Automotive Deals HPCC Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Subscribe & Save Handmade school supplies Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection TarantinoCollection  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Starting at $49.99 All-New Kindle Oasis Enter for the chance to win front row seats to Barbra Streisand Water Sports

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
71
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:$16.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on January 26, 2007
Bonnie Hayes had 2 songs in the movie "Valley Girl" that are not on this CD. Those songs are called "Girls Like Me" and "Shelley's Boyfriend." Both of those songs are from her 1982 album "Good Clean Fun." Unfortunatley, that wonderful album has never been released on CD.

But if you google "Bonnie Hayes," she has her own website where she lets you legally download both of those songs for free. I just thought you might like to know that!
33 comments| 49 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 19, 1999
Martha Coolidge really nailed the soundtrack for this underappreciated 80s gem. Nic Cage and the iridescent Deborah Foreman (what ever happened to this glorious specimen!) light up a clever and funny re-vamp of the Capulets and Montagues in a film littered with spot on captures of 80s youth. A college chum and I caught this movie for the first time on Showtime at midnight in NYC after a night on the town and inexplicably could not turn it off. The movie captures the zeitgeist of the time and the soundtrack is pure distilled 80s -- no corporate bull (Journey), faceless divas (Anita Baker), or schlock (Hall & Oates), this record delivers the stuff that REALLY mattered at the time. Included are the unconscionably ignored classics "Million Miles Away" by the Plimsouls, "Eyes of a Stranger" by the Payolas, and "She Talks in Stereo" by Gary Myricks. Not to mention the quintessential 80s tune "I Melt With You" which has only retroactively become a bellweather for 80s pop because it includes all the trademarks of classic 80s music -- the keyboard trills, the hooks, the spooky U2 slowdown in the middle, the infectious dance groove. The rest of the tunes are equally perfect, notably Josie Cotton's epically politically incorrect "Johnny Are You Queer."
The only flaw with this album was the failure to include "Monster of Love", "Shelly's Boyfriend" and "Girls Like Me." Thankfully, this egregious error has been remedied by Volume 2 which includes these and other similar cuts and is only slightly less trippindicular.
If you want to remember what a blast music used to be before the Shania Twains, Limp Bizkits, and Kid Rocks rendered radio unlistenable, this is a great starting point.
33 comments| 72 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 28, 2002
Growing up in the 80's was one of the best times of my life....and this movie captured the sounds & feelings of that time in a nutshell! The movie was "totally awesome" and it wouldn't be the same without this "to the max" soundtrack. From the great prom scene with Josie Cotton's "Johnny Are You Queer?" to the Flirts "Don't Put Another Dime in the Jukebox", this soundtrack is a must have. The Psych Furs, Men at Work and Modern English ("I Melt With You") also have tracks, as well as two fantastic songs from The Plimsouls ("A Million Miles Away" & "Oldest Story in the World".) Great for parties or just crusing in your car...the 80's live and this soundtrack defines those times!! If you haven't seen the movie, be sure to rent it, as well...you'll see a very very young Nicholas Cage as the punk rocker "Randy" who falls in the love with Valley Girl "Julie" (played by Deborah Foreman). And be sure to get this soundtrack...it'll bring you back to those great times! This is a classic....don't miss out!
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 17, 2004
If you have the Rhino massive set (15 discs) or a huge collection, you might already have these tunes but if you're just starting out, these are some of the greatest "new wave" power pop classics.
Of course, you know I MELT WITH YOU is one of the greatest rock singles of all time but there are two somewhat forgotten classics, A MILLION MILES AWAY (I think the Plimsouls even make an appearance in the movie) and the short-lived band, the Flirts with JUKEBOX (DON'T PUT ANOTHER DIME). Just flat-out brilliant power pop classics. Just those three are worth the price of the CD.
You also get pretty much all the songs you need from Josie Cotten (also in the movie), plus great: Men At Work, the Furs and Sparks.
Even the "lesser" songs are great period pieces - they may not hold up as well but this is one of the great soundtracks of the 1980s.
A great CD to start your collection!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on November 6, 2013
Love this Soundtrack...

Only wish it had....Eaten by the Monster of Love
Performed by Sparks

It has ... Angst in My Pants
Performed by Sparks

I listen to this over and over again....

I think this is in the top two of 80's soundtracks, Pretty and Pink is number One...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on June 22, 2001
Loved the movie since I saw it way back when at a drive-in theater (a what?). I had the 6 song soundtrack on special order search at a local used/new record store forever, until one day (5+ years ago). I got a call saying that it had been released on CD, and they had a copy for me, and, yes, they would hold it for me, and I went down, like, right away and I bought it! And it is wonderful! I've since watched and re-watched VG on VH1's Movies That Rock (not owning the VHS version like some lucky dogs). The more that I see the film and hear the music the more sentimental I get for the New Wave years. Back to the review - Each of the 15 songs are either excellent, introspective, or humorous standouts. Buy this CD. Buy the More Music From... CD. Rekindle a romantic hindsight of a better time (musically). Out, dude.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 5, 2006
If you are familiar with the movie and all the of new wave you heard, this is a soundtrack to have. The Plimsouls really made it hard not to like one of the main songs "A Million Miles Away." This is a great CD to have in the car for trips or just for everyday driving to and from work. Having a bad day? Listen to this and you will either laugh or just go back to those times when you were dancing to this music.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on March 15, 2011
A little film released in 1983 Entitled: 'Valley Girl" is famous for two reasons:
1.) Nicolas Cage, stars as Randy in his first major screen role.
2.) Frank Zappa's song of the same name is nowhere to be found here.

The movie is a whole 'nother matter as we are here to listen to the soundtrack CD of the music heard in this film. This CD is famous for two things:
1.) The Plimsouls were introduced to the world with their appearance as the band in the Hollyweird club that Randy likes to hang out in.
2.) Frank Zappa's song of the same name is nowhere to be found here.

Well, there's a little more to this CD than those two things mentioned above.
As I cannot speak for the boys and girls of the valley, who can be sure just what they listened to? Frank Zappa, might have gagged them with a spoon. And Sparks may have reminded those kiddies of a creepy uncle that lurked behind bushes near the playground of Valley High School. We may never know what angst was in the pants of the teenagers of the valley in 1982.

What we do know is that: "Who Can It Be Now?" by Men At Work was a worldwide smash hit and "Love My Way" by Psychedelic Furs was playing on car stereos cruising the streets every night in that valley.

Josie Cotton, (who?) is featured on this disc for a record three selections: "Johnny Are You Queer?" "He Could Be The One" & "School Is In" and Josie, (a veteran of the same club scene as the very popular band the Go Go's) all but out Go-Go's that band with her appearance here and in the film (at the prom while Tommy and Randy are fighting) and her perfomance of these pop music gems found here on this disc.

The Plimsouls are the band that save this collection from being a bit too candy-coated. This group represents Randy's Hollyweird world as he takes Julie to the Sunset Strip bar where this band is playing. The Plimsouls are high-energy power pop in the same manner of The Who of 1966/67, and they steal the show on both the movie and this disc as being something extra special. I'm really glad to have discovered their great music through this movie. With: "A Million Miles Away" "Everywhere At Once" & "Oldest Story In The World" featured here, there are great examples of their music represented here.

From: Pat Travers ("I La La La Love You") to The Flirts (Juxebox") and Sparks ("Angst In My Pants") to the huge hit: "I Melt With You" by Modern English you will find some of the early eigthies greatest pop music on this disc and it's a fun look into a time of almost 30 years ago. This is a very nice collection of some hits and some music that should have been hits.
Four Stars!
33 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on February 20, 2011
Great price and a great cd! Like the saying goes, "I would have to spend a lot of money buying each cd just to get these hard to find hits". It's very true in this case and I'm so glad that amazon has vendors that sell such classic cd's because this cd brings back a lot of good memories every time I play it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 17, 2015
I am an old man. This music is from my lost 80s glory days of high school. It's nice to relive them while listening to to it. Could someone get me a vodka & tonic while I sit on the sofa and silently weep?
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.