Robin non-member

Buy New

or
Sign in to turn on 1-Click ordering.
Buy Used
Used - Good See details
$6.98 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details

or
 
   
More Buying Choices
newzone8 Add to Cart
$10.99  & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
Have one to sell? Sell yours here
Van Lear Rose
 
See larger image and other views
 

Van Lear Rose

Loretta LynnAudio CD
4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (262 customer reviews)

Price: $10.99 & FREE Shipping on orders over $35. Details
o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o o
Only 10 left in stock (more on the way).
Ships from and sold by Amazon.com. Gift-wrap available.
Want it tomorrow, July 29? Choose One-Day Shipping at checkout. Details

Formats

Amazon Price New from Used from
Audio CD, 2004 $10.99  
Vinyl, 2011 $18.98  

Amazon's Loretta Lynn Store

Music

Image of album by Loretta Lynn

Photos

Image of Loretta Lynn
Visit Amazon's Loretta Lynn Store
for 107 albums, 5 photos, discussions, and more.

Frequently Bought Together

Van Lear Rose + Definitive Collection + Definitive Collection
Price for all three: $32.17

Buy the selected items together



Product Details

  • Audio CD (April 27, 2004)
  • Number of Discs: 1
  • Label: Interscope Records
  • ASIN: B0001XASDA
  • Average Customer Review: 4.7 out of 5 stars  See all reviews (262 customer reviews)
  • Amazon Best Sellers Rank: #6,567 in Music (See Top 100 in Music)

1. VAN LEAR ROSE
2. PORTLAND OREGON (DUET WITH JACK WHITE)
3. TROUBLE ON THE LINE
4. FAMILY TREE
5. HAVE MERCY
6. HIGH ON A MOUNTAIN TOP
7. LITTLE RED SHOES
8. GOD MAKES NO MISTAKES
9. WOMEN'S PRISON
10. THIS OLD HOUSE
11. MRS. LEROY BROWN
12. MISS BEING MRS.
13. STORY OF MY LIFE

Editorial Reviews

Amazon.com

Garage-rock hero Jack White producing honky-tonk legend Loretta Lynn? And Lynn comparing him to renowned Nashville producer Owen Bradley? Yes, we all know the world is rapidly shrinking, but now we've seen everything. Most stunning of all--they nailed it. For the first time, Lynn has written all of an album's songs, and her lyrics are as cutting and incisive as ever. On the powerful, biting "Family Tree," she brings her babies to the home of her husband's mistress so that they can see the "woman that's burning down our family tree." Throughout she cunningly tackles tried-and-true honky-tonk themes of love gone bad, drinkin', cheatin', and murder. Lynn even offers a compelling slice of theological fatalism ("God Makes No Mistakes"). White's production--mostly stark and atmospheric--ranges from more-traditional country to straight-up White Stripes, with most tracks falling somewhere in between. White duets with Lynn on the rousing one-night-stand story "Portland, Oregon," but he does not need to sing to leave his personal stamp. At 70, Lynn seems thoroughly engaged and delighted; at times she delivers some of the most emotionally potent singing of her career. A decade earlier, Johnny Cash turned to rock and rap producer Rick Rubin, and the move resuscitated Cash's career. Now, Jack White has done the same for Loretta Lynn, another country legend whose music is simply too raw and honest for the contemporary country crowd. Van Lear Rose exceeds all expectations--a bold collaboration in which artists from two different musical universes forge a memorable work that neither could have created alone. --Marc Greilsamer

Product Description


Customer Reviews

Most Helpful Customer Reviews
81 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WHAT HAPPENED TO ALL THE REVIEWS??????? August 2, 2004
Format:Audio CD
There were hundreds of reviews for this CD but they have disappeared. Anyhow, I would like to reiterate that Loretta Lynn has released one of the most interesting and innovative country music collections in the history of country music. Admittedly, White Stripes is an acquired taste but the production is stellar, yet simple and heartwarming. Loretta sounds great and the CD cover is vintage Loretta. The songs are fantastic and class A material because Loretta wrote them all!! She is second to none as a songwriter. One only needs to hear the title track or "Miss being Mrs. Tonight" to understand this. Forget about country 'pretenders' like "Shania", "Faith", "Reba", "Martina"....Loretta is the real thing. She always has been. She always will be. She has never compromised just to "do what sells". This CD proves that point and I wouldn't be surprised if we see her at the CMAs this fall collecting a few awards for this project!! It is outstanding!!!!
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
34 of 36 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I wish I could give this CD more than five stars! August 7, 2004
Format:Audio CD
Too be honest- I have been in love with Mrs. Loretta Lynn since I was five and saw her on Hee-Haw. But at 39 her voice and lyrics have blown me away in manner that i was unprepared for in this life. I could fill this review with a great lines about how good the CD is. But I ask you to just listen and you will hear great music, great music- that has no bounds and yet is so country that you will wonder what CMT, GAC and the other nashville idiots who give us Toby, and Kenny, and Jimmy Buffet for God's sake are thinking. People if you really love country and not just the cute butt of Tim or Shania than this what it all about. Take from a man who found what was missing all along with this sweet. sweet woman!
Was this review helpful to you?
19 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Country Music Goddess January 25, 2005
Format:Audio CD
AMAZING- the only word to describe this CD and that doesn't even do it justice. A refreshing and inspiring CD released at a time when country music is just about as commerical as you can get. Loretta Lynn & Jack White stay true to country music while adding a modern element without making it cheesy or pop sounding. Easily one of the best CD's of all time from a true American Icon.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
Format:Audio CD
Who would have ever thought that Loretta Lynn would even know who Jack White is...never mind collaborate with him on this masterpiece? Lynn is 70 years old and at times she sounds like a cross between Janis Joplin and Bonnie Raitt. In addition, she wrote every song on this CD while White nicely produced and played various instruments throughout.

The best track here is "Portland, Oregon" which is possibly my favorite song of 2004 by anybody. Great arrangement and tasty slide guitar highlight this duet with White about a one-night-stand. Other faves are the spoken word "Little Red Shoes", the autobiographical "Story of my Life", the powerful lyrics of "God Makes No Mistakes", "Mrs. Leroy Brown" which causes me to wonder again how it's possible that this women is 70, and "Women's Prison" which is about a woman on death row for murdering her cheating husband (is there any other kind?). White plays some nasty guitar that's a representation of the woman's execution at the end of this song.

Sadly, something is seriously wrong with the music industry when the latest Shania Twain release is going to outsell Van Lear Rose by 20 to 1. Thank you Jack White for inspiring me to purchase my first Loretta Lynn album. Now I need to check out some of her catalog and see what I've been missing all these years.
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shakin' Up Music City April 29, 2004
Format:Audio CD
For a couple of decades the world of commercial
country music has needed some shaking up. While there
have been occasional tremors, it's only fitting that
the artist most likely to turn Nashville on its top is
the same one that jolted it awake 30 years ago.
Loretta Lynn has just released one of the best records
in modern Country Music.
"You've got to have an open mind," Loretta writes in a
letter on her web site, "Van Lear Rose sounds a little
different from my other ones."
A little different indeed! But that's only if you're
not used to country laced with loud grunge guitars,
eerie cross-tuned fiddles, and dark moody lyrics:
"I'm sittin' here on death row / And Lord I've lost my
mind / For love I've killed my darlin' / And for love
I'll lose my life"
Listeners who've followed the progressive music scene
in the last few years have taken note of the
admiration Van Lear Rose's producer Jack White has
shown for Loretta Lynn. In 2001 he dedicated the
White Stripes' breakthrough disc "White Blood Cells,"
to her. Traditional music fans have also noted
White's forays into the roots of rural music with his
participation in the movie and soundtrack to "Cold
Mountain."

"He's got a lot of energy," Lynn says. "He's still a
kid, you know, so he feels like he can jump the river
and turn around and jump back over. He don't think
that nobody's any older than him."
No matter what his age, White has shaken open the
well-springs of country music with his production of
Van Lear Rose. There's a fresh, almost urban taste to
the original blue Kentucky girl's hillbilly twang.
Read more ›
Comment | 
Was this review helpful to you?
Most Recent Customer Reviews
5.0 out of 5 stars Loretta does a great job with any song she sings
some of these I have heard of before,Loretta does a great job with any song she sings.
Published 2 days ago by ella rademacher
5.0 out of 5 stars The Latest from The best
This album was done when she was in her seventies and she still has one of the sweetest female voices I know. Her music is real and it comes from the heart!
Published 3 months ago by Michael Walker
5.0 out of 5 stars something new, something old.
Creativity at its best. Two different perspectives coming together to make something fresh.Mr Blacks influence and arrangements help me to hear the songs anew, and Lorreta' songs... Read more
Published 3 months ago by kim
5.0 out of 5 stars May not please longtime fans, but this sizzles!
Well, this is not the Loretta Lynn I remember from the 1970s, but then again my sole exposure to her music back then was hearing the "hits" on the radio. Read more
Published 12 months ago by Donald E. Gilliland
5.0 out of 5 stars great
love loretta lynn, love this album. enjoyed and still enjoying it. happy with purchase but wish there was a lower word limit for reviews!
Published 16 months ago by Sinead Curran
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful comeback
After a career like Loretta Lynn's, with 2 greatest hits sets and unforgettable country& western songs, this set, arranged by Jack White of the White Stripes, seems like a miracle. Read more
Published 18 months ago by Joe Kuether
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Music, Real Singer
Loretta has had better single songs but for a whole complete album this is as good as anything she has ever released. Read more
Published 21 months ago by Tom
5.0 out of 5 stars Bend an elbow and enjoy!
This album is hotter than a tick on a Mississippi BloodHound! Loretta Lynn at her finest! The producer(Jack White) did a swell job himself. Read more
Published on December 6, 2011 by Brad Dean
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Album
I have a few of Loretta Lynn's old songs via a compilation album I purchased and really like her voice and songs. Read more
Published on June 15, 2011 by Kristine
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the greatest country albums ever made
I own a few country albums and this is one of them. I love this album. Great country music....real country, not pop-country......with the Led Zeppelin 3 album as a clear influence.
Published on May 12, 2011 by I LOVE MUSIC
Search Customer Reviews
Search these reviews only

Forums

There are no discussions about this product yet.
Be the first to discuss this product with the community.
Start a new discussion
Topic:
First post:
Prompts for sign-in
 


What Other Items Do Customers Buy After Viewing This Item?



Look for Similar Items by Category