Customer Reviews


31 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favorable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Mistress by Joey W. Hill
Vampire hunter, Gideon Green is a tortured soul. He spends his days hunting vampires that have killed innocents, all the while dealing with his brother Jacob who was recently turned into a vampire. Gideon is yearning for something - anything to turn his soul from the blackness that is enveloping it. He ends up at BDSM Nightclub Atlantis owned by Anwyn - a Domme herself...
Published on May 6, 2010 by A. Schreiner

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars A swing and a miss !
I've just unhappily been forced to abandon my reading of Joey W. Hill's novel "Vampire Mistress". I had been looking forward to the story of the troubled vampire hunter Gideon Green. My being a rabid fan of Mrs. Hill's Vampire Servant series; I was sure I'd be thrilled with this book as well. Gideon's past intrigued me; and I wanted to read about his future. I was sure...
Published on May 11, 2011 by S. Kelly


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Vampire Mistress by Joey W. Hill, May 6, 2010
Vampire hunter, Gideon Green is a tortured soul. He spends his days hunting vampires that have killed innocents, all the while dealing with his brother Jacob who was recently turned into a vampire. Gideon is yearning for something - anything to turn his soul from the blackness that is enveloping it. He ends up at BDSM Nightclub Atlantis owned by Anwyn - a Domme herself. She knows Gideon is more violent and aggressive than the normal men she lets into the club, but she sees something in him - something not at all unfamiliar to her.

Gideon refuses the three mistresses Anwyn sends in, sending him over the edge in pure rage. But when Anwyn herself walks in, and demands him to become submissive - something shifts in Gideon. Gideon is not a submissive, but he is searching for loyalty, to be used for service. All parts of his body want to rebel, but he hangs onto a thread of hope that Anwyn can strip him down to his base self.

Anwyn feels something special about Gideon, something she has only felt for one other person - Daegan Rei. Daegan is a very old, very powerful vampire whom has protected and shared a relationship with Anwyn for years. Anwyn has refused to become Daegan's servant, refusing those three marks it takes. Daegan doesn't accept no easily, and for him to accept Anwyn to remain human shows he cares for her deeply. Daegan notices the spark in Anwyn's eye when she looks at Gideon and knows this man is something different.

When Anwyn gets brutally attacked later that night in an alley by rogue vampires, she gets thrust into the world she was trying to avoid. All of Gideon's instincts scream at him that this is wrong, but his heart knows he can't harm Anwyn. To keep her alive, he is going to have to face his biggest fears and learn to trust and live with those he has hunted and hated.

Vampire Mistress is the first book I have read by Joey W. Hill and I was blown away. I absolutely loved this book. Usually erotic paranormal ménage makes me run and hide. But, I received this in the mail, and many people have recommended this author to me so I dove in. I honestly think this is the first ménage book that 100% works for me. The dynamics of the three people in this relationship are amazing. There is Anwyn, the very dominant female who has a complicated relationship with a very dominant vampire. She refuses to submit herself to become his servant and he refuses to submit his true feelings that he loves her. They both care deeply for each other, but their relationship is on a static hold.

Then Gideon enters the picture - the brutal, tortured Gideon who will lay down his life to protect a female, especially Anwyn, who he has a life altering connection to. But he will also fight to the death against vampires that he has an absolute hatred for. He has a very cocky attitude with a sarcastic mouth that made me smile many times throughout this book. When Anwyn is turned - for him to put aside his presumptions, for him to be able to work and trust Daegan, it is really a remarkable journey Joey W. Will takes him on. These two fierce men are forced to work together to save the woman they love, and in doing so, they start breaking down the walls that each have held up their whole lives.

We also see the journey of Anwyn physically and mentally changing into a vampire and it is not pretty at all. It is horrifying and raw, and adds another level to this book. The Domme Anwyn now has to give up all control and put her trust into these two men.

Their story is not done yet though. Coming this September is Vampire Trinity which will conclude this trio's story and I am on pins and needles to get my hands on it. I already have the first four books on their way to me and can't wait to read more of Joey W. Hill's work. Vampire Mistress will definitely make my favorite list this year. The erotic nature may not work for everyone, and I can't pinpoint exactly why this book affected me so much. However, it is a book I very much recommend.

Rating: 4.5/5
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark and Wickedly Good, May 20, 2011
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
A dark and engaging book. If you are a fan of vampires, kinky sex, or the dark world, I would recommend this book to you. I really loved Joey Hill's Ice Queen and Mirror of My Soul, excellent books!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another masterpiece by Joey Hill, May 9, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
OMG another masterpiece by Joey Hill. I have read all of Joey Hills stories, no matter which series. They are all on my Keeper Shelf. I absolutely love how she carefully and perfectly unravels each complicated layer of her characters' psyches. She makes them appear strong and beautiful even when they submit to another's will. My husband and I both read her Vampire series. He read it first and said that my only task yesterday was to read this book. I did. Then I re-read several sections of it again this morning. In addition to the strong characterizations, she is also weaving a strong plot. The story never slows down and keeps the reader's own emotions running at a high level. I have been waiting for Gideon's story since I first met him. Now I have to wait a million months until her Vampire Trinity comes out in September. Joey Hill is one of my top three favorite authors. I also strongly recommend (in addition to her complete Vampire series): Ice Queen, Mirror of my Soul, A Witch's Beauty, Natural Law and Rough Canvas.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gideon's story... finally!, March 27, 2011
This is not an easy read because of the main character, Gideon, whom we have seen featured in earlier books (he's a vampire killer, for those of you new to the series), going to an S&M club for some relief and then finding himself almost trapped into helping the owner/mistress (Anwyn) go through the transformation of becoming a vampire and fighting her demons of insanity (the vampire who sires her has passed on his mental disease to her).

Gideon's tender side comes through, and Joey Hill beautifully shows how the relationship that forms between the characters is a loving one, rather than a sick one. The fact that the mistress is living with a vampire who also intrigues Gideon makes for some interesting character development and male-on-male feelings to surface.

This is the first book about Gideon, Anwyn and Daegan (his character alone makes this book worth reading!). There is a lot of grit, pain, and suffering that the characters have to deal with, but it only brings them together stronger. One doesn't know where this relationships will end up, however, until the next book in the series, so be prepared to buy the 2nd book, Vampire Trinity, if you want to know what happens to these characters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ms. Hill Does It Again!, January 9, 2011
By 
Vixhen (United States) - See all my reviews
Gideon Green is a vampire hunter who seeks to soothe the savage beast dwelling inside him. Anwyn Naime is the mysterious, sultry owner of Club Atlantis. She is a dominatrix who specializes in taming wild beasts and bringing them to their knees. Daegan Rei is a powerful vampire who is Anwyn's silent "partner." Gideon's life changes forever the night that Anwyn crosses his path. He is forced to open himself in ways he never thought possible. His barriers are tested by both Anwyn and Daegan, and he finds himself submerging into a world he sought to destroy. Anwyn's intense attraction to Gideon unnerves her slightly but doesn't stop her from pursuit. She pushes to exercise the demons that have taken hold of him. Daegan knows exactly who and what Gideon is, but he also realizes that Anwyn needs him in a capacity that he can never fulfill. When one fateful night brings the three of them together in an unholy alliance, can these two men put aside their differences to save the woman they both love?

After being introduced to Gideon earlier in the series, I was so excited to read his story. He is an intense, emotionally closed man who needed an awakening; and Anwyn is his "cuppa joe." Their chemistry was FIRE; and the addition of Daegan only made it hotter. The relationship that forms between these three is what keeps the reader coming back for more. Each character is so dominant, yet so needy of the others, it's interesting to see how the dynamic will unfold. The one thing I love about this series is the strong female characters - there are no wilting daisies here. Anywn is a fierce, strong woman who holds these men in the palm of her hand while they hold her heart and soul in theirs. This series never fails to grab me from the word go and hold on until the final sentence.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Desperate Search for Love, September 2, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
Joey W. Hill is my all time favorite romance author and since I've read close to fifty writers as a fan and as a researcher, that's saying a lot. Vampire Mistress, lived up to my expectations for Ms Hill with a story that went far beyond the ordinary, into the achingly human tale of Anwyn Naime, whose personal world is shattered when she is viciously raped and unwillingly turned into a vampire by a psychotic vamp, who was targeting her lover. Horribly injured, she can't function as the Dominatrix owner of her upscale BDSM club, Atlantis and she's thrown into the frightening process of becoming a vampire, made worse by the madness of her sire. She plummets from successful entrepreneur to lost soul in the space of an hour. Yet, words Anwyn speaks before the assault offer hope for her recovery. "We can always be made helpless, but in our our helplessness we find that enduring core of strength, the part that reminds us to live, to lust, to hunger. To never despair." Anwyn's is a mythic journey back from terrible loss, that has been told and retold for thousands of years.

Broken, Anwyn needs help and it's there for her in an unlikely duo. There's Gideon Green, a driven vampire hunter on the edge of a personal breaking point, who'd earlier sought out her services at Atlantis. There, each of them saw something compelling in the other. Anwyn also has, Deagan Rei, a sort of special ops vamp who is centuries old, but hasn't been able to tell the club owner how much he loves her. Now, Anwyn is perhaps fatally injured with the outcome of her turning uncertain. The two alpha males crowd and snap at each other, trying to make nice because Anwyn insists she needs both as caretakers and neither male is willing to walk.

Anwyn's burgeoning sexual needs, part of the turning, push the two alphas to the limit and the sexual scenes are hot in the extreme. Although Ms Hill is characterized as a BDSM writer, her exploration of sexuality goes far beyond that to the ragged edges of desire that often exist only in a peripheral view. The volatile menage in this story churns up longings and possibilities even surprising to the ancient Deagan, yet Ms Hill writes these moments in the lyrical language of sensuality, creating intense sizzle. There is one scene that's harshly brutal and rawly emotional, so those who prefer sex in a softer light--be advised.

The story transpires over seven days in Anwyn's basement apartment. By the end, the tone is oppressive with unanswered questions: Can Anwyn ever reclaim her life? Can the rogue, Gideon, accept being a third marked servant? Can Anwyn and Deagan recover from the implications of her rape and injuries? Thankfully, part two, Vampire Trinity, comes out on Sept 7th. Ms Hill has never failed to write a satisfying HEA for her tortured characters, so I'm looking forward to the read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars gritty and graphic as she pushes the envelope with sex scenes that can be out right raw in their intensity, June 14, 2010
By 
Barbara A. Mazzuca "Risqué Reviews" (Wherever my imagination takes me) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
From the very beginning with The Vampire Queen's Servant I have been enthralled by this series by Joey Hill. As each new book arrives at my door I wonder, will this be the one that fails to hit her mark?

So with bated breath I begin to read...

Congratulations Miss Hill, Vampire Mistress is another winner! Once again the reader is catapulted into the inner working of a world of vampires and their tenuous relationships with humans and the role they play in that world. To make it more intriguing she intertwines the world of BDSM into her works taking the reader on a turbulent ride they are sure to remember long after putting the book down. Once they catch their breath that is. Joey Hill's ability to draw the reader into this mysterious and at times disturbing world is touched also by her aptitude to bring in humor at the most needed times.

Before I began to read Joey Hill I enjoyed an occasional story with a bit of slap and tickle, but always knew that there was something missing. Joey Hill captures that missing element with well written and synchronized characters. And I very profoundly exclaimed, "Now that's what I'm talkin" about"!!!! But I feel that I must warn any reader not familiar with Joey Hill's works. These are not tales for the person with a weak constitution. They are gritty and graphic as she pushes the envelope with sex scenes that can be out right raw in their intensity, as she takes the reader into the very souls of her characters. She challenges her readers to look beyond preconceive ideals of right and wrong and good and evil. Not just in dealing with sexual prefaces but in all things human and beyond. She approaches topics with a vigor and passion that I applauded in her wiliness to take on this taboo subject and bring it to life. She has taken erotica from a reputation of smutty porn to a new level of intensity and approaches situations with an openness that is sure to make some squirm. Combining the world of paranormal with erotica is nothing new but the way Joey Hill captures this combination is accelerating. I certainly do not want discourage anyone thinking about picking up one of Joey Hill's story for the first time. Actually quite the opposite, in fact I wholly encourage those of you who have not yet taken the plunge. Unless of course you are simply looking for a bit of slap and tickle because folks Miss Hill doesn't do anything simple.

So you ask what exactly Vampire Mistress is about. The story revolves around Gideon Green, a vampire hunter, that hungers for a solace he found only once in the arms of a women. Not just any women but a queen among her race, vampires. And after 10 years of violence and being soley devoted to the demise of the vampire race he no longer has the same compulsion to continue down that avenue. The craving he is searching to satisfy now is what will bring him to the door step of another woman, a wholly seductive woman, Anwyn the owner of the exclusive BDSM club Atlantis. However before Gideon can totally come to terms with what he is feeling for Anwyn he finds out about Daegan Rei, Anwyn's silent partner and her vampire lover. Events soon unfold that will entwine the three of them in a way that Gideon could have never foreseen. The first event is when Anwyn is brutally attacked by a rogue vampire and Daegan and Gideon will have to work together to get her through the rough transition that lies ahead for her. The other is when Gideon realizes that if he wishes to pursue any kind of relationship with Anwyn that relationship will have to include Daegan. As the three of them become more intertwined Gideon will rapidly be questioning how much he is willing to endure to help the women he is slowing becoming addicted to. An intriguing tale indeed don't you think?

Vampire Mistress takes us on the first part of this turbulent journey as Gideon tries to make sense of the new series of events that has brought him thus far to this place. However before we can find out how that liaison is to entirely unfold between the three of them, we will have to wait for the next episode to this vampire series in VAMPIRE TRINITY, which will take us further into the lives of these charismatic characters and the challenges they are soon going to face,which will be out in September of this year.

Joey Hill is a cruel Mistress for making her loyal readers wait for the rest of this fiery and multifaceted story. But isn't that the lesson so often the hardest to learn, that in denying instant gratification the intensity of finally getting what you want will be all the more rewarding in the end?

Well done Miss Hill!

--------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 4 Hearts from TRS!, July 12, 2010
By 
Vampire Mistress is very dark and disturbing while also showing the ultimate love and commitment one can make to another. I was confused during the first part of the book but the plot was so complex that I couldn't put it down. Anwyn is a strong and confident dominant who rarely takes a personal interest in her clients anymore but she is drawn to Gideon because of her innate belief that she is what he needs. Their relationship is very powerful, disturbing, and erotic. Anwyn and Daegan have been lovers for five years but have never verbally expressed how they felt about each other. Both are very dominant people and Daegan's vampire personality wants Anwyn to submit to him. I can't say how the book ended but questions were raised in my mind at all the variables and loose ends that were left. This is definitely not a lighthearted vampire book. It's enthralling, dark, and the contents will stay in your mind for a long while after reading it.

The compelling characters drive the story forward and leave you with a sense that their intense love towards each other might ultimately be their downfall. The author has the ability to craft a tight plot with unforgettable characters that defies description. - Lisa Freeman
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When can I buy her next book?, November 21, 2010
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This was the first book of the series I had read. You might think since it was book 5 out of 7(so far) that you might get lost when reading it but it explained well enough as it went on that it could easily stand alone. The characters where intriguing although there was defiantly a side of the story that I as glad to find out might be explained in the next book(which I have yet to read). I guess you might say it leaves the reader wanting more. Most of the story was about the main female character's transition so if the author made it to similar to previous character's transition you might be bored but I doubt that.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great read once again..Vampire Mistress, September 10, 2010
By 
Jeanette Blose "Jeanette Blose" (TIMBERVILLE, VA United States) - See all my reviews
Joey has once again given us a sexy and well developed series of books. This is my favorite (I say that every time)
It is full of love,understanding of a submissive partner and full off steamy scenes.
I love her men in this book. One a alpha sub and the other a alpha master and her a combo of both. True brilliance for readers.
I follow her books with great anticipation for each new one.
Well done Joey !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.