Automotive Deals Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more Discover it Pink Floyd Fire TV Stick Sun Care Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis STEM Water Sports

Format: DVD|Change
Price:$16.67+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on July 23, 2016
its really just about golf!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 16, 2016
This movie is phenomenally dope. So good. So f'n good...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
Fantastic film, but not for just anybody. It has a surreal flavor to it, similar to El Topo by Alejandro Jodorowsky. And it is no surprise either, since Nicolas Winding Refn is a huge fan of Jodorowsky. High praise goes to The Mighty Mads Mikkelsen as One Eye. His subdued intensity dominates from start to finish. Also, the soundtrack is outstanding. The DVD doesn't have any extras apart from the trailer. A director's commentary would have been awesome, but no such luck. Still, 5 stars!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 30, 2016
A mysterious one-eyed warrior (Mads Mikkelsen) accompanies a group of Crusaders on their quest for the Holy Land, finding only a futile descent into Hell.

Director Nicolas Winding Refn treads the same ground that Werner Herzog covered much more effectively nearly forty years earlier with “Aguirre: The Wrath of God.” Religious fanaticism paves the way to madness, disconnecting man from his environment and his fellow men since his high ideals are really only expressions of his own vanity and fear. There is some impressive filmmaking and imagery on display here, but the intent to be weighty and metaphorical is too heavy-handed to be very effective.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 27, 2016
Funny how the majority of the negative reviews for this movie are "Durr, I don't get it". Says more about the reviewers than the film. This is a viking art movie, a violent one. It's not about "getting it". It's about the artfulness of it all. This is not a dumb action movie for guys looking to see vikings chop each other up and who want a solid, easily digestible plot that wraps up cleanly in the end. It's about the fascinating main character and his strangely affectionate relationship with the slave boy he comes to care for and their surreal journey. I don't know what else to say. It's about tone and mood and a very interesting main character. If your IQ is less than 120 and you haven't had at least some college (or at least have an appreciation for the arts) then forget it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 6, 2016
One of a kind awesome movie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2016
One of the most different movies I have purchased. Mads Nicholson Mikkelsen gave a stellar performance for a man that had no dialogue to speak but had to do something not every actor can do and that's give a stellar performance by just acting. This movie won't be for everybody but if you appreciate just good acting in a very interesting character you will like this movie. I thoroughly enjoyed it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 25, 2016
This film borders on greatness. The ONLY thing, I believe, that stops me from giving it five stars is the moiring in the scenes in the boat in fog.
The story is very grim. This movie stands above numerous others by actually showing us a past time that appears "truthful". Because of this fact, we "learn" something about how living/surviving in these times must have been.

This film reminds of: The Better Angels, Andrei Rublev etc and makes me appreciative of the times we live in now!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 12, 2016
Somewhere at some time I saw this movie and could only think of "one eye".....so I entered "one eye" in the Fandango seach page and somehow it came up with Valhalla Rising. I had forrgotten the name of the movie but I will NEVER forget the movie. A tremendous movie in every respect. EVERYTHING I have ever seen Mads Mikkelson in has been simply tremendous. Man, the Scandanavians are kicking Hollywoods backsides and they are really making some excellent movies over there in that awful PC Socialist part of the world.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 7, 2016
Awesome movie. The landscapes, the haunting sky. Reminds me of The Book of Eli. I could watch this movie over and over no problem. Lots of violence, man on man rape during drug trance though definitely not for the kiddies. They better be good or Ole One Eye will get them!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

$9.99
$18.57

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.