Customer Reviews


698 Reviews
5 star:
 (540)
4 star:
 (100)
3 star:
 (21)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (27)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


164 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nifty Gadget
This device is perfect for anyone who finds that they don't consume an entire bottle of wine at one sitting and would like to preserve the wine for as long as possible without it ruining. Wine can be an expensive luxury and there is nothing worse than having it turn to vinegar due to improper storage. This device is amazingly simple to use and works perfectly. Simply...
Published on December 6, 2007 by The Dave 3000

versus
34 of 47 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good seal, but can't keep wine completely fresh
Ethanol (alcohol) reacts with oxygen to form acetaldehyde, which then becomes acetic acid, a.k.a. vinegar. This is why wine tastes like crap the day after the bottle is opened. This Vacu Vin product is easy to use, and forms a tight seal on wine bottles. The seal prevents more oxygen from entering the bottle, effectively limiting the ethanol to vinegar reaction...
Published on April 18, 2012 by reviewerofrandomstuff


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

164 of 169 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very Nifty Gadget, December 6, 2007
By 
The Dave 3000 "td3k" (Arlington, TX United States) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
This device is perfect for anyone who finds that they don't consume an entire bottle of wine at one sitting and would like to preserve the wine for as long as possible without it ruining. Wine can be an expensive luxury and there is nothing worse than having it turn to vinegar due to improper storage. This device is amazingly simple to use and works perfectly. Simply insert one of the rubber stoppers into the open bottle of wine, place the pump over the top and pump about 5 to 6 times until you hear a distinctive "clicking" sound and you are done. All of the excess oxygen in the bottle has now been removed and the wine is vacuum sealed. When ready to re-serve the wine, simply press the nib on top of the stopper to release the vacuum, remove and serve. It couldn't be any easier or simpler. Well worth the price and you may want to consider purchasing the extra stoppers if you tend to have more than a couple of bottles open at any one time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


128 of 134 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great product - also works with coffee, November 23, 2008
By 
Luke McReynolds (Sacramento, CA, United States) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
This is a great product. I've also found that it can keep coffee fresh, too: just clean out and dry an empty wine bottle, put your coffee beans in the bottle, and seal the top.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Save money...waste less wine, February 11, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
My wife and I regularly drink wine, but usually only have a glass per day, and with some wines, if you don't finish it the next day, it's awful the 3rd day. We bought this to save a little money and see if we could extend the life of our wines. It does work quite well, and exactly as they describe. You place the stopper in the bottle, pump the pump a few times until you hear a click and you're done. I will say this, it won't get you 10 days. In our experience, we get around 4 to 5 days using this device. Still worth the money, as you don't have to have the same wine 2 nights in a row just because you opened it the previous night and didn't finish the bottle.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


26 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars VacuVin, October 31, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
Works very well but directions are not useful. I went to utube to find a video demo which was helpful. Tips include wet the rubber stopper first before inserting in bottle. Then set the pump on top of the stopper and start pumping. It can take 10-15 pumps to get to the clicking sound. The more wine left in the bottle the less pumps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


54 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This Is A Great Product!!, March 15, 2008
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
If you enjoy a nice glass of wine and don't finish the bottle, you know how that great taste can change. Like many of you, we have purchased a number of wine savers and for the most part none of them work. Finally we found a winner. The Wine Saver works by pumping all of the air out of the bottle and keeps it fresh until you're ready to drink it again. It not only works, it works great; and it's easy to use. It even starts to create a clicking sound when the process is complete. It's a great product we give them as gifts and I recommend them to you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Effective!, November 25, 2008
By 
G. Sonsini (Norristown, PA USA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
Highly recommended for wines sensitive to oxidation. Great for preserving reds. Not for use on sparkling wines of any kind, though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great for us, Greater Still as Presents!, November 13, 2010
By 
Junlei Li (Pittsburgh, PA United States) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
We have had our set for over 6 years. The same set, never broken. This year, it starts to get "sticky" and finally get a little hard to push through (the pumper), so I rubbed some vaseline on it, and viola! good as new. This is one of the neatest, most useful toys for people who don't drink a whole bottle each time! One very nice feature ... this topper gives a clicking sound when the air is fully sucked out. So you don't have to keep pumping and wonder if you've done your job!

What we discovered, in addition to enjoying this ourselves, is to give this as a Christmas present. Everyone we have gave this to (at least 9 people now), and every single person has been impressed by it, and thought "what a great idea!" (as far as saving wine is concerned).

Anyhow, fully endorse this brand and this product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Product, January 11, 2009
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
We've owned and used this wine saver now for about three years. It saves our wines quite nicely. We put a saver on our white wine, and lay the bottle on its side in the refrigerator. No drips or leakage. Our red wines, which we leave out, depending on the quality of the wine, retains its taste for a few days. We've since then purchased a set and extra plugs for my husbands parents. They also like it. Buy it. Its cheap and saves your wine.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT PRODUCT _ This is my 2nd one, had the other one for 10 years, September 14, 2007
By 
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
My first one got chewed by my dog and it still worked great, the new design works just as good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 64 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Elegant and Practical, December 26, 2007
This review is from: Vacu Vin 981460 Wine Saver Vacuum Wine Pump with 2 Stoppers (Kitchen)
Looking at the reviews of this an other Vacuvin products, you see reports that are deeply contradictory. It's interesting that there is such a divergence of experience with such a simple product. The ideas behind Vacuvin are pretty simple.
First, air is the enemy of an open bottle of wine. Bacteria in the air want to turn alcohol into vinegar. The air itself oxidizes and dulls the taste of all but the most robust wines.
Second, you can remove some of the air with a simple pump and thereby slow down the rate at which wine deteriorates.

Why then, do we have both no-star and five-star reactions to these products? Maybe the biggest source of disagreement is expectations. Vacuvin slows the deterioration of wine in the bottle, but it doesn't stop it.

Another possible reason for all the disagreement might be a question of temperature. The biochemical reactions that kill your wine are temperature sensitive. They proceed faster when the wine is warm and slow down when it's cool. Putting a pumped-out bottle in the refrigerator or wine cooler will slow down the spoilage processes and make Vacuvin more effective.
A third issue is the way the wine is handled before the Vacuvin plug goes in. If wine has a lot of air dissolved in it by being poured from decanter to bottle, there's no system that will keep it fresh.

For more info on wine storage, check out my book, The New Short Course in Wine.

--Lynn Hoffman, author of New Short Course in Wine,The and bang BANG: A Novel from Kunati Books.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.