Customer Reviews


855 Reviews
5 star:
 (459)
4 star:
 (219)
3 star:
 (82)
2 star:
 (47)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


560 of 577 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of lies among the reviews of this product
Seems no one read either the box or the directions before installing this. It's stupid simple and works perfectly with my 47" LG TV. Hook it up to your TV, plug it into the outlet, turn on your TV, change your audio settings for external output via the recognized Vizio soundbar, and voila! it works. Remote works just fine, too, but it's not needed since it integrates with...
Published 9 months ago by Zaine Ridling

versus
132 of 171 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Sound Bar, good sound quality and easy to mount but has some quirks.
I purchased the VIZIO S3820w-CO Sound Bar for my daughter to use with a VIZIO TV that is mounted on the wall in her room. This sound bar is a nice complement to her TV and is a perfect fit for a medium size TV.

Pros
- Stylish look
- Bluetooth Streaming
- Good stereo sound with nice low end bass
- Easy mounting

Cons
- No on...
Published 10 months ago by Edwin Swiatkowski


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

560 of 577 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lots of lies among the reviews of this product, September 27, 2013
By 
Seems no one read either the box or the directions before installing this. It's stupid simple and works perfectly with my 47" LG TV. Hook it up to your TV, plug it into the outlet, turn on your TV, change your audio settings for external output via the recognized Vizio soundbar, and voila! it works. Remote works just fine, too, but it's not needed since it integrates with both my TV and cable remote. The sound quality is just as advertised -- a nice deep bass for movies and music and stereo for dialogue. No need for a subwoofer and it will blast the room full of sound! I would definitely recommend, as this is a high quality sound bar for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


170 of 185 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great sound, September 14, 2013
I bought this sound bar to use with my 32" Vizio HDTV in my bedroom. It sounds great. Of course, it won't replace a home theater system but if you want to improve the sound of your TV in a bedroom or small apartment, it is perfect. The hookup was very easy. I had it hooked up in less than 5 minutes. It has inputs for RCA cable (included), coaxial cable and digital optical cable (included). An optional subwoofer can also be added if you want more bass. All in all, I would recommend this sound bar to anybody who wants a big improvement in sound over their TV's speakers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars speaker review, August 27, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: VIZIO SB4020E-B0 40-Inch 2.0 Home Theater Sound Bar (Black) (2013 Model) (Electronics)
The Vizio sound bar that I bought to augment my 60 inch Vizio razor LED TV is awesome, the sound quality and boost is incredible for the price. You can't go wrong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


43 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars small to mid size room perfect for those who want to hear clear crisp dialog with warm bass (not thumping), November 26, 2013
If you are considering this product you probably fall into the category of needing space, want something to look cool, and above all sound good. With this price point leave the expectations a bose cinemate experience. In a 20x20-ish room this will fill easily. The 96db rating that the manufacturer gives isn't a typical number people wrap their heads around and hard to compare competition with watt numbers. After some digging, I believe it is above 100 watts. Many at this price point is more like 60 watts. (but note that 60 watts is not half the volume of 130. Wattage continues to be a marketing tool to impress the consumer with big numbers. It is not one to one ratio with volume)

I paired this bar with one of Samsung's led the (6300 series) and as sleek as it was, the sound is bad. I mean it is anemic as its form factor. And if you have one and you don't think it's bad, then you will be blown away when you hear this bar.

Okay sound. It is crisp. Compared to lets say the typical sony bar, which is bass oriented, but muffled. The integrated deep bass that this bar is talking about, think more of the similar if not the same technology as the bose sound link blue tooth devices. (which is amazing for its size by the way) It gives warmth and body to make the sound feel whole. It especially is convincing in movies and dialogue. It allows for separate bass and treble adjustments, but realistically: you won't want to take the bass less than its maximum, and maybe treble you may want to go anywhere from its max to maybe 2 steps down if you find it to sharp. It has simulated surround which works well. Bluetooth pairing was a cinch. I didn't like it for music as much but it's okay. (i found myself putting eq to flat from my phone and using the vizio sound adjustments instead as it seemed to compete. Like if you have a bass eq setting on your phone already and then you up the bass on the bar, it reaches it's breaking point and sounds muddier)

If you want to feel bone rattling, room shaking bass, you won't. You need a sub. (this is ready for a sub output if you so choose to add one later)
The good:
inexpensive, good design, crisp, clear dialog, and some bass, great connectivity inclusive of even the optical wire, small form factor, well-built

The not so good: perhaps was its visual interface which is a row of led lights for all your adjustments. So if you wanted to adjust bass, you arrow right or left to make the led move from left to right instead of a number value or even showing the word bass. But I drive a mini cooper (so I'm no stranger to more quirky interfaces) But realistically, I don't foresee most people needing to tinkering with it much after the first time aside from volume.

My other consideration was the Polk 2000 sound bar. And it has an even higher watt rating for a non sub sound bar around similar pricing. But what knocked it out of the running ultimately was the fact that it lacked sound decoding like dts. Depending on your tv and how you mount/not mount things, you may consider looking for the feature where you can send your IR signal through the bar which those that don't (like this one) may block your remote signal to the tv. (not the case for me as the stand and the height of this bar was very close and limit the overlap to physically block tv remote signal. And i listened to all the LGs at and Samsungs at the bulk rate stores but they weren't crisp to me. Where bass was more their concern. (but in all fairness, i didn't have the remote to tinker with their settings)

UPDATE: a month or so goes by and the optical input ceased to work. (tested with different cables and different optical output devices/ hard power unplugs etc. Tried customer service email and didn't get more than an automated received email reply so instead of waiting for VIZIO, I returned it for another and will see if it was just a fluke.)

UPDATE: Since my replacement, it has been flawless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MUCH IMPROVED SOUND, October 22, 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Got this for a parent who is losing hearing. Most new HDTV's come with downward firing mediocre speakers. So instead of fixing that problem for you they sell you an "add on" sound bar. While frustrating, this sound bar works. If you think you will be able to watch Star Wars and shake the whole house you may want to consider what type of system is really required for that experience. This is NOT it.

However, if you want crisp punchy vocals, nice spacious background content, some bottom end, a DTS feature that evens out the sound level on all program material (softens commercials and increases low level volume on some channels) then this will do it. This one fits a 32" TV perfectly. The larger ones are probably even better. Set up is easy and if you have the right remote control you can set things up to control the volume of the sound bar and leave the TV sound off.

Sound quality is improved 100% and hearing impaired parent can now enjoy news and shows.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 68 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Price worthy soundbar!!!!!, October 2, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
5 stars because it fits my requirement perfectly. A small living room and the sound fills room completely. No sound distortion even at high volume. Works as mentioned. Bluetooth connectivity is my wife's favorite. Simple setup. Built in bass. Highly recommended for small living rooms or bed rooms. I have paired it with my Vizio 42 inch LCD TV, works great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


44 of 55 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sound bar, October 28, 2013
By 
Shirley A. Tribe (Albion, Illinois United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I was not sure that all cables required were in the package as they were not listed. Upon receiving I found that they were and instructions to set up and operate were very plain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


132 of 171 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars OK Sound Bar, good sound quality and easy to mount but has some quirks., September 3, 2013
By 
Edwin Swiatkowski (Round Lake, IL USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I purchased the VIZIO S3820w-CO Sound Bar for my daughter to use with a VIZIO TV that is mounted on the wall in her room. This sound bar is a nice complement to her TV and is a perfect fit for a medium size TV.

Pros
- Stylish look
- Bluetooth Streaming
- Good stereo sound with nice low end bass
- Easy mounting

Cons
- No on screen display for setup
- Can't use VIZIO TV remote to control the sound bar.

The manual for the sound bar states that you can use one of the special "button press" combinations to activate the TV Remote mode. This is supposed to allow you to control the sound bar power and volume functions using the VIZIO TV remote. After several tries and not getting the power function to work, I called VIZIO support and they were't very helpful. After getting escalated to the next level of support, they informed me that you can't use the regular VIZIO TV remotes to control powering on / off the sound bar. It has to be one of their universal remotes. Unfortunately, most of the VIZIO TV's don't come with universal remotes so that was no help.

In the end, we decided to keep the VIZIO sound bar because the pros out weighed the cons. My daughter will just have to get used to using different remotes to power up the TV and the sound bar.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


39 of 49 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I LOVE it but I think I should have gotten 2.1 instead, October 19, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
I LOVE this sound bar. Set up was very easy. Nice sound. But if you love bass then you better purchase a sub woofer or go with the Vizio 2.1 Home Theater instead for 60 bucks more.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 39 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More simple than I thought, October 14, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Great product so simple to set up. Definitely worth the money I spent on it. Great sound especially in an open spaced room
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 286 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Rate and Discover Movies
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.