Amazon.com: Customer Reviews: Vanguard PRO Bag 80 for Tripods with Folded Length less than 30 1/8 Inches
Your Garage Best Books of the Month Amazon Fashion Learn more nav_sap_plcc_ascpsc $5 Albums Fire TV Stick Sun Care Patriotic Picks Shop-by-Room Amazon Cash Back Offer AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3 AnnedroidsS3  Amazon Echo  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Echo Dot  Amazon Tap  Amazon Echo Introducing new colors All-New Kindle Oasis Segway miniPro

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars24
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on September 13, 2010
I wanted a padded bag I could use to carry my tripod around in (with ball head attached) for local photography trips. This one has held up great. Here are my thoughts:

Pros:
-Price
-Great padding, but not too heavy / bulky (although it is a bit wide / spacious for my tripod)
-Sturdy construction
-Relatively comfortable to carry

Cons:
-Carrying strap could be a bit nicer (e.g. could use a pad)
-Bag is a bit wider than I need

I would recommend this bag to anyone with my tripod who is looking for something to carry / protect it. I can't imagine spending 2-4x this amount for a Manfrotto brand bag would get you anything better.
0Comment|12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 27, 2014
Long ago, I looked for very long and finally found this and decided to take the chance. Hooray; it fits perfectly a Manfrotto 055XPROB tripod plus the always mounted Markins ball head. Well padded and enough space for additional padding around the ball head. Closing system on top is very secure with two long drawstrings and conveniently quick to use. However, still be careful with your delicate tripod. It is good voor casual carrying or transport in a car, but I would not use it for air transport, as the padding may just be to minimal for that heavy bumping and throwing around. But if you would need to use it for that occasionally, you may consider adding a few layers of bubble warp as there is still sufficient space for such extra padding, without it feeling being "too wide bagged". The price is also very good compared to its high quality. Have this bag now for years and still holds up very well. I would never go with a Manfrotto bag or other even more pricey brand name in it for fear of theft, similar reasoning to replacing your camera strap with a non-descript version.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on May 3, 2011
I wish the top and bottom were padded better and it had a zipper down the side vs. a pull string on the top. It would have been nice if the strap was padded and removable. However, it adjusts to my need and I had a pad from another shoulder strap that fixed that small issue. For the price this is a good case, well made and protects the tripod while in the overhead of a plane.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on April 12, 2014
I knew from other reviews that it was a drawstring-type opening at the top rather than a body zipper, but I don't mind that. It fits my tripod nicely (even with a video head attached), and it looks professional. Nicely padded. Not insanely padded, but will certainly keep it safe from light harm.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on August 15, 2011
Well constructed and easy to carry. My Manfrotto 190cxpro3 tripod with a Giotto MH 1300 head on fits easily into the bag. Glad I bought the bag.
0Comment|6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 25, 2012
Got this recently: I was surprised at the initial quality. Padding is enough to help your back without been overly protective like a lot of photo stuff. I could probably do without the orange racing stripe & bottom but it is what it is :-) Strap is reasonably comfortable. Certainly better value then most other options.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on September 4, 2013
Fits a Manfrotto 055XPROB, on top is a Manfrotto 054 ballhead with a Q5 plate, with maybe, 2 inches to spare. The bag is a surprise. Better made than anticipated. It's a little big around but it's well padded and for the price, zero complaints.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
இ Fuzzy Wuzzy's Summary:
ѾѾѾѾѾ Highly recommended with warm fuzzies!

Packaging, Style & Appearance: ѾѾѾѾѾ Excellent 5-fuzzies rating
Construction & Build Quality: ѾѾѾѾѾ Excellent 5-fuzzies rating
Competitive Pricing & Value: ѾѾѾѾѾ Excellent 5-fuzzies rating

փ Positives:

փ Great build quality, with strong stitching and seams.
փ Slim tube shape and not expensive.

ჯ Negatives:

ჯ Only the bottom is padded; the length of the tube is not padded.

This Vanguard Pro 80 tripod bag is 31 1/2 inches long and 6 inches in diameter. Although Vanguard designed this bag for their Tracker tripods (model S, 1, 2, B-100, B-200), Elite tripods (model 1, L-28), VT-550, 560, MG-8, and MG-8 OS tripods, this bag will also fit other tripods as long as the total folded length does not exceed 30 1/8 inches. If you are purchasing a Vanguard tripod, be aware that Vanguard often includes a matching tripod bag with their tripods, so you may not need to separately purchase this tripod bag; check the details of the tripod package to see if a bag is included with the tripod.

If this tripod bag is a bit on the large side for your needs, Vanguard's next smaller bag is the Vanguard Alta+ Bag 70 Custom Bag for Alta+ Series Tripods with Folded Heights Less Than 25 1/2 Inches, which is 27 1/2 inches long and 4 3/4 inches in diameter, and will fit a tripod with a total folded length not exceeding 25 1/2 inches. And if you need a larger bag, Vanguard's next larger bag is the Vanguard PRO Bag 85 for Tripods with Folded Length less than 33 1/2 Inches, which is 2 inches longer at 33 1/2 inches long and 6 inches in diameter, and will fit a tripod up to 32 inches long.

This tripod bag, made of thick durable 420D polyester/nylon, is sturdily made, with one orange-colored rib seam running along its length and an orange-colored circular bottom. The Vanguard name and logo, along with the words "Since 1986", are printed on the bag. The bag has an adjustable shoulder strap and a drawstring closure. At the time of this review's writing, the Amazon product description mentions "Zipper closure on end", but unless Vanguard intends to eventually change their design, my bag does not have a zipper closure; the single opening at one end uses a drawstring closure. Only the circular bottom is padded while the rest of the tube has no padding. But the unpadded tubular fabric is as thick as a strong duffel bag or backpack and it will protect your tripod from scratches. If you really require complete padding and protection for your tripod, there are other bulkier and pricier fully-padded tripod bags. But I like the slim profile of this tripod bag and its economical pricing, the fact that it is not big, bulky, expensive, and this bag easily fits into the overhead compartment on a plane.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on July 28, 2012
Received the Vanguard PRO Bag 80 tripod bag for use with my Celestron CE4 telescope's 27" long tripod (folded length). I couldn't judge the maximum diameter of the bag from the description; I needed 8" diameter and 27" long. Will return & find another padded tripod case with better description. Otherwise, the tripod bag looked like it was an adequate padded bag for the price.
0Comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on October 3, 2013
Bought this to go with my manfrotto tripod stand... perfect fit, very good and durable quality bag with secured and well padded inside. I will be ordering another one real soon to take place of another tripod bag... Highly recommend.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions


Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.