Customer Reviews


19 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lovely Book and Great Story, December 25, 2012
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
Just finished reading this- for the first time, anyway. The book itself is lovely, nice and big and sturdy (sewn binding!) with a full-color cover and dust jacket, plus ribbon bookmark. The book comes with the usual goodies at the end- sketches and layouts and scripts, complete with artist commentary. As an artist myself, I love having these extras. Though I'm usually very impatient with the media I consume, it's definitely been rewarding to read Buffy 8 via these lovely library editions. Can't wait for Volume 4 in a couple months!

Now, the story- wow, is it really picking up! It's the same writers who did the show (including, of course, Joss) and it really shows. Andrew is put to great use here, and the stand-alone stories are good too- love Faith and Giles in Germany. There's some good follow-through and further development with Buffy and Willow re: the Fray arc in the last book. And we get to see Oz again! He is very well written and drawn in this arc- every panel with him in it exudes that Seth Green coolness, from his spectacular reintroduction to the conclusion of the book- which leaves off on something of a cliff-hanger, by the way! I'm sorely tempted to go out and get the last quarter of Season 8 in whatever format it's already out in, but it was worth waiting for this gorgeous book, and it'll be worth waiting for the next one, I'm sure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars More of a great thing, December 18, 2012
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
I haven't read this yet. This volume collects issues #21 - #30. This is more of a great thing, excellently bound and big and beautiful. This volume is bound with a blue coloring on the spine whereas volume 1 is in an orange reddish hue and volume 2 is in a fuchsia. I like that these all go together but are different. The presentation of the eighth season of Buffy is immaculate. I can't wait to read this. I apologize for my review as it is not very in depth and superficial, but I am a big Buffy fan and just very excited to read this. I will update when I finish this volume. If you got the first two volumes or are a Buffy fan, you need to get this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Love the Library Edition!, August 8, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
Just in case you're not familiar, this is a comic book continuation of the The Buffy the Vampire television series following the series finale of Season 7. These are overseen and even partially written by Joss Whedon, the creator of Buffy and Angel. You can also buy these as individual volumes, but these library editions contain two volumes each. Not only are these double volumes much more economical than buying each volume separately, they're way more attractive and fun to read, and have a ton of extra content. This is a review of the Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3, which actually covers Volumes 5 and 6. Here's what I loved:

1) The hardcover is gorgeous, I actually removed the slip cover because underneath are these awesome blown up portraits of the main characters. This one has a big comic style picture of Xander's face on it, and the likeness is spot-on. The previous one had Willow, and it was very obviously Alyson Hannigan's adorable mug.

2) There's a little reading ribbon for saving your place, which is great and useful.

3) Extra content! There are sketches, scripts and notes from the artists and writers for each volume and this one is no different.

4) The size! The books are huge, so the pages are also huge. You're able to see much more detail than the regular volumes.

5) The story. It's certainly a lot crazier than the TV show because of the lack of limitations of a low-budget syndicated TV show. Doesn't necessarily mean it's better, but it has that Buffy feel, the characters are all written true to their TV counterparts. This volume has an epic battle, and the return of the character Oz. If you're a fan of Oz (played by Seth Green in the TV series) and want to know what became of him, this is a must read.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Addition to a Great Verse!, April 15, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
I am an avid fan of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. I was ecstatic to find out that the story was continuing in comic book format. After an intense run, season 8 came to an intense close worthy of Buffy. These hardcover library editions are beautiful. They have a ribbon to keep your place, all the covers, and bonus art. I replaced my issues with these books and I am not disappointed! I hope that season 9 comes out in this format too!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful Art & Great Shape!, April 24, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
I wasn't expecting the library editions to be so big. I love how big the pages are. It makes reading easier and it makes it so much more fun to read. I really love them!! They are in great brand new condition for being used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Heavy! Hurts when it hits you in the face ..., August 27, 2014
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
Heavy! Hurts when it hits you in the face. Don't sneak up on your significant other when they're reading these...they take inspiration from Ms. Summers and beat your face in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing!, January 3, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
OK, so either you're a Buffy fan or you are not. This continues the show and takes it places that would have been too difficult, controversial or too costly to do on television.

The quality on these books for the price is amazing. I purchased the first one at full cover and thought I got a amazing deal. I purchased the next two on amazon for over 30% off and I could not be happier!

I wish every comic and graphic novel was published with this kind of quality. Hardcover, thick glossy, full color pages and a fabric bookmark. Amazing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars the story just goes bananas (just sang the gwen Stefani song as spell check) this season so its incredibly fun to be surprised a, July 16, 2014
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
This applies to all the volumes from season 8

You are probably here for a reason. If ever I had a guilty pleasure Buffy would be atop that list of candidates. These stories do a nearly impeccable job of translating from screen to page the idiosyncrasies that defined some beloved characters. Plus, the story just goes bananas (just sang the gwen Stefani song as spell check) this season so its incredibly fun to be surprised and watch the story unfold in a very global and cosmic way. So cool.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars High Quality, Large Format, Great Collection, Great Price, Same Great Spirit., January 18, 2015
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
If you still miss the show and the characters; Joss continued it in comic form. It is a bit more fanciful than the TV show but the spirit is there. The Library Editions are high quality large format collections of the individual comic runs. The Library Editions have been released a year or two after the initial comic release. They are perfect for new or old fans to catch up or compliment the collector. As of this review 1/2015 they just released the Library Edition Season 9 volume 1.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Arrived Mint. Pick up this Series. Biggest Bang for your Buck!, April 25, 2013
Verified Purchase(What's this?)
This review is from: Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 (Hardcover)
Stoked to have found this huge hardcover edition of volume 3, for such a low price! I'm a huge BTVS fan, and love to collect what I can afford, and this luckily, this made the list! The library edition books, look great in my shelf, and I'd recommend the series to any geek out there. Might I add this book arrived sealed, and brand-spanking new? I love it when the hardcover books arrive with flawless jackets!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

Details

Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3
Buffy the Vampire Slayer Season 8 Library Edition Volume 3 by Joss Whedon (Hardcover - December 11, 2012)
$29.99 $25.26
In Stock
Add to cart Add to wishlist
Search these reviews only
Send us feedback How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you? Let us know here.