Customer Reviews


51 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Paint.
If you have a lot of time and want to do a great paint job on anything, this is the paint for you. It is not just for headers. Small parts can be seasoned in a toaster oven or left to cure for I think eight days. When it is done you can't even scratch it, unless you try really hard.
Published on April 5, 2012 by 45th_Johnny

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Product worked as advertised.
My Project: Respraying an exhaust manifold. (Manifold surface was blasted)
Products used: VHT SP118 Flat White Primer, VHT SP102 Flat Black Paint, VHT SP115 Satin Clear Coat.

Review of Product: VHT SP102 Flat Black Paint

This product worked very well and adhered well on top of VHT Flat White Primer (VHT SP118).

Product was of good...
Published 13 months ago by B


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Paint., April 5, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
If you have a lot of time and want to do a great paint job on anything, this is the paint for you. It is not just for headers. Small parts can be seasoned in a toaster oven or left to cure for I think eight days. When it is done you can't even scratch it, unless you try really hard.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great stuff for the price, May 6, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
First off baking the part is highly recommended but Do not use your home oven! The fumes will bake into your oven which can be hazardous.

This stuff takes a long time to dry fully cure takes 24 hrs without an oven. I ended up using a craftsman work light which cooked the part fairly well. Wll post photos for this product after completion.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Worked successfully the first time, June 13, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
The VHT SP201 material works as advertised. I ordered this based on recommendations I had read on other web sites, mostly from auto enthusiasts. I used this for refinishing a vintage electric fan that had a black wrinkle finish on its cast iron base and motor case.
I followed directions for cleaning and application (three coats, no primer), and allowed items to air dry for about 20 - 30 minutes. Air temperature during spraying was in the 65-70 F. range, and 50% relative humidity.
I then accelerated the curing and wrinkling by first slowly warming with a hair dryer to drive off remaining solvent, and then increased the temperature to complete the wrinkling process(about 15 minutes). It gave very professional looking results. The instructions list alternate curing methods.
Use caution and good ventilation when working with heat or spark producing equipment around solvent based materials.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Black Paint for motorcycle exhaust, April 28, 2012
By 
DitchRider (St. Louis, MO USA) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
VHT is a good product. I used this paint (and primer) on my motorcycle exhaust pipes. I purchased un-finished exhaust pipes, cleaned them, primed them and then finished with this black paint. I put several coats on. I recommend following the directions on the can. At first, when the pipes got hot, the smell of paint was evident but overtime it goes away and actually the finish gets better overtime as the paint "cooks". I will purchase this paint again in the future. I also purchased the clear-coat but I have not yet used it.. I like the flat-black look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As flat black as can be, March 25, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Works as expected. Great paint. The flat black by itself is gives it a powderish black look. I added a satin clear to give it the flat black I wanted.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars best i've used!, May 17, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
has a completely different look than other heat proof flat blacks i've used. need to let it cure to get the final result.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Highly Recommended, January 9, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This product was used to repair vintage antiques for my collection. I found that this product worked the best of the other brands that I have used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Effective and easy, July 22, 2012
This stuff is surprisingly easy to use. Follow the directions on doing three coats separated by 5 mins and lay it on relatively thick. I didn't get it quite thick enough on one small area (my fault for not practicing first) and it didn't wrinkle there, but it looks really good everywhere else. The spray nozzle is high quality and lays down a nice uniform cone.

This stuff takes a LONG time to dry. The can says not to touch for 24 hours, but I suggest you wait two days as mine wasn't fully dry after one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Always use, February 21, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I always use this paint. Works great...never any issues. Wrinkles every time and no clog isuues either. will by again and again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Used on old headers, December 23, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Worked good,made my old headers look new.Have always had good luck using VHT products. Will buy more VHT never a problem, always worked as advertised.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.