
2. Adds S-video connection capability
3. DBS-compatible
4. Contemporary design
5. Use either RCA or S-video connectors depending on output type

I agree with all other reviews here, very easy to use yet powerful switch. Works great. No setup required, no remote , no power cord, very very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, January 19, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
A great and very affordable way to switch between gaming systems, or other devices. Keeps the clutter of cords out of the way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars not good for higher quality systems, October 13, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: RCA VH911R System Selector for TV, DVD Gaming VCR, DVR, Camcorder and CD Player/Recorder (Electronics)
if you are using this box with a higher quality sound system, you will be quite distracted by the high-pitched background squeal that this unit introduces. so for better quality switching find a higher end unit or do as i have reverted to doing, and change cables manually.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 214 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.